Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Fournette misses out on Doak Walker Award

5 years 9 months 1 week ago Thursday, December 10 2015 Dec 10, 2015 December 10, 2015 9:59 PM December 10, 2015 in LSU Sports
Source: Associated Press

ATLANTA - Alabama's Derrick Henry has won the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back.

Henry was selected over LSU's Leonard Fournette and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey.

Henry helped Alabama earn a spot in the College Football Playoff. He rushed for 1,986 yards to break Herschel Walker's Southeastern Conference single-season record. He ran for 189 yards and was picked as MVP in Alabama's SEC championship game win over Florida.

The only other Alabama running back to win the award was Trent Richardson in 2011.

The award was presented on Thursday night, when Henry also was a finalist for the Maxwell Award as the college player of the year.

Melvin Gordon of Wisconsin was the 2014 winner.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days