74°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Lighthouses and The Charter Oak"
Pat Shingleton: "The Term 'Hurakan' and Hurricane Expressions"
Louisiana boasts 14 lighthouses having the oldest dating back to 1839. August 3rd was the anniversary in 1789 when the First Congress federalized existing lighthouses. Built by the colonists, funds... More >>
1 day ago Friday, August 18 2017 Aug 18, 2017 Friday, August 18, 2017 10:26:59 PM CDT August 18, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Our grandfather, Bert Price, lived with us. A man of simple means, he was intrigued with farm equipment however never desired to obtain a driver’s license. He did the majority... More >>
2 days ago Thursday, August 17 2017 Aug 17, 2017 Thursday, August 17, 2017 10:22:50 PM CDT August 17, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
When the Spanish first explored the Americas, they too experienced ferocious storms and adopted the term that the natives also used, Hurakan. They believed it represented the Great Spirit who... More >>
3 days ago Wednesday, August 16 2017 Aug 16, 2017 Wednesday, August 16, 2017 10:25:52 PM CDT August 16, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Three years ago on this date, The Daily Telegraph reported that the bodies of more than 80 soldiers from World... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, July 26 2017 Jul 26, 2017 Wednesday, July 26, 2017 9:10:00 AM CDT July 26, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Canis Major or Sirius was designated the “Dog Star” by ancient astronomers. Romans believed that because Sirius rose before or... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, July 25 2017 Jul 25, 2017 Tuesday, July 25, 2017 9:10:00 AM CDT July 25, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
On July 23, 1893, Father Benito Vines died in Havana, Cuba. Father Vines is regarded as the preeminent hurricane scholar... More >>
4 weeks ago Saturday, July 22 2017 Jul 22, 2017 Saturday, July 22, 2017 9:10:00 AM CDT July 22, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Following the Johnstown Pennsylvania Flood of 1889, a flood control system was constructed in the Little Conemaugh Valley. The dams... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, July 21 2017 Jul 21, 2017 Friday, July 21, 2017 9:15:00 AM CDT July 21, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
When Frank Epperson was 11, he took a wooden stir stick, placed it in soda pop and placed it outside... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, July 20 2017 Jul 20, 2017 Thursday, July 20, 2017 9:15:00 AM CDT July 20, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days