80°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Mobile home moving company helps homeowners following 2 OYS story

BATON ROUGE - A Homeowner who has been staring at his empty house for months is now that much closer to moving in, thanks to 2 On Your Side and a mobile home moving company that stepped in to help.

In March, Joan and Ronnie Stephens hired a crew from Florida to help install their mobile home. They say the people who did the job, did it incorrectly and it didn't pass State Fire Marshal inspection.

"It's not blocked right, it's not strapped right, it's not leveled right," Ronnie Stephens told WBRZ earlier this month.

They've been looking at these issues for seven months, unable to move in and hookup their electricity. Ronnie says he's called just about everyone in the phonebook, he was unsuccessful in finding someone to take on the job and make things right.

"We had other ones come look at it, gave estimates, never showed back up," said Ronnie.

That is until last week, when A-1 Mobile Home Movers, LLC called 2 On Your Side asking about the job.

"The whole house was torn, stressed, cracked," said A-1 Supervisor Steven Hood. "It was horrible."

Ronnie says soon after they learned the company wanted the job, A-1 Mobile Home Movers drove out to look at the house and gave an estimate to make repairs. Tuesday, a crew was there to do the work that should have been done the first time around.

Joan and Ronnie Stephens say they're thankful for 2 On Your Side and A-1.

Then a surprise. As our WBRZ crew was leaving, the Stephens learned Christmas would come early this year and A-1 Mobile Home Movers would be donating their services.

"Since we had a good year, we've been blessed with the work, we're going to donate our time to y'all. All our blocks, material, everything to y'all," said A-1 owner Lester Ballard. "I want you in your house for Christmas."

The mobile home movers left a message with Stephens to "pass it on."

