Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

USDA: 35 Louisiana parishes natural disaster areas

3 years 11 months 3 weeks ago Thursday, July 23 2015 Jul 23, 2015 July 23, 2015 6:06 AM July 23, 2015 in News
Source: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

NEW ORLEANS- The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared a natural disaster involving 35 Louisiana parishes and eight counties in three neighboring states because of floods and storms from April 27 through June 26.
Farmers and ranchers can apply for low-interest loans to help them recover from severe damage.
USDA said Wednesday that 12 parishes are primary disaster areas, and the rest are adjacent.
The primary disaster area covers Avoyelles, Bossier, Caddo, East Feliciana, Franklin, Grant, Iberville, Natchitoches, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River and West Baton Rouge parishes.
Adjacent parishes are Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Bienville, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, De Soto, East Baton Rouge, Evangeline, Iberia, La Salle, Madison, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. Landry, St. Martin, Tensas, Vernon, Webster, West Feliciana and Winn.
Adjacent counties are in Arkansas, Mississippi, and Texas.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days