Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Metro Council seats will be decided in a runoff

7 years 7 months 2 weeks ago Tuesday, November 08 2016 Nov 8, 2016 November 08, 2016 11:28 PM November 08, 2016 in News
Source: WBRZ

BATON ROUGE - Runoff elections will be needed to determine final decisions in the East Baton Rouge Parish Metro Council election.

Incumbents Chandler Loupe, Scott Wilson and Buddy Amoroso won enough votes to miss a runoff and were elected back to the council. Newcomer Matt Watson was elected to the council without a runoff, replacing Ryan Heck who did not run for re-election to the council.

Incumbents Chauna Banks, Tara Wicker, Erika Green and LaMont Cole will enter a runoff.  Banks faces former counciman Bones Addison, Wicker faces Lorri Burgess, Green faces Linda Dewey and Cole faces Elvin Sterling, Jr.  Sterling garnered 2,487 votes compared to Hazel Bradley-Averhart who received 2,466.  Both Sterling and Bradley-Averhart won 20% of the vote compared to Cole's 37%.

Newcomers Dwight Hudson faces Kenneth Perret in a runoff for the District 9 seat.  School board member Barbara Freiberg faces Ree Williams Carey in a runoff for District 12.

The runoff election is December 10th.

A runoff will be needed to decide the city's next mayor.  Bodi White faces Sharon Weston Broome in the mayoral runoff. Click HERE to read more about the mayoral runoff. 

Click HERE for all Election Day results. 


Follow the publisher of this post on Twitter: @treyschmaltz 

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days