57°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "The First Predictions and Pig Weed..."
Pat Shingleton: "Under Pressure and Stinky Cheese..."
During idle time as an ambulance driver in World War I, Lewis Richardson would perform numerical weather experiments; cataloging sky conditions, integrating numerical calculations into his journal. His calculations by... More >>
1 day ago Monday, October 16 2017 Oct 16, 2017 Monday, October 16, 2017 10:05:38 PM CDT October 16, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Atmospheric pressure is the force exerted on the surface from the weight of air above the surface. We wouldn't know this if it weren't for events that took place at... More >>
5 days ago Thursday, October 12 2017 Oct 12, 2017 Thursday, October 12, 2017 9:57:48 PM CDT October 12, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Monday morning our overnight low was recorded at 74 degrees, this tied the record low for the warmest morning dating back to 1966. Tuesday morning's 75 degree reading once again... More >>
6 days ago Wednesday, October 11 2017 Oct 11, 2017 Wednesday, October 11, 2017 9:47:19 PM CDT October 11, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Without charts, the only means to determine a sailor or explorer's location was celestial navigation. The captain's chart was little... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, September 28 2017 Sep 28, 2017 Thursday, September 28, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT September 28, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
As Maria skirts north of Bermuda, it reminded me of another familiar storm. On September 26, 1987, I was in... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, September 27 2017 Sep 27, 2017 Wednesday, September 27, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT September 27, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
The world’s highest peak, outside of Asia’s Himalayas, is Aconcagua, located 100 miles east of the Pacific Ocean in Argentina.... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, September 26 2017 Sep 26, 2017 Tuesday, September 26, 2017 4:15:00 AM CDT September 26, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Years ago, I visited with Anne Jones. Their plantation, Blairstown, has been in the family for years, once thriving with... More >>
3 weeks ago Saturday, September 23 2017 Sep 23, 2017 Saturday, September 23, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT September 23, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
This afternoon at 3:02, the Sun will cross the equator initiating the autumnal equinox. Before the designation of seasons some... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, September 22 2017 Sep 22, 2017 Friday, September 22, 2017 4:15:00 AM CDT September 22, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days