Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "The Famous Stick and Red Sky..."
When Frank Epperson was 11 years old he took a wooden stir stick and placed it in a fruit flavored soda pop outside on his porch one cold, wintry New... More >>
6 days ago Tuesday, July 09 2019 Jul 9, 2019 Tuesday, July 09, 2019 10:57:40 PM CDT July 09, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
In April, 1815, Mount Tambora, on the island of Sumbawa, erupted. Historians report that this incident was the most explosive eruption in 10,000 years. At the end of the volcano's... More >>
1 week ago Monday, July 08 2019 Jul 8, 2019 Monday, July 08, 2019 10:55:13 PM CDT July 08, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
John Adams believed that this day should be celebrated “by pomp and parade, with games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations from one end of this continent to the other..."... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, July 03 2019 Jul 3, 2019 Wednesday, July 03, 2019 10:31:28 PM CDT July 03, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
A species of monkey, discovered and identified eleven years ago resides in Northern Myanmar- formerly Burma. This particular species would... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, June 20 2019 Jun 20, 2019 Thursday, June 20, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 20, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Nature provided the black-tailed jackrabbit with a means of keeping cool. Easily identified by its oversize ears, these trademark appendages... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, June 19 2019 Jun 19, 2019 Wednesday, June 19, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 19, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
The Centre for Ecology and Hydroplogy in Wallingford, England noted years ago that aerosols that include air pollution may be... More >>
4 weeks ago Tuesday, June 18 2019 Jun 18, 2019 Tuesday, June 18, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 18, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Even with advancements in models researchers continue to analyze ice cores and tree rings to investigate ancient climates. In Africa,... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 14 2019 Jun 14, 2019 Friday, June 14, 2019 8:00:00 AM CDT June 14, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Into the early days of Hurricane Season 2019, “Hemingway’s’ Hurricane: The Great Florida Keys Storm of 1935” by Phil Scott,... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, June 12 2019 Jun 12, 2019 Wednesday, June 12, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 12, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days