Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Some Louisiana farmers eligible for disaster aid from Harvey

5 years 4 months 3 weeks ago Wednesday, January 03 2018 Jan 3, 2018 January 03, 2018 12:25 PM January 03, 2018 in News
Source: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

BATON ROUGE- Farmers in 11 Louisiana parishes could be eligible for federal disaster assistance because of damage from flooding and losses caused by Hurricane Harvey.

Louisiana Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain announced Wednesday that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated two parishes - Avoyelles and Catahoula parishes - as primary natural disaster areas.

Farmers in the parishes are eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the USDA's Farm Service Agency , if they meet eligibility requirements.

Nine other parishes, Strain's office says, are designated contiguous disaster areas. Farmers in Caldwell, Concordia, Evangeline, Franklin, LaSalle, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Landry and Tensas parishes could be available for other USDA disaster aid programs.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days