78°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Woman blames busted culvert on FEMA contractor

BATON ROUGE - A crushed drainage pipe is causing a flooding problem whenever it rains. A homeowner says a truck drove over the culvert in front of her house and smashed the concrete pipe under her driveway.

Shiela Weatherman says it happened when her FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit was removed from her property. It's been two months and she's not sure what to do since her calls to FEMA have not been answered.  

As a result of the culvert not being able to drain properly, water fills a drainage ditch and spills over onto her front yard and up her driveway.

"I'm lost for words because I don't know how to get it out other than a pump and it's just sitting," said Weatherman.

Her overflowing ditch is creating a lot of stress. So much, sandbags in front of her doors have become permanent fixtures.

"It comes all the way up into the yard and I'm afraid it's going to come in the house," she said.

Weatherman says she's called FEMA and the City-Parish to look at the situation. She says a FEMA representative has been out to survey the damage but not much has been done.

In the past, FEMA has told 2 On Your Side that the company contracted to do the job is responsible for any remediation when it removes a unit from a property. Weatherman says the cost to repair her culvert is expensive.

A cost that isn't feasible for her at the moment because of the repairs that still need to be made inside her home from the August 2016 flood.

The City-Parish reached out to the private company that delivers FEMA MHU's, to push for a solution for Weatherman. It has not yet received a response. The City-Parish says it will continue to work towards a solution.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A crushed drainage pipe is causing a flooding problem whenever it rains. A homeowner says a truck... More >>
10 months ago Wednesday, August 30 2017 Aug 30, 2017 Wednesday, August 30, 2017 3:30:00 PM CDT August 30, 2017 in News
PORT ALLEN - Security alarm representatives are going door to door in Port Allen. One man was convinced he'd been... More >>
10 months ago Friday, August 25 2017 Aug 25, 2017 Friday, August 25, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT August 25, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Six months of back and forth with an alarm company has pushed a woman over the edge.... More >>
10 months ago Tuesday, August 22 2017 Aug 22, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017 6:07:00 PM CDT August 22, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A house that's falling apart is worrying neighbors. The structure, located in the 3700 block of... More >>
10 months ago Monday, August 21 2017 Aug 21, 2017 Monday, August 21, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT August 21, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man is facing a large bill after a tractor-trailer hauling a FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit drove... More >>
11 months ago Friday, August 18 2017 Aug 18, 2017 Friday, August 18, 2017 5:24:00 PM CDT August 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner who lives off Millerville Road in Baton Rouge hired a landscaper to put some sod... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, August 17 2017 Aug 17, 2017 Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:50:00 PM CDT August 17, 2017 in News
FRENCH SETTLEMENT - Recovery from the flood drags on for one French Settlement woman. She says the crew that hauled... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, August 16 2017 Aug 16, 2017 Wednesday, August 16, 2017 5:04:00 PM CDT August 16, 2017 in News
GONZALES - A homeowner says the people she hired to paint her house didn't finish the job and what has... More >>
11 months ago Tuesday, August 15 2017 Aug 15, 2017 Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:04:00 PM CDT August 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim is happy she called 2 On Your Side. Judy Brouillette's mobile home was stuck... More >>
11 months ago Friday, July 28 2017 Jul 28, 2017 Friday, July 28, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT July 28, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Not every golfer hits their shot straight down the middle. After a golf ball broke one man's... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, July 27 2017 Jul 27, 2017 Thursday, July 27, 2017 5:27:00 PM CDT July 27, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A family hired a contractor who knocked on their door a few weeks after the August flood.... More >>
