Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Governor Edwards establishes flood recovery task force

6 years 4 months 2 weeks ago Wednesday, September 14 2016 Sep 14, 2016 September 14, 2016 8:52 AM September 14, 2016 in News
Source: WBRZ

BATON ROUGE – Governor John Bel Edwards has announced the establishment of a task force for flood recovery in the state.

The task force, Restore Louisiana Task Force, is charged with overseeing the state's recovery efforts from the recent historic flooding.

"The Restore Louisiana Task Force will help ensure that we are taking every necessary step as a state government to provide those critical resources to everyone in need and to make sound long-term investments in the recovery of our state," Edwards said.

The task force will establish and recommend state and local agencies with short and long-term priorities in developing plans for recovery and development such as housing, economic and workforce development, education, infrastructure, transportation, health care, fiscal stability, family services and agriculture.

It will also work to assist in finding sources of federal funding, along with establishing a legislative agenda for recovery efforts.

The appointments to the Restore Louisiana Task Force are as follows:

Adam Knapp, President & CEO, Baton Rouge Area Chamber

Jacqui Vines, Retired Executive, Cox Communications

Don Pierson, Secretary, Louisiana Economic Development

Michael Olivier, CEO, Committee of 100 for Economic Development, Inc.

Sean Reilly, CEO, Lamar Advertising

Michael Faulk, Superintendent, Central

Ollie Tyler, Mayor, City of Shreveport

Johnny Bradberry, Executive Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Affairs, Coastal Protection & Restoration Authority Board Chairman

Dr. Shawn Wilson, Secretary, Department of Transportation & Development

Dr. James A. Richardson, State Economist

Raymond Jetson, Board Member, Baton Rouge Area Foundation, President & CEO, MetroMorphosis
Ronnie Harris, Executive Director, Louisiana Municipal Association

Roland Dartez, Executive Director, Louisiana Police Jury Association

Jimmy Durbin, Former Mayor, City of Denham Springs

Joel Robideaux, Mayor-President, Lafayette Parish

Dave Norris, Mayor, City of West Monroe

Mike Strain, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture & Forestry

Edward "Ted" James, State Representative, District 101

Dan W. "Blade" Morrish, State Senator, District 25

J. Rogers Pope, State Representative, District 71

Robert E. Shadoin, State Representative, District 12

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days