79°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Health

Officials see bright future for Medicaid expansion
Study: Marijuana could help Alzheimers patients
ORLANDO, Fla. - Florida's governor says the state has concluded that four mysterious Zika infections likely came from mosquitoes in the Miami area. Gov. Rick Scott said Friday that... More >>
1 day ago July 29, 2016 Jul 29, 2016 Friday, July 29 2016 Friday, July 29, 2016 8:50:03 AM CDT in Health
BATON ROUGE - The state’s expanded Medicaid program, dubbed Healthy Louisiana, is expected by officials to become the blueprint for expansion of the program across the country. Health Secretary... More >>
2 days ago July 28, 2016 Jul 28, 2016 Thursday, July 28 2016 Thursday, July 28, 2016 9:48:10 AM CDT in Health
BATON ROUGE - The number of Zika virus cases in Louisiana is growing with health officials reporting five new cases in the state. All of the people infected reported... More >>
3 days ago July 27, 2016 Jul 27, 2016 Wednesday, July 27 2016 Wednesday, July 27, 2016 3:46:48 PM CDT in Health
Could medical marijuana treat Alzheimer’s patients? One recent study found THC, the psychoactive ingredient in cannabis, stimulates the removal of toxic plaque in the brain, a common feature of the... More >>
4 days ago July 26, 2016 Jul 26, 2016 Tuesday, July 26 2016 Tuesday, July 26, 2016 11:54:35 AM CDT in Health

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - More than 250,000 people have been enrolled in Louisiana's Medicaid expansion program, which began offering health insurance... More >>
2 weeks ago July 16, 2016 Jul 16, 2016 Saturday, July 16 2016 Saturday, July 16, 2016 2:00:44 PM CDT in Health
NEW YOR - A New York City woman has infected her male partner with Zika virus through sex, the first... More >>
2 weeks ago July 15, 2016 Jul 15, 2016 Friday, July 15 2016 Friday, July 15, 2016 10:31:40 AM CDT in Health
BATON ROUGE - The Department of Health announced Thursday morning that it is suspending all services at the East Baton... More >>
3 weeks ago July 07, 2016 Jul 7, 2016 Thursday, July 07 2016 Thursday, July 07, 2016 11:13:55 AM CDT in Health
BATON ROUGE - A new study has found that pasta does not contribute to obesity. In fact, researchers found the... More >>
3 weeks ago July 05, 2016 Jul 5, 2016 Tuesday, July 05 2016 Tuesday, July 05, 2016 3:46:00 PM CDT in Health
WASHINGTON - A slowly dissolving medical implant for treating clogged arteries has won approval from the Food and Drug Administration.... More >>
3 weeks ago July 05, 2016 Jul 5, 2016 Tuesday, July 05 2016 Tuesday, July 05, 2016 10:37:54 AM CDT in Health
BATON ROUGE - About 10 days into summer and Baton Rouge EMS says it's seeing an increase in heat-related calls.... More >>
4 weeks ago June 30, 2016 Jun 30, 2016 Thursday, June 30 2016 Thursday, June 30, 2016 11:09:28 PM CDT in News
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana is becoming the first state in the Republican-dominated Deep South to expand its Medicaid program. More... More >>
1 month ago June 30, 2016 Jun 30, 2016 Thursday, June 30 2016 Thursday, June 30, 2016 9:26:12 AM CDT in News
WASHINGTON - Your mother always told you not to eat cookie dough because you "could get worms," but the federal... More >>
1 month ago June 30, 2016 Jun 30, 2016 Thursday, June 30 2016 Thursday, June 30, 2016 6:11:00 AM CDT in Health
HOUSTON - Public health officials in Texas have spent months preparing for what they are certain will be at least... More >>
1 month ago June 29, 2016 Jun 29, 2016 Wednesday, June 29 2016 Wednesday, June 29, 2016 12:12:50 PM CDT in News
WASHINGTON - An experimental vaccine for the Zika virus is due to begin human testing in coming weeks, after getting... More >>
1 month ago June 20, 2016 Jun 20, 2016 Monday, June 20 2016 Monday, June 20, 2016 10:05:10 AM CDT in Health
BATON ROUGE - Chances are you have forgotten something in your life, whether that be keys, your wallet or an... More >>
1 month ago June 08, 2016 Jun 8, 2016 Wednesday, June 08 2016 Wednesday, June 08, 2016 11:33:00 PM CDT in News
Various Nature Made dietary supplements have been voluntarily recalled "due to possible Salmonella or Staphylococcus aureus contamination," manufacturer Pharmavite LLC... More >>
1 month ago June 08, 2016 Jun 8, 2016 Wednesday, June 08 2016 Wednesday, June 08, 2016 5:40:00 PM CDT in Health

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.