66°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Troubled Tigerland apartments fail federal inspection; tenants receiving assistance asked to move

BATON ROUGE - An apartment complex in Tigerland already had the attention of the district attorney, and now it has the attention of the local managers for the federal Section 8 program.

It was just last week when Monika Sandlin told 2 On Your Side that she felt stuck in her situation because of the limited number of apartment complexes that accept vouchers.

"Even Section 8 doesn't think this place is safe anymore," Sandlin said.

Following a WBRZ report, the Housing Authority performed an inspection at Tiger Plaza and failed the property. The failed inspection means that Sandlin and other Section 8 tenants living there have to find a new place to live.

The conditions at Tiger Plaza have deteriorated. Sandlin showed WBRZ the broken windows, doors that have been kicked in, trash and large potholes. The unit next to hers is not secure.

"This is one of the two apartments who have people who are squatting in it," Sandlin said. "This has been open like this since I left this morning at 7 o'clock."

In 2021, police responded to more than 400 calls at Tiger Plaza. Sandlin moved in last June and said she doesn't feel safe living there.

District Attorney Hillar Moore said he has spoken with the owners who plan to address the situation. Moore said he was impressed with their knowledge of the problems.

"We're hopeful that they'll turn it around," he said.

Sandlin said she's been looking for a new place to live because she has to move out soon. She'll keep her Section 8 voucher but will need to come up with the security deposit on her own.

"I stumbled upon an apartment that I'm trying to get the deposit and stuff together for. If I can get everything together in time it'll be a better place," said Sandlin.

