Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Donte Jackson Named to Thorpe Watch List

6 years 11 months 4 days ago Friday, July 14 2017 Jul 14, 2017 July 14, 2017 5:21 PM July 14, 2017 in LSU Sports
Source: LSU Sports
By: LSU Sports Information Department

LSU junior defensive back Donte Jackson has been named to the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, which honors 45 of the nation’s best defensive backs.

The Jim Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete. Thorpe was a running back, passer, kicker, and defensive back. He also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

Jackson played in all 12 games and started in 11 of those at cornerback. Arguably the fastest player in all of college football, Jackson totaled 39 tackles for the Tigers, including a career-high seven against Alabama.

Patrick Peterson and Tyrann Mathieu won the Jim Thorpe Award in 2010 and 2011. The duo made LSU one of two schools in the history of the award to win in consecutive seasons.

The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 7, 2017, on ESPN.

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 6, 2018, in Oklahoma.

2017 NCFAA Awards Preseason Watch List Calendar
Monday, July 10: Bednarik Award – Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II / Maxwell Award – Arden Key and Derrius Guice
Tuesday, July 11: Rimington Trophy – Will Clapp 
Thursday, July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy – Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II / Outland Trophy – Will Clapp 
Friday, July 14: Jim Thorpe Award – Donte Jackson 
Monday, July 17: Butkus Award / Paul Hornung Award
Tuesday, July 18: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy
Wednesday, July 19: Davey O’Brien Award
Thursday, July 20: Doak Walker Award
Friday, July 21: Walter Camp Award

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days