53°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Justice for woman who hired contractor accused of scamming victims

BATON ROUGE - One of the dozens of victims allegedly taken advantage of by Complete Construction's Matthew Morris, has some good news.

Last month, 2 On Your Side visited the gutted Denham Springs home of Courtney Stricklin. Then, she was dealing with a lien on her home that prevented her from moving forward with her flood recovery. Friday, all that changed.

"Now I am finally able to move forward with my house," said Stricklin.

At the time Stricklin hired Complete Construction, she was also working for the company as a production and construction manager. She paid the contractor $15,000 to do the work in her home, but says she was billed thousands of dollars for work that was not completed.

She quit her job and hired an attorney. Soon after, Morris slapped Stricklin with a $36,943.76 lien, which she needed to take care of before she moved forward on her house. According to the paperwork, Complete Construction says it completed almost $52,000 worth of work at Stricklin's home.

Lee LeBouef, an attorney at Graves Carley Attorneys at Law, is working Stricklin's case. He tells WBRZ, if a general contractor has a contract with a client above $25,000 the contractor has to file a notice of contract prior to beginning work. In Stricklin's, case there was a notice of contract filed but it wasn't until after the work began.

"As a general contractor, if you don't file the notice prior to beginning work you don't have lien rights," said Lee LeBouef.

The judge ultimately sided with Graves Carley. Complete Construction is responsible to pay all of Stricklin's attorney fees associated with having the lien removed from her house.

LeBouef also says, Morris who is still in jail and faces dozens of charges, has a year to act on the lien. If he doesn't, the lien can be canceled.

This is far from over. In Ascension Parish, either Morris or subcontractors hired by Morris have filed 27 liens against clients. In Livingston Parish, Morris has filed seven. There are some in East Baton Rouge Parish, too. Each will be handled on a case-by-base basis.

"It's going to take some time," said LeBouef.

While Stricklin prepares to rebuild, she encourages others who have not already, to come forward and file information with the necessary agencies.

