Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Jayden Daniels becomes third LSU QB to win Manning Award

5 months 3 weeks 1 day ago Tuesday, January 23 2024 Jan 23, 2024 January 23, 2024 5:19 PM January 23, 2024 in Sports
Source: WBRZ

NEW ORLEANS - The 2023 Heisman Trophy winner has another award to add to his trophy case.

LSU quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Jayden Daniels was announced Tuesday as the winner of the Manning Award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

Daniels led college football in total offense this past season, totaling 4,946 yards. He threw for 3,812 yards while running for 1,134 yards. Daniels had 50 total touchdowns in 2023, more than 91 teams this past fall.

"Jayden had an amazing year for the Tigers," Archie Manning said in a release. "Even without playing in the postseason, he still led the nation in total offense, ranked fifth in passing offense, and accounted for 50 touchdowns. He was a thrill to watch every week and we're looking forward to hosting him here in New Orleans to officially present him with the trophy."

LSU quarterbacks Jamarcus Russell and Joe Burrow are the other Tiger signal-callers to win the award.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days