80°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

State flood assistance survey now open

BATON ROUGE - The Restore Louisiana Homeowner Assistance Program survey opened to all homeowners affected by the March and August 2016 floods Monday.

This homeowner assistance program will help flooded homeowners with rebuilding assistance and some reimbursement.

The initial survey was made available for all flood-impacted homeowners on the restore.la.gov website Monday morning. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) officially released the $1.6 billion in flood recovery funds appropriated in 2016 later Monday afternoon.

Homeowners can also choose to fill out the survey using a phone number that will be posted on restore.la.gov Monday morning.

After receiving several reports of individuals attempting to charge homeowners for assistance in filling out the survey, the governor's office has released a statement discouraging all homeowners from seeking outside help to fill out the survey.

"The Louisiana Office of Community Development strongly urges flood victims against accepting help from third parties who are charging a fee to help fill out the initial survey of interest for the homeowner recovery program from the March and August floods. There is no charge to fill out the survey and residents should not give out personal information to these third parties," the statement read.

The first step for all homeowners to apply for rebuilding assistance is completing the 15-minute survey either online or over the phone.

Based on their answers, homeowners will be placed in the application phase for which they qualify. The state will then advise homeowners to apply for the program as their phase becomes eligible for assistance.

According to the governor's office, Phase 1 homeowners can anticipate being invited in May to fill out the application that will determine eligibility. Survey answers do not determine final eligibility for the assistance program.

Given the limited funding available at this time, the state has placed applicants in phases that comply with federal guidelines on how this money can be spent. Those phases are:

All Phases: Must have major or severe home damage and no structural flood insurance at the time of the flood

Phase I-II: Low-to-moderate income, elderly (62 and over) or persons with disabilities

Phase III-IV: 10 most impacted or distressed parishes – Acadia, Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Livingston, Ouachita, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Vermilion and Washington

Phase V: The remaining 41 flood-impacted parishes

Phase VI: Reimbursement for homeowners who have completed the rebuilding process at the time they answer the survey or complete the application

The governor's office reminds homeowners that the funds provided by this program are strictly for the use of repairing flood damage. But, in some cases, homeowners may be reimbursed for repair work already completed.

The governor also urges that all flood-impacted homeowners complete the survey, even if they don’t believe they’ll qualify for the initial round of assistance.

Over the next few months, the state is also rolling out additional assistance programs to place more affordable rental property on the market and to assist small businesses in their recovery. 

