Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Faneca, Mawae and Mitchell on NFL Hall of Fame list

6 years 10 months 3 weeks ago Thursday, September 17 2015 Sep 17, 2015 September 17, 2015 8:51 AM September 17, 2015 in Sports
Source: Associated Press

CANTON, Ohio - LSU's Alan Faneca, Kevin Mawae and Plaquemine's Brian Mitchell are among the 108 modern-day nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2016.

Faneca was an elite blocker who made six All-Pro teams at guard in his 13 seasons.

Mawae was a 16 year NFL veteran and eight time Pro Bowler. 

Mitchell was a running back and return specialist for the Washington Redskins and Philadelphia Eagles.  Mitchell was a three time All-Pro. 

Voting will culminate Feb. 6, the night before the Super Bowl.

Brett Favre is also a first time nominee, he retired as the NFL's leading career passer in most categories. Terrell Owens another first timer, was one of the league's most prolific and dynamic receivers for most of his 15 pro seasons. 

Other first-year-eligible nominees are safety Lawyer Milloy; running backs Brian Westbrook and Clinton Portis; place-kicker John Carney; and linebackers Keith Bulluck and Mike Vrabel.

Already nominated by the seniors committee are Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel. The 2016 contributor candidate is former 49ers owner Edward DeBartolo, Jr.

More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days