51°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Glaze... and Younger Dryas..."
Pat Shingleton: "Blizzard and The Glacier..."
Near our hometown of Ellwood City, PA are roads that would have been identified as routes of transport during the Revolutionary War. These roads connected Pittsburgh to Erie where Admiral... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 26 2021 Jan 26, 2021 Tuesday, January 26, 2021 5:09:35 PM CST January 26, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column
Glaze is a coating of transparent ice that forms when super-cooled water droplets hit roads during below-freezing weather. Glaze is heavy, sticks to objects that it coats, contains no air... More >>
1 month ago Monday, January 25 2021 Jan 25, 2021 Monday, January 25, 2021 4:52:37 PM CST January 25, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column
Three weeks ago a massive snowstorm blanketed sections of the Northeast. “Blizzard” originally meant “a stunning blow,” often referred to a boxer’s knockout punch. Davy Crockett, no relation to Jennifer,... More >>
1 month ago Friday, January 22 2021 Jan 22, 2021 Friday, January 22, 2021 6:47:54 PM CST January 22, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Years ago, plane de-icing was randomly performed and is now a regimented, regulated procedure. On this date in 1982, Air... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 12 2021 Jan 12, 2021 Tuesday, January 12, 2021 9:00:00 AM CST January 12, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column
Sometimes when you don't know what's in it, it still tastes good. Our Dad was a butcher, often referred to... More >>
1 month ago Saturday, January 09 2021 Jan 9, 2021 Saturday, January 09, 2021 9:07:00 AM CST January 09, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column
In October, 1948, smog filled the Monongahahela Valley in Western Pennsylvania. Damaging oxides of nitrogen, halogen acids, zinc and lead... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 07 2021 Jan 7, 2021 Thursday, January 07, 2021 9:00:00 AM CST January 07, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column
Before the gas furnace, many relied on the coal furnace. Situated in the basement of the home the burning coal... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, January 06 2021 Jan 6, 2021 Wednesday, January 06, 2021 9:00:00 AM CST January 06, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column
New Year's Day traditions to ensure health and prosperity may include the consumption of pork, knackwurst, bratwurst, kielbasa, sauerkraut, applesauce... More >>
2 months ago Friday, January 01 2021 Jan 1, 2021 Friday, January 01, 2021 4:51:00 PM CST January 01, 2021 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days