"I hope everyone gets justice," she said.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - One of the dozens of victims allegedly taken advantage of by Complete Construction's Matthew Morris, has some... More >>
10 months ago Wednesday, March 15 2017 Mar 15, 2017 Wednesday, March 15, 2017 5:35:00 PM CDT March 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A hole in the street is repaired and residents living along Park Boulevard are excited to see... More >>
10 months ago Tuesday, March 14 2017 Mar 14, 2017 Tuesday, March 14, 2017 6:13:00 PM CDT March 14, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - An intersection people have been complaining about should have been fixed years ago. It deals with making... More >>
10 months ago Friday, March 10 2017 Mar 10, 2017 Friday, March 10, 2017 6:01:00 PM CST March 10, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The last few months have been difficult for John Green. He lost his wife in a car... More >>
10 months ago Thursday, March 09 2017 Mar 9, 2017 Thursday, March 09, 2017 5:13:00 PM CST March 09, 2017 in News
LIVINGSTON - Another contractor was arrested on fraud charges Thursday, WBRZ learned. Mike Simmers was charged with one count... More >>
10 months ago Thursday, March 09 2017 Mar 9, 2017 Thursday, March 09, 2017 1:59:00 PM CST March 09, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - There's an investigation into a contractor based out of Denham Springs. Multiple flood victims tell 2 On Your... More >>
10 months ago Wednesday, March 08 2017 Mar 8, 2017 Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:42:00 PM CST March 08, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Worry no more about a sinkhole in Arbor Walk. It's been taken care of by the Department... More >>
10 months ago Monday, March 06 2017 Mar 6, 2017 Monday, March 06, 2017 5:16:00 PM CST March 06, 2017 in News
ST. AMANT - A road that's part Ascension, part Livingston Parish is torn up on the Ascension side. The parish... More >>
10 months ago Friday, March 03 2017 Mar 3, 2017 Friday, March 03, 2017 5:41:00 PM CST March 03, 2017 in News
ST. GABRIEL - Some people are worried their homes are going to be washed away. Backyards are eroding into a... More >>
10 months ago Monday, February 27 2017 Feb 27, 2017 Monday, February 27, 2017 5:06:00 PM CST February 27, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - More Louisiana residents are returning home and no longer need their FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit. As of... More >>
10 months ago Friday, February 24 2017 Feb 24, 2017 Friday, February 24, 2017 11:46:00 AM CST February 24, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - There's a sinkhole in Richard Bigelow's backyard that's been growing since April. He says he's given the... More >>
10 months ago Thursday, February 23 2017 Feb 23, 2017 Thursday, February 23, 2017 5:52:00 PM CST February 23, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man whose home has flooded a dozen times has moved out and into a new house.... More >>
10 months ago Wednesday, February 22 2017 Feb 22, 2017 Wednesday, February 22, 2017 10:44:02 PM CST February 22, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Homeowners are voicing their complaints about another Mo-Dad Utilities wastewater treatment facility. Residents living in the South... More >>
10 months ago Tuesday, February 21 2017 Feb 21, 2017 Tuesday, February 21, 2017 7:19:00 PM CST February 21, 2017 in News
WALKER - A homeowner in Livingston Parish says she's tired of people speeding in front of her house. After multiple... More >>
10 months ago Monday, February 20 2017 Feb 20, 2017 Monday, February 20, 2017 5:51:00 PM CST February 20, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Following a 2 On Your Side report Wednesday, more residents came forward and say they are all... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, February 16 2017 Feb 16, 2017 Thursday, February 16, 2017 5:59:00 PM CST February 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman living downtown is requesting sidewalks have handicap access around her home. Lee Landry is... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, February 15 2017 Feb 15, 2017 Wednesday, February 15, 2017 5:26:00 PM CST February 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says for the past couple of weeks she's felt like a hostage in her own... More >>
11 months ago Tuesday, February 14 2017 Feb 14, 2017 Tuesday, February 14, 2017 5:04:00 PM CST February 14, 2017 in News
SLAUGHTER - Some neighbors are at odds over who is responsible for the flooding one area experienced in August. It... More >>
11 months ago Monday, February 13 2017 Feb 13, 2017 Monday, February 13, 2017 6:08:00 PM CST February 13, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A woman says she was taken advantage of by a contractor, filed a report with the Ascension Parish... More >>
11 months ago Sunday, February 12 2017 Feb 12, 2017 Sunday, February 12, 2017 4:39:00 PM CST February 12, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A homeowner in Ascension Parish says she's fed up. Her driveway is full of cracks and it's sinking.... More >>
11 months ago Friday, February 10 2017 Feb 10, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017 5:44:00 PM CST February 10, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some flood victims are paying twice, trapped in a money fight between a contractor and a subcontractor.... More >>
11 months ago Friday, February 10 2017 Feb 10, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017 9:36:00 AM CST February 10, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A contractor's bond has now been set at more than $600,000. Matthew Morris was arrested Wednesday by... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, February 09 2017 Feb 9, 2017 Thursday, February 09, 2017 5:12:00 PM CST February 09, 2017 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - The State of Louisiana is sending disaster assessment teams to the areas hit by Tuesday’s tornadoes. Several... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, February 08 2017 Feb 8, 2017 Wednesday, February 08, 2017 5:30:00 PM CST February 08, 2017 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - As people cleanup from the tornadoes that tore through Louisiana Tuesday, damage assessment teams are walking neighborhoods gauging... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, February 08 2017 Feb 8, 2017 Wednesday, February 08, 2017 5:30:00 PM CST February 08, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some areas are still living with piles of post-flood debris outside their homes. One homeowner says... More >>
11 months ago Monday, February 06 2017 Feb 6, 2017 Monday, February 06, 2017 5:30:00 PM CST February 06, 2017 in News