Hopefully, it's one where she'll feel safer.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - An apartment complex in Tigerland already had the attention of the district attorney, and now it has... More >>
3 days ago Tuesday, November 22 2022 Nov 22, 2022 Tuesday, November 22, 2022 9:31:00 PM CST November 22, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - On the Dec. 10 ballot, residents living in Sherwood Forest will vote on its crime district renewal... More >>
4 days ago Monday, November 21 2022 Nov 21, 2022 Monday, November 21, 2022 9:39:00 PM CST November 21, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A CubeSmart storage facility that was burglarized last month has been revisited by thieves multiple times. ... More >>
1 week ago Friday, November 18 2022 Nov 18, 2022 Friday, November 18, 2022 6:41:00 PM CST November 18, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Every day the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles receives an overwhelming number of phone calls. Some of... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, November 16 2022 Nov 16, 2022 Wednesday, November 16, 2022 7:50:00 PM CST November 16, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some apartments in Tigerland have recently been on the district attorney's radar because they attract so much... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, November 15 2022 Nov 15, 2022 Tuesday, November 15, 2022 7:04:00 PM CST November 15, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighbor and a councilman are still at odds over property improvements completed without permits. Eugene Michelli... More >>
1 week ago Monday, November 14 2022 Nov 14, 2022 Monday, November 14, 2022 9:43:00 PM CST November 14, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Friday morning, veterans and active military walked in a ruck march around LSU's campus to honor all... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, November 11 2022 Nov 11, 2022 Friday, November 11, 2022 8:49:00 PM CST November 11, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - By 2027 there will be a new and improved interstate through Baton Rouge, but until then there... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, November 10 2022 Nov 10, 2022 Thursday, November 10, 2022 10:53:00 AM CST November 10, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Before the Stormwater Utility Fee was introduced to the public, the city-parish was trying to figure out... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, November 03 2022 Nov 3, 2022 Thursday, November 03, 2022 10:38:00 PM CDT November 03, 2022 in News
BAKER - A barn rehab project has been left sitting incomplete for a year. Sarah Burks says she feels cheated... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, November 01 2022 Nov 1, 2022 Tuesday, November 01, 2022 9:05:00 PM CDT November 01, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A post office was closed after workers reported getting sick from a strange odor coming from a... More >>
3 weeks ago Monday, October 31 2022 Oct 31, 2022 Monday, October 31, 2022 8:25:00 PM CDT October 31, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A day after some parents told 2 On Your Side they have been running into trouble with... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, October 28 2022 Oct 28, 2022 Friday, October 28, 2022 9:06:00 PM CDT October 28, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some parents who have relied on the Louisiana Department of Education's Child Care Assistance Program tell 2... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, October 27 2022 Oct 27, 2022 Thursday, October 27, 2022 8:59:00 PM CDT October 27, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Just when we all thought that the city was ready to move on, the mayor's office is... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 25 2022 Oct 25, 2022 Tuesday, October 25, 2022 6:21:00 PM CDT October 25, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - The streets in Azalea Lakes are spotted with what looks like oil spots. Barry Boudreaux pointed them... More >>
1 month ago Monday, October 24 2022 Oct 24, 2022 Monday, October 24, 2022 7:04:00 PM CDT October 24, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some people are fed up with wreck after wreck at an intersection near several schools in old... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 21 2022 Oct 21, 2022 Friday, October 21, 2022 10:51:00 PM CDT October 21, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - At least a dozen storage units have been burglarized over the past week at the CubeSmart Self... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 14 2022 Oct 14, 2022 Friday, October 14, 2022 8:42:00 PM CDT October 14, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - The renter of a storage unit says rats destroyed his belongings, but the owner of the storage... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, October 12 2022 Oct 12, 2022 Wednesday, October 12, 2022 9:42:00 PM CDT October 12, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - One LSU student says she is tired of spending her time and energy making sure she's living... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 11 2022 Oct 11, 2022 Tuesday, October 11, 2022 8:06:00 PM CDT October 11, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - One man says he's on the hook for car repair costs even though that car was stolen... More >>
1 month ago Monday, October 10 2022 Oct 10, 2022 Monday, October 10, 2022 7:28:00 PM CDT October 10, 2022 in News
ASCENSION PARISH – People living in parts of Ascension Parish are still having issues with red dust that blows around... More >>
1 month ago Monday, October 10 2022 Oct 10, 2022 Monday, October 10, 2022 12:52:00 PM CDT October 10, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A day after the mayor's office introduced a proposal for a Stormwater Utility Fee, there are a... More >>
1 month ago Friday, October 07 2022 Oct 7, 2022 Friday, October 07, 2022 7:31:00 PM CDT October 07, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - The mayor's office released a detailed proposal Thursday laying out an updated drainage plan that would impose... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 06 2022 Oct 6, 2022 Thursday, October 06, 2022 10:37:00 AM CDT October 06, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Thousands of new homes are coming to Livingston Parish, passed under old ordinances. Now that all these... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 04 2022 Oct 4, 2022 Tuesday, October 04, 2022 7:35:00 PM CDT October 04, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana co-op crews are assisting other co-ops in Florida. Fifteen DEMCO team members left late last week... More >>
