State makes offer to Louisiana parents who owe child support
BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Louisiana parents whose driver's licenses are suspended because they're behind on child support payments have through September to use a program offering a path to license reinstatement.
The Department of Children and Family Services says its "On the Road Again" program lets parents get license suspensions lifted for a reduced payment of what's usually owed. The deadline is Sept. 30.
To get licenses back under the program, parents must pay two months of court-ordered child support, $100 toward past-due support and court-ordered administrative fees. They also must pay fines required by the state motor vehicles office.
Parents seeking more information can go online , speak to their caseworkers or call 1-888-524-3578.
The social services agency says it's collected nearly $122,000 for 174 children since the license reinstatement program began Aug. 1.
Desktop NewsClick to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Restaurant worker on the run after gunfight in parking lot of Ascension...
Baton Rouge barber shop broken into for second time in two weeks
Silence from the Livingston Parish sheriff after detectives botched sex crimes case...
After backlash from lawmakers, former State Police leader turns over personal journal...
Hurricane Ida damage still evident on a golf course in Lower Livingston...
Southern baseball walks off Jackson State in SWAC Tournament
Southern baseball wins game one 21-2 over Alcorn
VIDEO: Former Saints and Tiger Devery Henderson talks about the difference between...
New NCAA rules tweak opens door for more SEC dominance
VIDEO: Devery Henderson Talk about Bluegrass Miracle and the Saints "Rebirth game"