ST. FRANCISVILLE - A mother of the bride says her daughter's wedding cake collapsed hours before the ceremony. The cake... More >>
11 months ago Friday, February 03 2017 Feb 3, 2017 Friday, February 03, 2017 5:27:00 PM CST February 03, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man who was mailed a red light violation says he didn't do anything wrong. He says... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, February 02 2017 Feb 2, 2017 Thursday, February 02, 2017 6:55:52 PM CST February 02, 2017 in News
GONZALES - About a year and a half ago, a family bought a van for their cleaning business. Everything was... More >>
11 months ago Tuesday, January 31 2017 Jan 31, 2017 Tuesday, January 31, 2017 6:57:27 PM CST January 31, 2017 in News
ZACHARY – Some Zachary residents are receiving yellow notices on their mailboxes claiming that their water bill is late, however... More >>
11 months ago Monday, January 30 2017 Jan 30, 2017 Monday, January 30, 2017 7:14:07 PM CST January 30, 2017 in News
LIVINGSTON - A man's car broke down weeks after he bought it from Carmax and the warranty company said it... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, January 26 2017 Jan 26, 2017 Thursday, January 26, 2017 6:03:00 PM CST January 26, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Property owners along Tiger Bend Road are worried about a drainage ditch that's overgrown. Cindy Crain's... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, January 25 2017 Jan 25, 2017 Wednesday, January 25, 2017 6:15:00 PM CST January 25, 2017 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says her street is full of holes and patches. She's been searching for a permanent... More >>
11 months ago Tuesday, January 24 2017 Jan 24, 2017 Tuesday, January 24, 2017 4:55:00 PM CST January 24, 2017 in News
WALKER - A community in Livingston Parish says it's tired of living on the edge. They say after every... More >>
11 months ago Monday, January 23 2017 Jan 23, 2017 Monday, January 23, 2017 7:28:00 PM CST January 23, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE – For the fourth time in the past few months, residents in the Capital View neighborhood said their... More >>
11 months ago Saturday, January 21 2017 Jan 21, 2017 Saturday, January 21, 2017 11:12:00 PM CST January 21, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A student attending Broadmoor Middle School says she's missed multiple days of school because her bus hasn't... More >>
11 months ago Friday, January 20 2017 Jan 20, 2017 Friday, January 20, 2017 5:43:00 PM CST January 20, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flash flood warning puts one homeowner on alert. Her son says every time there's a good... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, January 19 2017 Jan 19, 2017 Thursday, January 19, 2017 5:53:00 PM CST January 19, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Some people still rebuilding after the flood are getting a disturbing letter in the mail. They're being... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, January 18 2017 Jan 18, 2017 Wednesday, January 18, 2017 5:56:00 PM CST January 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim owes hundreds of dollars to the Baton Rouge Water Company. Cotrina Burton's home... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, January 17 2017 Jan 17, 2017 Tuesday, January 17, 2017 5:40:00 PM CST January 17, 2017 in News
GONZALES - An Ascension Parish school teacher has gone partially blind, it's a side effect from a brain aneurysm. ... More >>
1 year ago Monday, January 16 2017 Jan 16, 2017 Monday, January 16, 2017 8:11:54 PM CST January 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A mother says she's had enough with cars and trucks speeding down her street and running the... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, January 12 2017 Jan 12, 2017 Thursday, January 12, 2017 5:05:00 PM CST January 12, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE – FEMA announced Thursday that the Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA) program will be extended for another 24 days.... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, January 12 2017 Jan 12, 2017 Thursday, January 12, 2017 11:34:00 AM CST January 12, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - After several months of complaints, a dumpster that floated into a woman's yard during August's flooding has... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, January 11 2017 Jan 11, 2017 Wednesday, January 11, 2017 5:00:00 PM CST January 11, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Office of Motor Vehicles fines drivers for expired or lapsed car insurance. Dr. Daniel Burch... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, January 10 2017 Jan 10, 2017 Tuesday, January 10, 2017 7:53:43 PM CST January 10, 2017 in News
BAKER - A homeowner says flood water pushed his house off its pilings and now he's having trouble getting the... More >>
1 year ago Monday, January 09 2017 Jan 9, 2017 Monday, January 09, 2017 4:48:00 PM CST January 09, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Temperatures are dropping into the 20s this weekend. The cold weather is going to be a problem... More >>
1 year ago Friday, January 06 2017 Jan 6, 2017 Friday, January 06, 2017 5:44:00 PM CST January 06, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A blighted house and a property overflowing with cars, tools and thousands of other items are in... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, January 05 2017 Jan 5, 2017 Thursday, January 05, 2017 5:59:00 PM CST January 05, 2017 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - A blighted property, is ruffling the feathers of neighbors and homeowner associations. At least a dozen cars,... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, January 04 2017 Jan 4, 2017 Wednesday, January 04, 2017 5:15:00 PM CST January 04, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - FEMA tells flood victims living in manufactured housing units to call their maintenance number if there's a... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, January 03 2017 Jan 3, 2017 Tuesday, January 03, 2017 5:54:00 PM CST January 03, 2017 in News
WALKER - With every rain fall comes a looming problem for residents living in Suburban Acres. Water overflows the banks... More >>
1 year ago Monday, January 02 2017 Jan 2, 2017 Monday, January 02, 2017 10:52:00 PM CST January 02, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Flood victims continue to feel frustration when it comes to mortgage companies releasing their insurance money. Some... More >>
1 year ago Friday, December 30 2016 Dec 30, 2016 Friday, December 30, 2016 5:49:00 PM CST December 30, 2016 in News

News tip form