60°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Tenants upset over lack of apartment maintenance in Tigerland

BATON ROUGE - Some residents in Tigerland say they're tired of living in filth. They called 2 On Your Side Thursday morning for help.

Ian Hoffman lives with his girlfriend at Tiger Park Apartments on Jim Taylor Drive. The couple has been there for a few months and says they've had issues with the condition of the unit since they moved in.

"The wood has to be replaced my entire wall has to be replaced, my entire ceiling has to be replaced his entire ceiling has to be replaced the floor has to be replaced," he said.

Hoffman also addressed the unit next door to his, where the ceiling is buckling and a door won't close because it appears to have been chewed by a dog.

"You can see where the ceiling is about to cave in from the water leaking," William Bell said.

Hoffman's unit has issues with water leaking down the walls and what appears to be mold growing on the ceiling and on the walls.

The tenants are upset because they say their landlord isn't doing enough to address their living conditions.

"He's been aware, he's been aware of all these problems," Hoffman said.

Tiger Park is made up of about 110 units in the Tigerland area. The units are owned by Dr. Barry Wang, who met 2 On Your Side at Hoffman and Bell's units Thursday. WBRZ asked him if he would live in one of their units. The question wasn't exactly answered.

Wang admitted to WBRZ and the tenants that repairs are needed and apologized for the condition of the units. Wang also says Tiger Park is trying to address all the issues.

Soon after, while 2 On Your Side was speaking with Hoffman, Wang returned seemingly angry and told reporter Brittany Weiss and a WBRZ photographer they needed to leave the property. Not long after that, three Baton Rouge Police officers arrived on the scene to diffuse the situation.

Wang and the Tiger Park manager say they didn't find out about Hoffman's apartment issues until Wednesday. Both Wang and the apartment manager say they're not sure if there is mold growing in Hoffman's apartment, but they have purchased mold kits to test what they've found.

The apartment manager says in Bell's unit, the door that appears to have been chewed by a dog was in fact chewed by a dog. Bell says he doesn't have a dog, management says otherwise.

Hoffman says the apartment management has known about the issues, but he's forced to live there because the rent is affordable. He also fears if he withholds rent he'll be evicted.

"To move would cost more money than I could have any time soon," he said.

Wang told 2 On Your Side that he relies on his apartment manager to inform him of issues in the apartments. In this case, renters called 2 On Your Side saying their problems are not being addressed.

