36°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "A Bridge, Your Wine and Bourbon..."
Pat Shingleton: "Weather Readings, Leaf and Time Changes"
Pat Shingleton: "A Mustard Plaster and Hard Cider..."
Imagine 30 to 35 mph winds swaying, buckling and toppling the Sunshine Bridge... On November 8, 1940, residents of Tacoma, WA were stunned as to what occurred the day before.... More >>
3 days ago Friday, November 08 2019 Nov 8, 2019 Friday, November 08, 2019 5:58:30 PM CST November 08, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Weather observations probably first occurred when man first stomped around on the earth. The Babylonians recorded wind directions in 900 B.C.E. on an eight point compass. In India and Greece,... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, October 31 2019 Oct 31, 2019 Thursday, October 31, 2019 10:25:49 PM CDT October 31, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
My grandfather believed that weather patterns caused colds and placed a bowl of apples, onions, and garlic-laced with whiskey-on his nightstand when he experienced chest congestion. Years ago I shared... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, October 29 2019 Oct 29, 2019 Tuesday, October 29, 2019 10:52:03 PM CDT October 29, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
The Pittsburgh Post Gazette reported recently on an event that happened this date in 1948 in Donora, Pennsylvania. Pittsburgh was... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 10 2019 Oct 10, 2019 Thursday, October 10, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT October 10, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
A hoedown is a dance or traditional fiddle tunes. Octobers in high school included the Varsity “R” Hoedown, a fundraiser... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, October 03 2019 Oct 3, 2019 Thursday, October 03, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT October 03, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Whether it’s the stock market or weather, predictions are made every day based upon data and trends. In 1868,... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, October 02 2019 Oct 2, 2019 Wednesday, October 02, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT October 02, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
It’s Fall and possibly a week from today, we may have a taste of Autumn. This item has been mentioned... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, October 01 2019 Oct 1, 2019 Tuesday, October 01, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT October 01, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
The world’s highest peak, outside of Asia’s Himalayas, is Aconcagua, located 100 miles east of the Pacific Ocean in Argentina.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, September 27 2019 Sep 27, 2019 Friday, September 27, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT September 27, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days