50°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Drainage ditch dug following 2 On Your Side report

DENHAM SPRINGS - For years, a Denham Springs woman has watched has her property fills with water every time it rains. Good news came this week and an excavator crew showed up to level the property in question.

Mae Callahan lives along Tuck Lane in Robinwood Subdivision and for the past 17 years, she's been holding her breath after every storm, curious how far the water will reach. It's rotted out the bottom of her tool shed and it's surrounded her home. When the water recedes, debris and trash mark the water line.

Wednesday, Gravity Drainage District One was busy clearing dirt and vegetation to make way for better drainage.

"Right now, we're getting the high spots out to open up the drainage so the water that stands can get out," said Manager of Gravity Drainage District One Wesley Kinnebrew.

The hope is to drain the water a lot quicker than it has been draining. It's something Callahan has been patiently waiting for.

"It's a wonderful feeling, you know," she said. "I've been fighting this for a long time."

WBRZ first met Callahan in May 2016 after a hard rainfall. Debris and trash were scattered on her property brought there by the water. Kinnebrew says because Robinhood is a private subdivision, Gravity Drainage had to get the thumbs up from its board and the OK from the HOA to get the job done.

Callahan was persistent, so was 2 On Your Side and Kinnebrew.

It's a relief for Callahan who won't have to worry about her property flooding any longer.

"I'm telling you, 2 On Your Side really makes a difference," said Callahan. "I could not have done it without it - without Brittany coming out here and helping me."

Gravity Drainage District One says it plans to build up the homeowner's properties so there's a channel for the water to flow. There's also a fence that must be moved, but the project is well on its way.

 

