Senate backs 30-day car registration requirement for movers
BATON ROUGE - People moving to Louisiana would have 30 days to register their car in the state after getting a state driver's license, if the House agrees to a proposal backed by the Senate.
Sen. J.P. Morrell, a New Orleans Democrat, said he sponsored the bill to give law enforcement an easy benchmark to know when people should have cars registered in Louisiana.
Sen. Mike Walsworth, a West Monroe Republican, was one of two senators to oppose the bill. He said he worried the timeline could discourage some people from moving to Louisiana.
The proposal moved to the House with a 36-2 vote Wednesday from the Senate.
Desktop NewsClick to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
BRPD Chief Paul gets emotional at Metro Council meeting on BRAVE Cave...
As Tennessee officers face civil rights charges, famed attorney seeks similar action...
Attorney says Hammond Police Department violated state law by investigating officer-involved shooting...
One week after his son's arrest, high-ranking BRPD officer placed on leave...
LSU Linebacker Whit Weeks Learning Fast