11 months ago Monday, July 24 2017 Jul 24, 2017 Monday, July 24, 2017 5:22:00 PM CDT July 24, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The aftermath of a car accident that happened three months ago, is a constant reminder for one... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, July 20 2017 Jul 20, 2017 Thursday, July 20, 2017 5:07:00 PM CDT July 20, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman who emailed 2 On Your Side is thankful she did. A serious mix-up at the... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, July 19 2017 Jul 19, 2017 Wednesday, July 19, 2017 5:14:00 PM CDT July 19, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Dozens of shopping carts from stores on College Drive in Baton Rouge are not staying in the... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, July 18 2017 Jul 18, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017 4:50:00 PM CDT July 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The homes in the River Oaks neighborhood in Baton Rouge experience sewage back-up every time it... More >>
1 year ago Monday, July 17 2017 Jul 17, 2017 Monday, July 17, 2017 6:53:00 PM CDT July 17, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who was worried she'd be kicked out of her FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit if she... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, July 05 2017 Jul 5, 2017 Wednesday, July 05, 2017 5:17:00 PM CDT July 05, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says Entergy transmission lines next to her home are the source of her flood issues.... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 30 2017 Jun 30, 2017 Friday, June 30, 2017 5:06:00 PM CDT June 30, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The Livingston Parish Department of Public Works is investigating a culvert issue following a 2 On Your... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 29 2017 Jun 29, 2017 Thursday, June 29, 2017 4:56:00 PM CDT June 29, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A homeowner with a home warranty can't seem to get her air conditioner fixed. It's been out for... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 28 2017 Jun 28, 2017 Wednesday, June 28, 2017 5:26:00 PM CDT June 28, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who's living in a FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit is facing eviction if she does not... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, June 27 2017 Jun 27, 2017 Tuesday, June 27, 2017 4:59:00 PM CDT June 27, 2017 in News
CENTRAL - Ten months after the August 2016 flood, Louisiana residents are still fighting with mortgage companies for their insurance... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 26 2017 Jun 26, 2017 Monday, June 26, 2017 6:21:00 PM CDT June 26, 2017 in News
SEATTLE – Many people have an Amazon credit that is about to expire and they don't even know it! ... More >>
1 year ago Saturday, June 24 2017 Jun 24, 2017 Saturday, June 24, 2017 8:51:27 AM CDT June 24, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Another blow for a flood victim who's manufactured housing unit has become a haven for mold. ... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 23 2017 Jun 23, 2017 Friday, June 23, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT June 23, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Church-goers are not happy about a valve that's releasing a stinky odor into the air and permeating... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 22 2017 Jun 22, 2017 Thursday, June 22, 2017 5:53:00 PM CDT June 22, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A couple in Central has been trying for years to have a child. Their story does not... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, June 20 2017 Jun 20, 2017 Tuesday, June 20, 2017 10:47:00 AM CDT June 20, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A man says he got the run-around from a cable installation company, after a technician put a... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 19 2017 Jun 19, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017 10:35:00 PM CDT June 19, 2017 in News
ZACHARY - Bright orange signs emblazoned with the word "BUMP" are posted near streets and through neighborhoods in Zachary as... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 16 2017 Jun 16, 2017 Friday, June 16, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT June 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A contractor facing fraud charges in three parishes went before the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 14 2017 Jun 14, 2017 Wednesday, June 14, 2017 10:59:16 PM CDT June 14, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - As Baton Rouge, Ascension and Livingston Parish residents open their water bills this month, some may notice... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 12 2017 Jun 12, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017 5:41:00 PM CDT June 12, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A 30 minute trip to the Mall of Louisiana turned into the most expensive shopping experience of... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 09 2017 Jun 9, 2017 Friday, June 09, 2017 10:56:57 PM CDT June 09, 2017 in News