Grid
List
DENHAM SPRINGS - For years, a Denham Springs woman has watched has her property fills with water every time it... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 14 2017 Sep 14, 2017 Thursday, September 14, 2017 3:30:00 PM CDT September 14, 2017 in News
NEW ROADS - There are thousands of people still waiting, relying on the help of others to fix up their... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 13 2017 Sep 13, 2017 Wednesday, September 13, 2017 5:32:00 PM CDT September 13, 2017 in News
ASSUMPTION PARISH - Authorities are warning of a potential scam circulating in the area of Assumption Parish. According to... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, September 12 2017 Sep 12, 2017 Tuesday, September 12, 2017 5:31:00 PM CDT September 12, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman says her mail is being held hostage by the postal service and she's been having... More >>
1 year ago Monday, September 11 2017 Sep 11, 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017 5:46:00 PM CDT September 11, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - An LSU freshman is living out his dream of being an Tiger. Kayne Finley was diagnosed... More >>
1 year ago Friday, September 08 2017 Sep 8, 2017 Friday, September 08, 2017 6:22:00 PM CDT September 08, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE- Gov. John Bel Edwards is asking Congress to tweak federal law governing disaster loans as part of the... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 07 2017 Sep 7, 2017 Thursday, September 07, 2017 5:28:00 PM CDT September 07, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The used car market can be tough to navigate. Hank Keith says he had no idea what... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 06 2017 Sep 6, 2017 Wednesday, September 06, 2017 6:02:00 PM CDT September 06, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Water that's been leaking from a pipe for a year in Livingston Parish was capped off and... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, September 05 2017 Sep 5, 2017 Tuesday, September 05, 2017 4:51:00 PM CDT September 05, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A year since the flood here and people are getting restless about why some highway repairs haven't... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, August 31 2017 Aug 31, 2017 Thursday, August 31, 2017 5:13:00 PM CDT August 31, 2017 in News
LOTTIE - About 400 people in a town across the river say their water smells. Residents in Lottie say the... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, August 30 2017 Aug 30, 2017 Wednesday, August 30, 2017 5:01:00 PM CDT August 30, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A crushed drainage pipe is causing a flooding problem whenever it rains. A homeowner says a truck... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, August 30 2017 Aug 30, 2017 Wednesday, August 30, 2017 3:30:00 PM CDT August 30, 2017 in News
PORT ALLEN - Security alarm representatives are going door to door in Port Allen. One man was convinced he'd been... More >>
1 year ago Friday, August 25 2017 Aug 25, 2017 Friday, August 25, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT August 25, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Six months of back and forth with an alarm company has pushed a woman over the edge.... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, August 22 2017 Aug 22, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017 6:07:00 PM CDT August 22, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A house that's falling apart is worrying neighbors. The structure, located in the 3700 block of... More >>
1 year ago Monday, August 21 2017 Aug 21, 2017 Monday, August 21, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT August 21, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man is facing a large bill after a tractor-trailer hauling a FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit drove... More >>
1 year ago Friday, August 18 2017 Aug 18, 2017 Friday, August 18, 2017 5:24:00 PM CDT August 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner who lives off Millerville Road in Baton Rouge hired a landscaper to put some sod... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, August 17 2017 Aug 17, 2017 Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:50:00 PM CDT August 17, 2017 in News
FRENCH SETTLEMENT - Recovery from the flood drags on for one French Settlement woman. She says the crew that hauled... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, August 16 2017 Aug 16, 2017 Wednesday, August 16, 2017 5:04:00 PM CDT August 16, 2017 in News
GONZALES - A homeowner says the people she hired to paint her house didn't finish the job and what has... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, August 15 2017 Aug 15, 2017 Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:04:00 PM CDT August 15, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim is happy she called 2 On Your Side. Judy Brouillette's mobile home was stuck... More >>
1 year ago Friday, July 28 2017 Jul 28, 2017 Friday, July 28, 2017 5:18:00 PM CDT July 28, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Not every golfer hits their shot straight down the middle. After a golf ball broke one man's... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, July 27 2017 Jul 27, 2017 Thursday, July 27, 2017 5:27:00 PM CDT July 27, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A family hired a contractor who knocked on their door a few weeks after the August flood.... More >>
1 year ago Monday, July 24 2017 Jul 24, 2017 Monday, July 24, 2017 5:22:00 PM CDT July 24, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The aftermath of a car accident that happened three months ago, is a constant reminder for one... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, July 20 2017 Jul 20, 2017 Thursday, July 20, 2017 5:07:00 PM CDT July 20, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman who emailed 2 On Your Side is thankful she did. A serious mix-up at the... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, July 19 2017 Jul 19, 2017 Wednesday, July 19, 2017 5:14:00 PM CDT July 19, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Dozens of shopping carts from stores on College Drive in Baton Rouge are not staying in the... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, July 18 2017 Jul 18, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017 4:50:00 PM CDT July 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The homes in the River Oaks neighborhood in Baton Rouge experience sewage back-up every time it... More >>
