Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Louisianas presidential primary early voting opens Saturday

2 years 7 months 1 week ago Friday, June 19 2020 Jun 19, 2020 June 19, 2020 11:29 AM June 19, 2020 in News
Source: Associated Press

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Early voting for Louisiana’s July 11 presidential primary election begins Saturday, with extra days and extra precautions because of the coronavirus outbreak.

Voters can cast their ballots in advance of the election through July 4, six days longer than normal to give people more time to avoid crowds amid the pandemic.

Early voting runs daily from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. except on Sundays, at parish registrar of voters’ offices and other locations. Voters can find their early voting site online through Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin’s office or through its GeauxVote mobile app.

Ardoin’s office said workers at polling locations will regularly sanitize voting areas and wipe down voting machines. Hand sanitizer will be offered to voters, and masks are recommended.

President Donald Trump is expected to easily win Louisiana’s GOP primary. Four other Republicans are on the state’s ballot seeking the Republican nomination. Meanwhile, though former Vice President Joe Biden has clinched the Democratic nomination for president, he’ll be one of 14 Democrats on Louisiana’s ballot.

Louisiana’s presidential primary is one of the latest in the nation this cycle, after being postponed twice because of the virus outbreak. It is a rare closed party primary in Louisiana, a state that generally allows all of its candidates regardless of party to run against each other at one time.

That means only registered Republicans can vote on the July ballot to determine who will win the state’s GOP presidential nomination, while only registered Democrats can choose among the contenders for the state’s Democratic presidential nomination.

But voters in 24 parishes, regardless of party, have other local elections on their ballot that don’t involve closed primaries.

Those 24 parishes, according to the Secretary of State’s office, are: Bienville, Caddo, Calcasieu, Concordia, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Sabine, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Washington and West Feliciana.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days