Late Thursday, Wang's attorney said this is the first time there have been any allegations of problems at Tiger Park Apartments.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - Some residents in Tigerland say they're tired of living in filth. They called 2 On Your Side... More >>
1 day ago Thursday, December 05 2019 Dec 5, 2019 Thursday, December 05, 2019 5:59:00 PM CST December 05, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The most expensive drug in the world could be a possible cure for a 16-month-old boy. ... More >>
4 days ago Monday, December 02 2019 Dec 2, 2019 Monday, December 02, 2019 7:18:00 PM CST December 02, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A financing program has been created to attract supermarkets, grocery stores, or food delivery services to food... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, November 19 2019 Nov 19, 2019 Tuesday, November 19, 2019 6:13:00 PM CST November 19, 2019 in News
GONZALES - Some residents living in Bayou Grand South came home in July to find their driveways ripped up and... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, November 18 2019 Nov 18, 2019 Monday, November 18, 2019 6:09:00 PM CST November 18, 2019 in News
GONZALES - A 3-D imaging center that popped up in Ascension Parish this summer is closed. People tell 2 On... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, November 13 2019 Nov 13, 2019 Wednesday, November 13, 2019 6:35:00 PM CST November 13, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Planning and Zoning meeting stands between a neighborhood's concerns and proposed residential development. There are... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, November 12 2019 Nov 12, 2019 Tuesday, November 12, 2019 6:54:00 PM CST November 12, 2019 in News
GONZALES - An intersection in Ascension Parish continues to create issues and worry for drivers. Last year, 2 On Your... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, November 08 2019 Nov 8, 2019 Friday, November 08, 2019 6:00:00 PM CST November 08, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A skate park in Ascension Parish has officially been moved. Crews are now working to put the pieces... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, November 07 2019 Nov 7, 2019 Thursday, November 07, 2019 6:06:00 PM CST November 07, 2019 in News
GONZALES - A woman attending a sporting event at Lamar Dixon hit a pothole in the center's public parking lot.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, November 01 2019 Nov 1, 2019 Friday, November 01, 2019 5:38:00 PM CDT November 01, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman living next to a post office says there's sand leaking through the fence. Gloria... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, October 30 2019 Oct 30, 2019 Wednesday, October 30, 2019 7:03:00 PM CDT October 30, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A tree that has caused two years of worry for a homeowner was removed Tuesday afternoon. ... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 29 2019 Oct 29, 2019 Tuesday, October 29, 2019 6:19:00 PM CDT October 29, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A dead tree is threatening to fall, and the property owner closest to the tree in question... More >>
1 month ago Monday, October 21 2019 Oct 21, 2019 Monday, October 21, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT October 21, 2019 in News
BAKER - There's a feud between neighbors brewing. Residents want a fence built for student safety but the school abutting... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 18 2019 Oct 18, 2019 Friday, October 18, 2019 6:26:00 PM CDT October 18, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A letter will soon be coming in the mail, and it might mean that some residents will... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 17 2019 Oct 17, 2019 Thursday, October 17, 2019 6:29:00 PM CDT October 17, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Residents in one neighborhood are frustrated to find out that their property lines are not where they... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 11 2019 Oct 11, 2019 Friday, October 11, 2019 6:28:00 PM CDT October 11, 2019 in News
WASHINGTON, D.C. - HUD has approved Louisiana to begin issuing funds to the Small Business Administration, which will in turn... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 11 2019 Oct 11, 2019 Friday, October 11, 2019 3:39:00 PM CDT October 11, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Rebuilding from the 2016 flood was complete for one Livingston Parish homeowner, but then a new nightmare... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 10 2019 Oct 10, 2019 Thursday, October 10, 2019 6:32:00 PM CDT October 10, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development awarded $42.8 million in housing counseling grants to help... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, October 03 2019 Oct 3, 2019 Thursday, October 03, 2019 6:39:00 PM CDT October 03, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish will soon start taking pictures of illegal dumpers in the act. The 16 cameras... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, October 02 2019 Oct 2, 2019 Wednesday, October 02, 2019 5:32:00 PM CDT October 02, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The YMCA says money is getting tighter. Out of nine branches in the capital region, two are... More >>
2 months ago Monday, September 30 2019 Sep 30, 2019 Monday, September 30, 2019 6:47:00 PM CDT September 30, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A pole laying across the sidewalk had been frustrating residents for far too long. Two pieces of... More >>
2 months ago Friday, September 27 2019 Sep 27, 2019 Friday, September 27, 2019 5:06:00 PM CDT September 27, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana's seafood identification law requiring restaurants to label seafood has been in effect for a few weeks.... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 26 2019 Sep 26, 2019 Thursday, September 26, 2019 6:42:00 PM CDT September 26, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Investigators say there's evidence that one or more used car dealers are abusing dealer plates. The plates... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, September 25 2019 Sep 25, 2019 Wednesday, September 25, 2019 6:50:00 PM CDT September 25, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish says it recently heard back from FEMA regarding a Hazard Mitigation Grant that would pay... More >>