GEISMAR - Water was found in gasoline at Dutchtown Tiger Mart on Highway 73 in Geismar. The Department of Agriculture... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 07 2017 Jun 7, 2017 Wednesday, June 07, 2017 5:50:00 PM CDT June 07, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Ditches holding debris and water-blocking culverts are creating problems for drivers and residents. It's about a... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 05 2017 Jun 5, 2017 Monday, June 05, 2017 11:02:00 PM CDT June 05, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Fed up with neighbors dumping sewage on his property, a man built a dam to block off... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 02 2017 Jun 2, 2017 Friday, June 02, 2017 7:30:35 PM CDT June 02, 2017 in News
PLAQUEMINE - For weeks a Plaquemine woman has been dealing with a neighbor's well that's flooding her backyard. Gilda... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 01 2017 Jun 1, 2017 Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:15:00 PM CDT June 01, 2017 in News
PLAQUEMINE - A man says a ditch that won't drain is overflowing every time it rains. Resident Gegory Pierre... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 31 2017 May 31, 2017 Wednesday, May 31, 2017 9:21:00 PM CDT May 31, 2017 in News
BAKER - Maintenance equipment stored at a BREC park is concerning nearby residents. The equipment, consists of lawnmower parts, trailers,... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 30 2017 May 30, 2017 Tuesday, May 30, 2017 10:55:00 PM CDT May 30, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Paramedics working countless hours in the community are recognized for doing what they do best. This week... More >>
1 year ago Friday, May 26 2017 May 26, 2017 Friday, May 26, 2017 5:09:00 PM CDT May 26, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The sound of heavy machinery working next to Stephenie Horton's home this morning was music to her... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, May 25 2017 May 25, 2017 Thursday, May 25, 2017 11:01:54 PM CDT May 25, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Residents along Wartelle Ave. at Tara Blvd are concerned over how a Baton Rouge sewer project is... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 24 2017 May 24, 2017 Wednesday, May 24, 2017 11:05:43 PM CDT May 24, 2017 in News
NEW ROADS - Following a 2 On Your Side report, a crew made the first steps to remove a barge... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 23 2017 May 23, 2017 Tuesday, May 23, 2017 10:56:00 PM CDT May 23, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A promise of big savings on his electric bill convinced a man to make an investment into... More >>
1 year ago Monday, May 22 2017 May 22, 2017 Monday, May 22, 2017 10:07:00 PM CDT May 22, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A family is looking for help after their loved one went on a spending spree ahead of... More >>
1 year ago Friday, May 19 2017 May 19, 2017 Friday, May 19, 2017 5:43:00 PM CDT May 19, 2017 in News
WALKER - A man says he has been dealing with an overgrown drainage ditch for months. Samuel Abbott lives... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 16 2017 May 16, 2017 Tuesday, May 16, 2017 11:00:37 PM CDT May 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman says a sinkhole has been growing next to her home for years. Stephenie Horton... More >>
1 year ago Monday, May 15 2017 May 15, 2017 Monday, May 15, 2017 9:49:00 PM CDT May 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A fix is coming for an eroding creek. Weiner Creek winds through neighborhoods and feeds into Jones... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, May 11 2017 May 11, 2017 Thursday, May 11, 2017 4:35:00 PM CDT May 11, 2017 in News
NEW ROADS - A barge floated into a woman's backyard and it's been there since August. Noel Loftus says... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 10 2017 May 10, 2017 Wednesday, May 10, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT May 10, 2017 in News
CENTRAL - It's been eight months since a woman bought a trailer and hired a company to move it to... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 09 2017 May 9, 2017 Tuesday, May 09, 2017 5:36:00 PM CDT May 09, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A street is being torn up and repaved following a 2 On Your Side report. The City-Parish... More >>
1 year ago Friday, May 05 2017 May 5, 2017 Friday, May 05, 2017 11:05:51 PM CDT May 05, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A slope behind homes in Livingston Parish has been catching water for years. The only problem is,... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, May 04 2017 May 4, 2017 Thursday, May 04, 2017 6:13:00 PM CDT May 04, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE – Jack in the Box is apologizing over a big mess that sat outside one of its old... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, May 04 2017 May 4, 2017 Thursday, May 04, 2017 1:57:00 PM CDT May 04, 2017 in News

News tip form