The Louisiana State Fire Marshal's Office has written up the company, Rak Trucking out of Clearwater, Florida for a number of issues and fined the company $500.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A Homeowner who has been staring at his empty house for months is now that much closer... More >>
7 months ago Tuesday, October 31 2017 Oct 31, 2017 Tuesday, October 31, 2017 6:49:00 PM CDT October 31, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A group of people say their employer sexually harassed them, but they quickly found out there's little... More >>
7 months ago Monday, October 30 2017 Oct 30, 2017 Monday, October 30, 2017 7:32:00 PM CDT October 30, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A family in Livingston Parish says they've lived in two moldy manufactured housing units since the August... More >>
7 months ago Friday, October 27 2017 Oct 27, 2017 Friday, October 27, 2017 5:52:00 PM CDT October 27, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A contract to remove trees and stumps has been delayed for months. Jordan United Methodist Church hired... More >>
7 months ago Tuesday, October 24 2017 Oct 24, 2017 Tuesday, October 24, 2017 5:27:00 PM CDT October 24, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman living in Texas says her mail was not delivered on time and her property went... More >>
7 months ago Friday, October 20 2017 Oct 20, 2017 Friday, October 20, 2017 5:05:00 PM CDT October 20, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Money spent, and not a lot to show for it. That's what a homeowner in Baton Rouge... More >>
7 months ago Friday, October 20 2017 Oct 20, 2017 Friday, October 20, 2017 11:09:00 AM CDT October 20, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A shocking find at an apartment when a couple living there came home to nothing. While they... More >>
8 months ago Wednesday, October 18 2017 Oct 18, 2017 Wednesday, October 18, 2017 6:23:00 PM CDT October 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Ads for a new home aren't what they appear. A rental-type scam may have reappeared in Baton... More >>
8 months ago Tuesday, October 17 2017 Oct 17, 2017 Tuesday, October 17, 2017 10:55:00 PM CDT October 17, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a lot to look over when you sign a lease on an apartment but one woman... More >>
8 months ago Friday, October 13 2017 Oct 13, 2017 Friday, October 13, 2017 5:14:00 PM CDT October 13, 2017 in News
LIVINGSTON PARISH - A chunk of concrete fell on a moving vehicle along I-12 on August 26. The driver is... More >>
8 months ago Wednesday, October 11 2017 Oct 11, 2017 Wednesday, October 11, 2017 7:05:00 PM CDT October 11, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport will soon be following state law that allows disabled veterans... More >>
8 months ago Wednesday, October 11 2017 Oct 11, 2017 Wednesday, October 11, 2017 6:01:00 PM CDT October 11, 2017 in News
ZACHARY - A woman hired a professional photographer to take photos of her wedding and reception but says what she... More >>
8 months ago Tuesday, October 10 2017 Oct 10, 2017 Tuesday, October 10, 2017 5:51:00 PM CDT October 10, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A private bridge over a parish-maintained canal was damaged during the August 2016 flood. The owner can't... More >>
8 months ago Monday, October 09 2017 Oct 9, 2017 Monday, October 09, 2017 6:26:00 PM CDT October 09, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The process to get a street light has proved to be difficult for one resident living in... More >>
8 months ago Wednesday, October 04 2017 Oct 4, 2017 Wednesday, October 04, 2017 6:44:00 PM CDT October 04, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Denham Springs High School senior is without a dress for homecoming. Her mother, Sundi Freeman-Rodgers called... More >>
8 months ago Tuesday, October 03 2017 Oct 3, 2017 Tuesday, October 03, 2017 5:47:00 PM CDT October 03, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Thousands of flood victims are still waiting on Restore Louisiana for help. The process for one Baton... More >>
8 months ago Monday, October 02 2017 Oct 2, 2017 Monday, October 02, 2017 6:02:00 PM CDT October 02, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Following a 2 On Your Side report Monday , the Attorney General’s office says it’s found a... More >>
8 months ago Friday, September 29 2017 Sep 29, 2017 Friday, September 29, 2017 4:48:00 PM CDT September 29, 2017 in News
GEISMAR - A hungry thief didn't keep a group of chefs from whipping up some jambalaya for charity. Last... More >>
8 months ago Thursday, September 28 2017 Sep 28, 2017 Thursday, September 28, 2017 3:45:00 PM CDT September 28, 2017 in News
ZACHARY - Some residents have been trying to get the drainage along their road cleared but are having trouble finding... More >>
8 months ago Wednesday, September 27 2017 Sep 27, 2017 Wednesday, September 27, 2017 6:26:00 PM CDT September 27, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's another scam to be aware of, this one targeting job hunters. A woman in Baton Rouge... More >>
8 months ago Tuesday, September 26 2017 Sep 26, 2017 Tuesday, September 26, 2017 6:22:00 PM CDT September 26, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A family is having trouble finding peace after their mother's remains were unearthed during the August 2016... More >>
8 months ago Monday, September 25 2017 Sep 25, 2017 Monday, September 25, 2017 6:35:00 PM CDT September 25, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner has a warning for others tonight after she says independent contractors did shoddy work in... More >>
8 months ago Thursday, September 21 2017 Sep 21, 2017 Thursday, September 21, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT September 21, 2017 in News
GEISMAR - A man is caught on camera taking items from a business, having no idea those items were meant... More >>
8 months ago Wednesday, September 20 2017 Sep 20, 2017 Wednesday, September 20, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT September 20, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The tables have turned for a woman who brought her concerns to WBRZ. Now she's in trouble... More >>
8 months ago Tuesday, September 19 2017 Sep 19, 2017 Tuesday, September 19, 2017 5:42:00 PM CDT September 19, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A flood victim is reliving the August 2016 flood all over again after she found mold growing... More >>
