55°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "No Rain Trees and Glacier Adependence."
Pat Shingleton: "Springs Ice..."
Geophysical Research Letters reported published that some trees aren’t dependent on rain for survival. Despite the lack of rainwater, scientists referenced a forest in the Dhofar Mountains of Oman that... More >>
20 hours ago Thursday, January 23 2020 Jan 23, 2020 Thursday, January 23, 2020 11:01:26 PM CST January 23, 2020 in Pat Shingleton Column
In 1678, the towns of Fieschertal and Fiesch, located in the Swiss Alps, were flooded because of the Aletsch glacier. The flooding empowered residents to take a formal vow, praying... More >>
1 day ago Wednesday, January 22 2020 Jan 22, 2020 Wednesday, January 22, 2020 10:32:02 PM CST January 22, 2020 in Pat Shingleton Column
In the 1880s, Dr. Charles Fleet invented Chapstick . The tubular ointment contains camphor, bees wax, menthol, petrolatum, phenol and aloe. Chapstick sales increase during the winter months. One ingredient... More >>
2 days ago Tuesday, January 21 2020 Jan 21, 2020 Tuesday, January 21, 2020 10:53:38 PM CST January 21, 2020 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Firewood sales may be on the increase for our remaining Winter months. On a reservation in South Dakota, Native Americans... More >>
2 weeks ago Saturday, January 04 2020 Jan 4, 2020 Saturday, January 04, 2020 9:00:00 AM CST January 04, 2020 in Pat Shingleton Column
On this date in 1907, The New York Times moved its offices to a building on a square that now... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, December 31 2019 Dec 31, 2019 Tuesday, December 31, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST December 31, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Chester Greenwood was cursed with ears that throbbed and ached anytime he was cold. His ears would change color when... More >>
3 weeks ago Saturday, December 28 2019 Dec 28, 2019 Saturday, December 28, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST December 28, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Acts of God, The Old Farmer’s Almanac compiled a list of events that were placed into The Blizzard Hall of... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, December 27 2019 Dec 27, 2019 Friday, December 27, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST December 27, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
It experiences six months of darkness and is the coldest, windiest and driest continent. Gravity accelerates the cold as dense... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, December 11 2019 Dec 11, 2019 Wednesday, December 11, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST December 11, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days