Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to three scientists for their cosmic discoveries

4 years 1 month 3 weeks ago Tuesday, October 08 2019 Oct 8, 2019 October 08, 2019 5:32 AM October 08, 2019 in News
Source: CNN
Photo: @NobelPrize

STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN - The Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three scientists for their success in expanding our understanding of the universe: James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz.

The awards were officially presented on Tuesday, during a ceremony in Stockholm. Peebles was awarded the prize for "theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology." Mayor and Queloz won for "the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star."

The Nobel committee took to social media to praise the scientists, saying of their work, "The discoveries have forever changed our conceptions of the world." 

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days