52°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Project Seal and Canadian Geese..."
Pat Shingleton: "The Driest Dessert, Blizzards and Icing..."
Pat Shingleton: "The Chinook and Molasses in Boston..."
“Project Seal” was a top-secret operation between the United States and New Zealand. The Telegraph reports that filmmaker Ray Waru uncovered the secret operation while researching buried military files in... More >>
1 day ago Tuesday, January 15 2019 Jan 15, 2019 Tuesday, January 15, 2019 10:31:15 PM CST January 15, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
The Atacama Desert is located in the upper reaches of Chile in South America, extending from the Peruvian border to the town of Copiapo. To the west is the Pacific... More >>
2 days ago Monday, January 14 2019 Jan 14, 2019 Monday, January 14, 2019 9:40:37 PM CST January 14, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
A dry, warm , wind that descends from mountains is the "Chinook," also known as the "snow eater." Once this wind-burst arrives, temperatures rise as much as 60 degrees in... More >>
6 days ago Thursday, January 10 2019 Jan 10, 2019 Thursday, January 10, 2019 9:50:49 PM CST January 10, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
One of the "best" snow events in our area occurred on this date in 2008 as snowfall depths ranged from... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, December 12 2018 Dec 12, 2018 Wednesday, December 12, 2018 9:00:00 AM CST December 12, 2018 in Pat Shingleton Column
The comic strip “Peanuts” would regularly depict a variety of weather scenes: Snoopy sunbathing atop his box, Lucy carrying an... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, December 11 2018 Dec 11, 2018 Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:00:00 AM CST December 11, 2018 in Pat Shingleton Column
One of the many hazards included in the construction of the transcontinental railroad was snow. Massive amounts of snow from... More >>
1 month ago Friday, December 07 2018 Dec 7, 2018 Friday, December 07, 2018 9:00:00 AM CST December 07, 2018 in Pat Shingleton Column
Today is the Feast of St. Nicholas and since the fifth century it has been celebrated on this date. Nicholas... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, December 06 2018 Dec 6, 2018 Thursday, December 06, 2018 9:00:00 AM CST December 06, 2018 in Pat Shingleton Column
"Poor Richard's Almanac" included an article in 1753 entitled "How to Secure Houses from Lightning." An inventor explained the success... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, December 04 2018 Dec 4, 2018 Tuesday, December 04, 2018 9:00:00 AM CST December 04, 2018 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days