How to mark yourself SAFE on Facebook
BATON ROUGE - Facebook users living in areas affected by the severe flooding can now let their loved ones know that they are safe.
The feature is only activated in serious events with possible loss of life. The safety check was activated during the Paris terror attacks as well as the Orlando nightclub massacre.
The safety check for the "Flooding in Louisiana" was activated Monday. Users living in the affected area can update their friends by clicking the "I'm Safe" button on the web page. After pushing the button, Facebook will notify the user's friends with a notification and timeline post that the user is safe.
The safety check also shows users a checklist of friends that may also be affected by the flooding. Users can see others who have marked themselves safe as well as ask other users if they are safe.
With thousands of people in shelters, some residents are left wondering where members of their family are and hoping they're safe.
Due to the large number of requests we're receiving on social media, we've decided to compile missing persons requests online. You can find that list HERE.