Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Louisiana parishes designated disaster areas after Harvey

4 years 8 months 4 weeks ago Tuesday, November 14 2017 Nov 14, 2017 November 14, 2017 2:55 PM November 14, 2017 in News
Source: Associated Press
By: Associated Press
Photo: Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office (Taken Sept. 1, 2017)

BATON ROUGE - The federal government has designated several Louisiana parishes disaster areas due to damages caused by flooding from Hurricane Harvey.

Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain says the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Farm Service Agency recently gave Cameron, Grant, Natchitoches and Rapides parishes that designation. On Tuesday, Strain said additional areas were named as contiguous disaster areas. They are Allen, Avoyelles, Bienville, Calcasieu, DeSoto, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, LaSalle, Red River, Sabine, Vermilion, Vernon and Winn.

Strain says the designation makes farmers and ranchers eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the FSA.

Harvey and its flooding swamped parts of the state from Aug. 26 through Oct. 10.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days