1 year ago Monday, July 17 2017 Jul 17, 2017 Monday, July 17, 2017 6:53:00 PM CDT July 17, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who was worried she'd be kicked out of her FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit if she... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, July 05 2017 Jul 5, 2017 Wednesday, July 05, 2017 5:17:00 PM CDT July 05, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says Entergy transmission lines next to her home are the source of her flood issues.... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 30 2017 Jun 30, 2017 Friday, June 30, 2017 5:06:00 PM CDT June 30, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The Livingston Parish Department of Public Works is investigating a culvert issue following a 2 On Your... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 29 2017 Jun 29, 2017 Thursday, June 29, 2017 4:56:00 PM CDT June 29, 2017 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A homeowner with a home warranty can't seem to get her air conditioner fixed. It's been out for... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 28 2017 Jun 28, 2017 Wednesday, June 28, 2017 5:26:00 PM CDT June 28, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who's living in a FEMA Manufactured Housing Unit is facing eviction if she does not... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, June 27 2017 Jun 27, 2017 Tuesday, June 27, 2017 4:59:00 PM CDT June 27, 2017 in News
CENTRAL - Ten months after the August 2016 flood, Louisiana residents are still fighting with mortgage companies for their insurance... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 26 2017 Jun 26, 2017 Monday, June 26, 2017 6:21:00 PM CDT June 26, 2017 in News
SEATTLE – Many people have an Amazon credit that is about to expire and they don't even know it! ... More >>
1 year ago Saturday, June 24 2017 Jun 24, 2017 Saturday, June 24, 2017 8:51:27 AM CDT June 24, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Another blow for a flood victim who's manufactured housing unit has become a haven for mold. ... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 23 2017 Jun 23, 2017 Friday, June 23, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT June 23, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Church-goers are not happy about a valve that's releasing a stinky odor into the air and permeating... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 22 2017 Jun 22, 2017 Thursday, June 22, 2017 5:53:00 PM CDT June 22, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A couple in Central has been trying for years to have a child. Their story does not... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, June 20 2017 Jun 20, 2017 Tuesday, June 20, 2017 10:47:00 AM CDT June 20, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A man says he got the run-around from a cable installation company, after a technician put a... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 19 2017 Jun 19, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017 10:35:00 PM CDT June 19, 2017 in News
ZACHARY - Bright orange signs emblazoned with the word "BUMP" are posted near streets and through neighborhoods in Zachary as... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 16 2017 Jun 16, 2017 Friday, June 16, 2017 5:19:00 PM CDT June 16, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A contractor facing fraud charges in three parishes went before the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 14 2017 Jun 14, 2017 Wednesday, June 14, 2017 10:59:16 PM CDT June 14, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - As Baton Rouge, Ascension and Livingston Parish residents open their water bills this month, some may notice... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 12 2017 Jun 12, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017 5:41:00 PM CDT June 12, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A 30 minute trip to the Mall of Louisiana turned into the most expensive shopping experience of... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 09 2017 Jun 9, 2017 Friday, June 09, 2017 10:56:57 PM CDT June 09, 2017 in News
GEISMAR - Water was found in gasoline at Dutchtown Tiger Mart on Highway 73 in Geismar. The Department of Agriculture... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 07 2017 Jun 7, 2017 Wednesday, June 07, 2017 5:50:00 PM CDT June 07, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Ditches holding debris and water-blocking culverts are creating problems for drivers and residents. It's about a... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 05 2017 Jun 5, 2017 Monday, June 05, 2017 11:02:00 PM CDT June 05, 2017 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Fed up with neighbors dumping sewage on his property, a man built a dam to block off... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 02 2017 Jun 2, 2017 Friday, June 02, 2017 7:30:35 PM CDT June 02, 2017 in News
PLAQUEMINE - For weeks a Plaquemine woman has been dealing with a neighbor's well that's flooding her backyard. Gilda... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 01 2017 Jun 1, 2017 Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:15:00 PM CDT June 01, 2017 in News
PLAQUEMINE - A man says a ditch that won't drain is overflowing every time it rains. Resident Gegory Pierre... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 31 2017 May 31, 2017 Wednesday, May 31, 2017 9:21:00 PM CDT May 31, 2017 in News
BAKER - Maintenance equipment stored at a BREC park is concerning nearby residents. The equipment, consists of lawnmower parts, trailers,... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 30 2017 May 30, 2017 Tuesday, May 30, 2017 10:55:00 PM CDT May 30, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Paramedics working countless hours in the community are recognized for doing what they do best. This week... More >>
1 year ago Friday, May 26 2017 May 26, 2017 Friday, May 26, 2017 5:09:00 PM CDT May 26, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - The sound of heavy machinery working next to Stephenie Horton's home this morning was music to her... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, May 25 2017 May 25, 2017 Thursday, May 25, 2017 11:01:54 PM CDT May 25, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Residents along Wartelle Ave. at Tara Blvd are concerned over how a Baton Rouge sewer project is... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 24 2017 May 24, 2017 Wednesday, May 24, 2017 11:05:43 PM CDT May 24, 2017 in News
NEW ROADS - Following a 2 On Your Side report, a crew made the first steps to remove a barge... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 23 2017 May 23, 2017 Tuesday, May 23, 2017 10:56:00 PM CDT May 23, 2017 in News

News tip form