9 months ago Friday, September 15 2017 Sep 15, 2017 Friday, September 15, 2017 6:00:00 PM CDT September 15, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - For years, a Denham Springs woman has watched has her property fills with water every time it... More >>
9 months ago Thursday, September 14 2017 Sep 14, 2017 Thursday, September 14, 2017 3:30:00 PM CDT September 14, 2017 in News
NEW ROADS - There are thousands of people still waiting, relying on the help of others to fix up their... More >>
9 months ago Wednesday, September 13 2017 Sep 13, 2017 Wednesday, September 13, 2017 5:32:00 PM CDT September 13, 2017 in News
ASSUMPTION PARISH - Authorities are warning of a potential scam circulating in the area of Assumption Parish. According to... More >>
9 months ago Tuesday, September 12 2017 Sep 12, 2017 Tuesday, September 12, 2017 5:31:00 PM CDT September 12, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman says her mail is being held hostage by the postal service and she's been having... More >>
9 months ago Monday, September 11 2017 Sep 11, 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017 5:46:00 PM CDT September 11, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - An LSU freshman is living out his dream of being an Tiger. Kayne Finley was diagnosed... More >>
9 months ago Friday, September 08 2017 Sep 8, 2017 Friday, September 08, 2017 6:22:00 PM CDT September 08, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE- Gov. John Bel Edwards is asking Congress to tweak federal law governing disaster loans as part of the... More >>
9 months ago Thursday, September 07 2017 Sep 7, 2017 Thursday, September 07, 2017 5:28:00 PM CDT September 07, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The used car market can be tough to navigate. Hank Keith says he had no idea what... More >>
9 months ago Wednesday, September 06 2017 Sep 6, 2017 Wednesday, September 06, 2017 6:02:00 PM CDT September 06, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Water that's been leaking from a pipe for a year in Livingston Parish was capped off and... More >>
9 months ago Tuesday, September 05 2017 Sep 5, 2017 Tuesday, September 05, 2017 4:51:00 PM CDT September 05, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A year since the flood here and people are getting restless about why some highway repairs haven't... More >>
9 months ago Thursday, August 31 2017 Aug 31, 2017 Thursday, August 31, 2017 5:13:00 PM CDT August 31, 2017 in News
LOTTIE - About 400 people in a town across the river say their water smells. Residents in Lottie say the... More >>
9 months ago Wednesday, August 30 2017 Aug 30, 2017 Wednesday, August 30, 2017 5:01:00 PM CDT August 30, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A crushed drainage pipe is causing a flooding problem whenever it rains. A homeowner says a truck... More >>
9 months ago Wednesday, August 30 2017 Aug 30, 2017 Wednesday, August 30, 2017 3:30:00 PM CDT August 30, 2017 in News
PORT ALLEN - Security alarm representatives are going door to door in Port Allen. One man was convinced he'd been... More >>
9 months ago Friday, August 25 2017 Aug 25, 2017 Friday, August 25, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT August 25, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Six months of back and forth with an alarm company has pushed a woman over the edge.... More >>
9 months ago Tuesday, August 22 2017 Aug 22, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017 6:07:00 PM CDT August 22, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A house that's falling apart is worrying neighbors. The structure, located in the 3700 block of... More >>
9 months ago Monday, August 21 2017 Aug 21, 2017 Monday, August 21, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT August 21, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man is facing a large bill after a tractor-trailer hauling a FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit drove... More >>
10 months ago Friday, August 18 2017 Aug 18, 2017 Friday, August 18, 2017 5:24:00 PM CDT August 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner who lives off Millerville Road in Baton Rouge hired a landscaper to put some sod... More >>
10 months ago Thursday, August 17 2017 Aug 17, 2017 Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:50:00 PM CDT August 17, 2017 in News
FRENCH SETTLEMENT - Recovery from the flood drags on for one French Settlement woman. She says the crew that hauled... More >>
10 months ago Wednesday, August 16 2017 Aug 16, 2017 Wednesday, August 16, 2017 5:04:00 PM CDT August 16, 2017 in News
GONZALES - A homeowner says the people she hired to paint her house didn't finish the job and what has... More >>
10 months ago Tuesday, August 15 2017 Aug 15, 2017 Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:04:00 PM CDT August 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim is happy she called 2 On Your Side. Judy Brouillette's mobile home was stuck... More >>
10 months ago Friday, July 28 2017 Jul 28, 2017 Friday, July 28, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT July 28, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Not every golfer hits their shot straight down the middle. After a golf ball broke one man's... More >>
10 months ago Thursday, July 27 2017 Jul 27, 2017 Thursday, July 27, 2017 5:27:00 PM CDT July 27, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A family hired a contractor who knocked on their door a few weeks after the August flood.... More >>
10 months ago Monday, July 24 2017 Jul 24, 2017 Monday, July 24, 2017 5:22:00 PM CDT July 24, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The aftermath of a car accident that happened three months ago, is a constant reminder for one... More >>
10 months ago Thursday, July 20 2017 Jul 20, 2017 Thursday, July 20, 2017 5:07:00 PM CDT July 20, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman who emailed 2 On Your Side is thankful she did. A serious mix-up at the... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, July 19 2017 Jul 19, 2017 Wednesday, July 19, 2017 5:14:00 PM CDT July 19, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Dozens of shopping carts from stores on College Drive in Baton Rouge are not staying in the... More >>
11 months ago Tuesday, July 18 2017 Jul 18, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017 4:50:00 PM CDT July 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The homes in the River Oaks neighborhood in Baton Rouge experience sewage back-up every time it... More >>
11 months ago Monday, July 17 2017 Jul 17, 2017 Monday, July 17, 2017 6:53:00 PM CDT July 17, 2017 in News

News tip form