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - The Restore Louisiana Homeowner Assistance Program survey opened to all homeowners affected by the March and August... More >>
1 year ago Sunday, April 09 2017 Apr 9, 2017 Sunday, April 09, 2017 2:29:00 PM CDT April 09, 2017 in Links
BATON ROUGE - A contractor arrested on fraud charges, also arrested in Livingston Parish Thursday, was booked in Ascension Parish... More >>
1 year ago Friday, April 07 2017 Apr 7, 2017 Friday, April 07, 2017 6:52:13 PM CDT April 07, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A contractor facing fraud charges in Baton Rouge has bonded out of jail. A homeowner who filed... More >>
1 year ago Friday, April 07 2017 Apr 7, 2017 Friday, April 07, 2017 5:06:00 PM CDT April 07, 2017 in News
WATSON - A woman who's home in Crestwood Subdivision flooded last August got water in her house again this week.... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, April 05 2017 Apr 5, 2017 Wednesday, April 05, 2017 4:57:00 PM CDT April 05, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Every few months, volunteers donning gardening gloves meet at Lutheran Cemetery to help pull weeds, bring branches... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, April 04 2017 Apr 4, 2017 Tuesday, April 04, 2017 5:47:00 PM CDT April 04, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Customers who use Mo-Dad Utilities will be getting a higher bill in the mail this week. ... More >>
1 year ago Monday, April 03 2017 Apr 3, 2017 Monday, April 03, 2017 5:55:00 PM CDT April 03, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Many people who use Gardere Lane on a daily basis say they're anxiously waiting for a sidewalk... More >>
1 year ago Friday, March 31 2017 Mar 31, 2017 Friday, March 31, 2017 5:42:00 PM CDT March 31, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - With Thursday's rain and more in the forecast, a homeowner was concerned over a pile of branches... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, March 30 2017 Mar 30, 2017 Thursday, March 30, 2017 5:17:00 PM CDT March 30, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Skimming found at gasoline pumps are concerning for anyone swiping their card. Tuesday, the Department Of... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, March 29 2017 Mar 29, 2017 Wednesday, March 29, 2017 6:16:00 PM CDT March 29, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Following a report Monday, Vivint Home Security says it's working with the customer who reached out to... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, March 28 2017 Mar 28, 2017 Tuesday, March 28, 2017 5:40:00 PM CDT March 28, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman says the customer service she's received is alarming. She bought a home security system from... More >>
1 year ago Monday, March 27 2017 Mar 27, 2017 Monday, March 27, 2017 4:56:00 PM CDT March 27, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS – A business owner in Denham Springs got some relief after a call to WBRZ 2 On Your... More >>
1 year ago Monday, March 27 2017 Mar 27, 2017 Monday, March 27, 2017 2:01:00 PM CDT March 27, 2017 in News
ADDIS - A woman is distraught after finding out her missing cat has been adopted. The cat was microchipped but... More >>
1 year ago Friday, March 24 2017 Mar 24, 2017 Friday, March 24, 2017 5:49:00 PM CDT March 24, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A business owner says a state construction project has prevented him from doing his job. TJ... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, March 21 2017 Mar 21, 2017 Tuesday, March 21, 2017 5:36:00 PM CDT March 21, 2017 in News
GONZALES - A hearing to revoke the bond for Matthew Morris of Complete Construction did not happen Monday, Judge Jessie... More >>
1 year ago Monday, March 20 2017 Mar 20, 2017 Monday, March 20, 2017 5:30:00 PM CDT March 20, 2017 in Crime
BATON ROUGE - A man says the City-Parish started a project in his backyard and never finished. Now, he's worried... More >>
1 year ago Friday, March 17 2017 Mar 17, 2017 Friday, March 17, 2017 5:01:00 PM CDT March 17, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some non-profits have been feeling the struggle following last year's flood. It's because funding that organizations typically... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, March 16 2017 Mar 16, 2017 Thursday, March 16, 2017 5:12:00 PM CDT March 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - One of the dozens of victims allegedly taken advantage of by Complete Construction's Matthew Morris, has some... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, March 15 2017 Mar 15, 2017 Wednesday, March 15, 2017 5:35:00 PM CDT March 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A hole in the street is repaired and residents living along Park Boulevard are excited to see... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, March 14 2017 Mar 14, 2017 Tuesday, March 14, 2017 6:13:00 PM CDT March 14, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - An intersection people have been complaining about should have been fixed years ago. It deals with making... More >>
1 year ago Friday, March 10 2017 Mar 10, 2017 Friday, March 10, 2017 6:01:00 PM CST March 10, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The last few months have been difficult for John Green. He lost his wife in a car... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, March 09 2017 Mar 9, 2017 Thursday, March 09, 2017 5:13:00 PM CST March 09, 2017 in News
LIVINGSTON - Another contractor was arrested on fraud charges Thursday, WBRZ learned. Mike Simmers was charged with one count... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, March 09 2017 Mar 9, 2017 Thursday, March 09, 2017 1:59:00 PM CST March 09, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - There's an investigation into a contractor based out of Denham Springs. Multiple flood victims tell 2 On Your... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, March 08 2017 Mar 8, 2017 Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:42:00 PM CST March 08, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Worry no more about a sinkhole in Arbor Walk. It's been taken care of by the Department... More >>
1 year ago Monday, March 06 2017 Mar 6, 2017 Monday, March 06, 2017 5:16:00 PM CST March 06, 2017 in News
ST. AMANT - A road that's part Ascension, part Livingston Parish is torn up on the Ascension side. The parish... More >>
1 year ago Friday, March 03 2017 Mar 3, 2017 Friday, March 03, 2017 5:41:00 PM CST March 03, 2017 in News
ST. GABRIEL - Some people are worried their homes are going to be washed away. Backyards are eroding into a... More >>