2 months ago Friday, September 20 2019 Sep 20, 2019 Friday, September 20, 2019 5:22:00 PM CDT September 20, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - An area hit hard by a June rain event is learning about a possible source of the... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 19 2019 Sep 19, 2019 Thursday, September 19, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT September 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A group of people anxiously awaited the arrival of a Live Oak High School student at Rotolo's... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, September 18 2019 Sep 18, 2019 Wednesday, September 18, 2019 6:12:00 PM CDT September 18, 2019 in News
UPDATE: The Louisiana Department of Health said Monday it received the requested guidance from the Centers for Medicare and Medicare... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 12 2019 Sep 12, 2019 Thursday, September 12, 2019 6:26:00 PM CDT September 12, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a large sinkhole out front of a home off Old Hammond Highway, near O'Neal Lane. The... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, September 11 2019 Sep 11, 2019 Wednesday, September 11, 2019 6:20:00 PM CDT September 11, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A water meter that's been leaking for months is finally getting some attention after a call to... More >>
2 months ago Monday, September 09 2019 Sep 9, 2019 Monday, September 09, 2019 9:00:00 PM CDT September 09, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A dead tree is a topic of debate between the city-parish and a property owner for more... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, September 04 2019 Sep 4, 2019 Wednesday, September 04, 2019 6:29:00 PM CDT September 04, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The calls and complaints about missed trash collection continue to be made to 2 On Your Side.... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 30 2019 Aug 30, 2019 Friday, August 30, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT August 30, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Livingston Parish Public Schools says it has a massive problem: there aren't enough bus drivers. "It's... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, August 27 2019 Aug 27, 2019 Tuesday, August 27, 2019 6:44:00 PM CDT August 27, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Algae in University Lake is growing and getting worse. But a solution is in the works. BREC,... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 23 2019 Aug 23, 2019 Friday, August 23, 2019 5:23:00 PM CDT August 23, 2019 in News
BAKER - A woman who needed her car repaired took it to a person who never did the work. Joyce... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, August 22 2019 Aug 22, 2019 Thursday, August 22, 2019 9:48:00 PM CDT August 22, 2019 in News
BAKER - After learning there is an issue with her car, Joyce Williams hired what she thought was a reliable... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, August 20 2019 Aug 20, 2019 Tuesday, August 20, 2019 6:40:00 PM CDT August 20, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Service employee has been indicted after she allegedly dumped mail she was supposed to... More >>
3 months ago Monday, August 19 2019 Aug 19, 2019 Monday, August 19, 2019 9:57:00 AM CDT August 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Landlords and apartment building owners will now be responsible for the disposal of bulky items put at... More >>
3 months ago Saturday, August 17 2019 Aug 17, 2019 Saturday, August 17, 2019 9:06:00 AM CDT August 17, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A dumping site in Ascension Parish thought to have been cleaned up years ago is still contaminated. ... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, August 13 2019 Aug 13, 2019 Tuesday, August 13, 2019 6:43:00 PM CDT August 13, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman driving down the road had the scare of her life Wednesday when a light pole... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 09 2019 Aug 9, 2019 Friday, August 09, 2019 8:09:00 PM CDT August 09, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Monday morning East Baton Rouge Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome, Governor John Bel Edwards, and Congressman Garret Graves... More >>
4 months ago Monday, August 05 2019 Aug 5, 2019 Monday, August 05, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT August 05, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A years-long problem for one woman is getting a lot of buzz after a call to 2... More >>
4 months ago Saturday, August 03 2019 Aug 3, 2019 Saturday, August 03, 2019 10:33:00 PM CDT August 03, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Livingston Parish residents are concerned about drainage issues after Tuesday's rainstorm dumped a bunch of water on... More >>
4 months ago Wednesday, July 31 2019 Jul 31, 2019 Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:33:00 PM CDT July 31, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - One woman says she was on top of the world and the bottom in a matter of... More >>
4 months ago Monday, July 29 2019 Jul 29, 2019 Monday, July 29, 2019 5:49:00 PM CDT July 29, 2019 in News
GLYNN - A tenant says her landlord is threatening to kick her out for not paying rent, but she says... More >>
4 months ago Friday, July 26 2019 Jul 26, 2019 Friday, July 26, 2019 5:28:00 PM CDT July 26, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A land fight has been brewing for years and one property owner called 2 On Your Side... More >>
4 months ago Monday, July 22 2019 Jul 22, 2019 Monday, July 22, 2019 6:37:00 PM CDT July 22, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Tucked away near a dead-end street, is a mess left behind by a mystery crew more than... More >>
4 months ago Friday, July 19 2019 Jul 19, 2019 Friday, July 19, 2019 6:15:00 PM CDT July 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A business owner is out $7,000 after thieves lifted material meant to be used for construction. ... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, July 18 2019 Jul 18, 2019 Thursday, July 18, 2019 9:45:00 PM CDT July 18, 2019 in News
UPDATE: East Baton Rouge City-Parish tells 2 On Your Side the debris has been picked up as of 10 o'clock... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, July 11 2019 Jul 11, 2019 Thursday, July 11, 2019 5:21:00 PM CDT July 11, 2019 in News
LIVINGSTON - Many people in Livingston Parish are getting a jump-start on storm preparations ahead of this weekend's severe weather.... More >>
4 months ago Wednesday, July 10 2019 Jul 10, 2019 Wednesday, July 10, 2019 6:02:00 PM CDT July 10, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's been about three weeks since the City-Parish and Republic Services laid out a plan for improving... More >>
4 months ago Tuesday, July 09 2019 Jul 9, 2019 Tuesday, July 09, 2019 7:03:00 PM CDT July 09, 2019 in News

News tip form