Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Tiger baseball players make record All-SEC Team

4 years 5 months 3 days ago Tuesday, May 19 2015 May 19, 2015 May 19, 2015 8:42 AM May 19, 2015 in LSU Sports
Source: WBRZ Sports 2
By: Michael Cauble

A record number five Tiger Baseball players made this years All-SEC postseason first team the conference announced on Monday.

In addition to the All-SEC honors, coach Paul Mainieri was named SEC Coach of the Year for the second time at LSU and LSU right-handed pitcher Alex Lange earned SEC Freshman of the Year.

LSU catcher Kade Scivicque, shortstop Alex Bregman, centerfielder Andrew Stevenson, third baseman Conner Hale and Lange were voted first-team All-SEC by the league coaches.

Red hot hitting Chris Chinea was the lone Tiger named to the 2015 second-team All-SEC squad.

LSU will open up play against either Kentucky or Auburn on Wednesday at 4:30 on the second day of play at the SEC baseball tournament.

2015 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
Pitcher of the Year: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
Freshman of the Year: Alex Lange, LSU
Coach of the Year: Paul Mainieri, LSU
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Seth Heck, Mississippi State

First-Team All-SEC
C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Kyle Martin, South Carolina
2B: JaVon Shelby, Kentucky
3B: Conner Hale, LSU
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Christin Stewart, Tennessee
DH/UT: Mitchell Nau, Texas A&M
SP: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
SP: Alex Lange, LSU
RP: Zach Jackson, Arkansas

Second-Team All-SEC Team
C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Chris Chinea, LSU
2B: Max Schrock, South Carolina
3B: Josh Tobias, Florida
SS: Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
OF: Kyle Barrett, Kentucky
OF: Nick Banks, Texas A&M
OF: Logan Taylor, Texas A&M
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Grayson Long, Texas A&M
SP: Cole Lipscomb, Auburn
*RP: Breckin Williams, Missouri
*RP: Wyatt Short, Ole Miss

Freshman All-SEC Team
C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Dalton Guthrie, Florida
3B: Will Toffey, Vanderbilt
SS: Ryan Gridley, Mississippi State
OF: Keegan McGovern, Georgia
OF: Trey Harris, Missouri
OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Tanner Houck, Missouri
SP: Keaton McKinney, Arkansas
RP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Defensive Team
C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Kyle Overstreet, Alabama
3B: Bobby Wernes, Arkansas
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Mark Laird, LSU
OF: Buddy Reed, Florida
P: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

* - Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.


More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days