1 year ago Monday, February 27 2017 Feb 27, 2017 Monday, February 27, 2017 5:06:00 PM CST February 27, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - More Louisiana residents are returning home and no longer need their FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit. As of... More >>
1 year ago Friday, February 24 2017 Feb 24, 2017 Friday, February 24, 2017 11:46:00 AM CST February 24, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - There's a sinkhole in Richard Bigelow's backyard that's been growing since April. He says he's given the... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, February 23 2017 Feb 23, 2017 Thursday, February 23, 2017 5:52:00 PM CST February 23, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man whose home has flooded a dozen times has moved out and into a new house.... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, February 22 2017 Feb 22, 2017 Wednesday, February 22, 2017 10:44:02 PM CST February 22, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Homeowners are voicing their complaints about another Mo-Dad Utilities wastewater treatment facility. Residents living in the South... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, February 21 2017 Feb 21, 2017 Tuesday, February 21, 2017 7:19:00 PM CST February 21, 2017 in News
WALKER - A homeowner in Livingston Parish says she's tired of people speeding in front of her house. After multiple... More >>
1 year ago Monday, February 20 2017 Feb 20, 2017 Monday, February 20, 2017 5:51:00 PM CST February 20, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Following a 2 On Your Side report Wednesday, more residents came forward and say they are all... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, February 16 2017 Feb 16, 2017 Thursday, February 16, 2017 5:59:00 PM CST February 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman living downtown is requesting sidewalks have handicap access around her home. Lee Landry is... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, February 15 2017 Feb 15, 2017 Wednesday, February 15, 2017 5:26:00 PM CST February 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says for the past couple of weeks she's felt like a hostage in her own... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, February 14 2017 Feb 14, 2017 Tuesday, February 14, 2017 5:04:00 PM CST February 14, 2017 in News
SLAUGHTER - Some neighbors are at odds over who is responsible for the flooding one area experienced in August. It... More >>
1 year ago Monday, February 13 2017 Feb 13, 2017 Monday, February 13, 2017 6:08:00 PM CST February 13, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A woman says she was taken advantage of by a contractor, filed a report with the Ascension Parish... More >>
1 year ago Sunday, February 12 2017 Feb 12, 2017 Sunday, February 12, 2017 4:39:00 PM CST February 12, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A homeowner in Ascension Parish says she's fed up. Her driveway is full of cracks and it's sinking.... More >>
1 year ago Friday, February 10 2017 Feb 10, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017 5:44:00 PM CST February 10, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some flood victims are paying twice, trapped in a money fight between a contractor and a subcontractor.... More >>
1 year ago Friday, February 10 2017 Feb 10, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017 9:36:00 AM CST February 10, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A contractor's bond has now been set at more than $600,000. Matthew Morris was arrested Wednesday by... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, February 09 2017 Feb 9, 2017 Thursday, February 09, 2017 5:12:00 PM CST February 09, 2017 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - As people cleanup from the tornadoes that tore through Louisiana Tuesday, damage assessment teams are walking neighborhoods gauging... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, February 08 2017 Feb 8, 2017 Wednesday, February 08, 2017 5:30:00 PM CST February 08, 2017 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - The State of Louisiana is sending disaster assessment teams to the areas hit by Tuesday’s tornadoes. Several... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, February 08 2017 Feb 8, 2017 Wednesday, February 08, 2017 5:30:00 PM CST February 08, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some areas are still living with piles of post-flood debris outside their homes. One homeowner says... More >>
1 year ago Monday, February 06 2017 Feb 6, 2017 Monday, February 06, 2017 5:30:00 PM CST February 06, 2017 in News
ST. FRANCISVILLE - A mother of the bride says her daughter's wedding cake collapsed hours before the ceremony. The cake... More >>
1 year ago Friday, February 03 2017 Feb 3, 2017 Friday, February 03, 2017 5:27:00 PM CST February 03, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man who was mailed a red light violation says he didn't do anything wrong. He says... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, February 02 2017 Feb 2, 2017 Thursday, February 02, 2017 6:55:52 PM CST February 02, 2017 in News
GONZALES - About a year and a half ago, a family bought a van for their cleaning business. Everything was... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, January 31 2017 Jan 31, 2017 Tuesday, January 31, 2017 6:57:27 PM CST January 31, 2017 in News
ZACHARY – Some Zachary residents are receiving yellow notices on their mailboxes claiming that their water bill is late, however... More >>
1 year ago Monday, January 30 2017 Jan 30, 2017 Monday, January 30, 2017 7:14:07 PM CST January 30, 2017 in News
LIVINGSTON - A man's car broke down weeks after he bought it from Carmax and the warranty company said it... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, January 26 2017 Jan 26, 2017 Thursday, January 26, 2017 6:03:00 PM CST January 26, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Property owners along Tiger Bend Road are worried about a drainage ditch that's overgrown. Cindy Crain's... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, January 25 2017 Jan 25, 2017 Wednesday, January 25, 2017 6:15:00 PM CST January 25, 2017 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says her street is full of holes and patches. She's been searching for a permanent... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, January 24 2017 Jan 24, 2017 Tuesday, January 24, 2017 4:55:00 PM CST January 24, 2017 in News
WALKER - A community in Livingston Parish says it's tired of living on the edge. They say after every... More >>
1 year ago Monday, January 23 2017 Jan 23, 2017 Monday, January 23, 2017 7:28:00 PM CST January 23, 2017 in News

News tip form