53°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Luc and the Johnson Family..."
Pat Shingleton: "Rebel Forces and Lackland..."
Pat Shingleton: "Cider and Hummingbirds..."
Being in television for 43 years there are memories, situations and instances too numerous to review. You are in front of a machine, often referred to as a camera, communicating... More >>
1 day ago Tuesday, October 15 2019 Oct 15, 2019 Tuesday, October 15, 2019 11:25:13 PM CDT October 15, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
In 1907, Nicaraguan rebel forces, under the leadership of General Pablo Castilliano, were attempting to overthrow the government. With an abundance of money, weapons and expertise, the government forces were... More >>
2 days ago Monday, October 14 2019 Oct 14, 2019 Monday, October 14, 2019 5:52:25 PM CDT October 14, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
A hoedown is a dance or traditional fiddle tunes. Octobers in high school included the Varsity “R” Hoedown, a fundraiser for the athletic teams that included food, music and cider... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, October 02 2019 Oct 2, 2019 Wednesday, October 02, 2019 10:55:15 PM CDT October 02, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Cloud seeding has been in existence for many years. In the late 1940s, Nobel Laureate Irving Langmuir and atmospheric scientist... More >>
4 weeks ago Wednesday, September 18 2019 Sep 18, 2019 Wednesday, September 18, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT September 18, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
It’s nearly harvest time in south Louisiana, especially for the sugar cane crop. The purchase of the “deep-freezer” by my... More >>
4 weeks ago Tuesday, September 17 2019 Sep 17, 2019 Tuesday, September 17, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT September 17, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Weather may be a determining factor in the gender of babies. ScienceDaily.com reported that a study conducted by BMC Evolutionary... More >>
1 month ago Saturday, September 14 2019 Sep 14, 2019 Saturday, September 14, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT September 14, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
The eighth storm of the 2019 season will be named today. Tropical Storm Humberto could slide into Florida by Saturday.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, September 13 2019 Sep 13, 2019 Friday, September 13, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT September 13, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Statistics note that 37% of all named storms, 47% of all named hurricanes and 55% of all major hurricanes occur... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, September 12 2019 Sep 12, 2019 Thursday, September 12, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT September 12, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days