86°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Barn Raising and Two Death Valleys"
Before we creep into the peppery weather patterns of late May and early June, here’s a suggestion for the teachers. It’s a great time of the year to investigate the... More >>
13 hours ago April 27, 2017 Apr 27, 2017 Thursday, April 27 2017 Thursday, April 27, 2017 11:01:38 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
In 1942 Nazi scientists built a weather station on the remote Arctic Island of Alexandra Land. The tactical base was known as "Treasure Island" and was long thought to be... More >>
1 day ago April 26, 2017 Apr 26, 2017 Wednesday, April 26 2017 Wednesday, April 26, 2017 10:45:46 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
In the 18th and 19th centuries a barn was the first, largest and most costly structure needed for the family and a “barn raising” was an event that brought neighbors... More >>
2 days ago April 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017 Tuesday, April 25 2017 Tuesday, April 25, 2017 10:38:18 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
On this date in 1871, renowned French scientist Camille Flammarion was writing L’Atmosphere when a strong wind gust blew open... More >>
2 weeks ago April 13, 2017 Apr 13, 2017 Thursday, April 13 2017 Thursday, April 13, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
I've referenced Western Pennsylvania in numerous columns but Baton Rouge is home and here's one of the explanations. A talent... More >>
2 weeks ago April 11, 2017 Apr 11, 2017 Tuesday, April 11 2017 Tuesday, April 11, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
An archived Weatherwise magazine report noted that “wind set down” occurs when strong winds blow over water for an extended... More >>
3 weeks ago April 07, 2017 Apr 7, 2017 Friday, April 07 2017 Friday, April 07, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
I have mentioned in previous columns aromas and odors due to weather conditions. Following a frontal passage, the northwest wind... More >>
3 weeks ago April 06, 2017 Apr 6, 2017 Thursday, April 06 2017 Thursday, April 06, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
Salt farming depends on the weather and for French artisan farmers; it’s a labor of love. The wind and the... More >>
3 weeks ago April 05, 2017 Apr 5, 2017 Wednesday, April 05 2017 Wednesday, April 05, 2017 4:00:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days