78°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Heat Bursts and Mr. Cool..."
Pat Shingleton: "The Famous Stick and Red Sky..."
Following the Johnstown Pennsylvania Flood of 1889, a flood control system was constructed in the Little Conemaugh Valley to withstand a 100 year flood. Experts declared that the city of... More >>
2 days ago Thursday, July 18 2019 Jul 18, 2019 Thursday, July 18, 2019 11:03:55 PM CDT July 18, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Since early June we have experienced four episodes of Heat Advisories. In Portugal on July 6, 1949, meteorological observers reported a temperature increase from 100 to 158 degrees in two... More >>
4 days ago Tuesday, July 16 2019 Jul 16, 2019 Tuesday, July 16, 2019 11:11:03 PM CDT July 16, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
When Frank Epperson was 11 years old he took a wooden stir stick and placed it in a fruit flavored soda pop outside on his porch one cold, wintry New... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, July 09 2019 Jul 9, 2019 Tuesday, July 09, 2019 10:57:40 PM CDT July 09, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
The first drive-in theater in McComb, MS, was developed by T.G.”Teddy” Solomon. June 23rd marks the anniversary of the first... More >>
4 weeks ago Saturday, June 22 2019 Jun 22, 2019 Saturday, June 22, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 22, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Springtime has been with us for 93 days and even though today is a season-shift, we’ve been experiencing summer for... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, June 21 2019 Jun 21, 2019 Friday, June 21, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 21, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
A species of monkey, discovered and identified eleven years ago resides in Northern Myanmar- formerly Burma. This particular species would... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 20 2019 Jun 20, 2019 Thursday, June 20, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 20, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Nature provided the black-tailed jackrabbit with a means of keeping cool. Easily identified by its oversize ears, these trademark appendages... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, June 19 2019 Jun 19, 2019 Wednesday, June 19, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 19, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
The Centre for Ecology and Hydroplogy in Wallingford, England noted years ago that aerosols that include air pollution may be... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 18 2019 Jun 18, 2019 Tuesday, June 18, 2019 9:00:00 AM CDT June 18, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days