Burn ban in place for all of La. starting Friday morning
BATON ROUGE - As of Friday morning, all private burning is illegal because of a cease and desist order issued by the State Fire Marshal.
Private burning shall only be allowed by permission of the local fire department or government, State Fire Marshal Butch Browning said in a joint news release with the Department of Agriculture and Forestry.
"This statewide burn ban is in response to extreme dry conditions, abnormal emergency responses, and adverse future weather predictions," Browning said in a prepared statement Thursday evening.
However, farmers are allowed to burn through the “generally accepted agriculture practice” as defined by the Louisiana Right to Farm Law.
Earlier Thursday, the WBRZ weather experts posted a WBRZ.com story reporting the area north of I-12 is in an extreme drought. This week, fire departments in Livingston and West Feliciana Parish ordered burn advisories. The ban issued by the State of Louisiana is a blanket one, covering all areas.
Watch WBRZ News 2 at 10:00 for more and Pat Shingleton's latest forecast.
Follow the publisher of this post on Twitter: @treyschmaltz
Desktop NewsClick to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
News 2 Geaux: Mother's boyfriend charged in toddler's death
Body of missing 2-year-old found in Mississippi; stepfather charged in her disappearance
Vacant home engulfed in flames in neighborhood off Highland Road 64/255
FEMA specialists on hand at hardware stores helping those in search of...
Body of missing 2-year-old from Baton Rouge found in Mississippi