1 month ago Monday, October 03 2022 Oct 3, 2022 Monday, October 03, 2022 7:18:00 PM CDT October 03, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Changes are coming to the parish's Unified Development Code, but some worry they're not coming fast enough,... More >>
1 month ago Friday, September 30 2022 Sep 30, 2022 Friday, September 30, 2022 7:18:00 PM CDT September 30, 2022 in News
ADDIS - A month ago, 2 On Your Side shared a story about a woman who filled her car up... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, September 29 2022 Sep 29, 2022 Thursday, September 29, 2022 8:45:00 PM CDT September 29, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A U.S. Army Veteran reached out to 2 On Your Side after he says he has been... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, September 28 2022 Sep 28, 2022 Wednesday, September 28, 2022 7:22:00 PM CDT September 28, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City Parish plans to replace a bridge off of O'Neal Lane and will need to borrow... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, September 27 2022 Sep 27, 2022 Tuesday, September 27, 2022 7:08:00 PM CDT September 27, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - An area along Burbank Drive in Baton Rouge continues to be developed even though there are flooding... More >>
1 month ago Monday, September 26 2022 Sep 26, 2022 Monday, September 26, 2022 9:34:00 PM CDT September 26, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - In March, 2 On Your Side reported on multiple storm drain covers that were broken or missing... More >>
2 months ago Friday, September 23 2022 Sep 23, 2022 Friday, September 23, 2022 10:03:00 PM CDT September 23, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - People living on Ranchwood Drive are putting up with some major issues. Their yards back up to... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 22 2022 Sep 22, 2022 Thursday, September 22, 2022 7:04:00 PM CDT September 22, 2022 in News
PORT ALLEN - A man says his property is sinking and he's having trouble flushing his toilet. Edwin Harris thinks... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, September 21 2022 Sep 21, 2022 Wednesday, September 21, 2022 9:45:00 PM CDT September 21, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man has been trying to get a light pole fixed in front of his house ever... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, September 20 2022 Sep 20, 2022 Tuesday, September 20, 2022 9:44:00 PM CDT September 20, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A pump station in a Livingston Parish neighborhood has been broken for weeks. At times, sewage overflows... More >>
2 months ago Monday, September 19 2022 Sep 19, 2022 Monday, September 19, 2022 9:55:00 PM CDT September 19, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Dozens of people have reached out wanting to help Roy Johnson, the man whose stolen car was... More >>
2 months ago Friday, September 16 2022 Sep 16, 2022 Friday, September 16, 2022 7:22:00 PM CDT September 16, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Roy Johnson needs his car back. He's on oxygen 24 hours a day and uses that vehicle... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 15 2022 Sep 15, 2022 Thursday, September 15, 2022 2:34:00 PM CDT September 15, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man says his rare car was damaged in an unmarked construction zone that wasn't permitted. ... More >>
2 months ago Friday, September 02 2022 Sep 2, 2022 Friday, September 02, 2022 10:06:00 PM CDT September 02, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman is trying to sort out what happened to her car after she took it to... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, September 01 2022 Sep 1, 2022 Thursday, September 01, 2022 7:45:00 PM CDT September 01, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish Neighborhood Revitalization Crew has been working to help remove blight from Baton Rouge. So... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, August 30 2022 Aug 30, 2022 Tuesday, August 30, 2022 9:43:00 PM CDT August 30, 2022 in News
PLAQUEMINE - In June, a woman pulled up to the pump to fuel up her car, and unbeknownst to her,... More >>
2 months ago Monday, August 29 2022 Aug 29, 2022 Monday, August 29, 2022 9:32:00 PM CDT August 29, 2022 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - The ducks are having a great time in one Denham Springs neighborhood where they enjoy swimming in... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 26 2022 Aug 26, 2022 Friday, August 26, 2022 9:39:00 PM CDT August 26, 2022 in News
MAUREPAS - A family has a lot of questions after their toddler left the dentist with a mouth full of... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 26 2022 Aug 26, 2022 Friday, August 26, 2022 5:44:00 PM CDT August 26, 2022 in News
JARREAU - About 60 homes on Pecan Island in Jarreau are using a gravel road to access their neighborhood while... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, August 23 2022 Aug 23, 2022 Tuesday, August 23, 2022 7:50:00 PM CDT August 23, 2022 in News
FRANKLIN - A termite company has been found grossly negligent when it came to treating a home that was eaten... More >>
3 months ago Monday, August 22 2022 Aug 22, 2022 Monday, August 22, 2022 7:31:00 PM CDT August 22, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman is being forced to vacate her rental home, but she tells 2 On Your Side... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 19 2022 Aug 19, 2022 Friday, August 19, 2022 8:11:00 PM CDT August 19, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - People will soon notice solar-powered parking kiosks throughout the downtown area, replacing the old coin-operated meters. ... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, August 17 2022 Aug 17, 2022 Wednesday, August 17, 2022 5:52:00 PM CDT August 17, 2022 in News
CENTRAL - There's a big drainage project happening in the City of Central. Compliance EnviroSystems, LLC has been contracted to... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, August 16 2022 Aug 16, 2022 Tuesday, August 16, 2022 7:00:00 PM CDT August 16, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Imagine designing and building your custom home, moving in, and then learning that your garage is too... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, August 16 2022 Aug 16, 2022 Tuesday, August 16, 2022 9:12:00 AM CDT August 16, 2022 in News
BATON ROUGE - Several people have contacted 2 On Your Side this year frustrated because they cannot get through to... More >>
3 months ago Friday, August 12 2022 Aug 12, 2022 Friday, August 12, 2022 8:46:00 PM CDT August 12, 2022 in News

News tip form