Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

Deputies honored for giving their all

4 years 8 months 2 weeks ago Wednesday, August 06 2014 Aug 6, 2014 August 06, 2014 8:12 AM August 06, 2014 in News
Source: WBRZ
By: Trey Schmaltz

BATON ROUGE- More than fifty current, retired and deceased members of the East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff's Office were honored in a special ceremony Tuesday night.

Four deputies were remembered posthumously for their service: Dustin Hamilton, Corey Gueho, Dana Scott and Gwendolyn Clayton. Hamilton died in a crash involving his cruiser in September.

Deputy Ricky Bond was honored for saving a life in a car crash recently. Bond noticed what he thought was a trash fire on the side of the road, stopped to investigate and realized it was a vehicle with a person inside. Bond rescued the person and was awarded the department's Medal of Valor.

"I'm not a hero," Bond told WBRZ News 2. "I was just doing my job. I just so happened to be at the right place at the right time."

Others honored:

Uniform Patrol Deputy of the Year
Dy. Perry Frith

Detective Deputy of the Year
Cpl. Jordan Webb

Special Operations Deputy of the Year
Dy. Cody Williams

Civil Division Employee of the Year
Emmette Hugh Cummins

Corrections Deputy of the Year
Dy. Dennis Reynolds

Reserve Deputy of the Year
Dy. Tim Lazaroe

Communications/CIU Deputy of the Year
Dy. Keyira Johnson

Uniform Patrol Supervisor of the Year
Cpl. Jason Guillot

Detective Supervisor of the Year
Lt. Lawrence Cavalier

Special Operations Supervisor of the Year
Cpl. Shannon Graham

Civil Division Supervisor of the Year
D'Ane Chambers

Corrections Supervisor of the Year
Sgt. Anthony Broadway

Administration/ Support Employee of the Year
Capt. Randy Aguillard

School Crossing Guard of the Year
William Bennett

Lifesaving Award
Ana Ivette Simpson
Lt. David Grunewald
Dy. Jennifer Gonzalez
Dy. Cody McGraw

25 Years of Service
Major Anthony Ponton
Capt. Ronald Boucher
Capt. Willie Douglas, Jr.
Lt. James Sandridge
Lt. Blake Banta
Lt. Darrell Baxter
Lt. Margaret Lias
Sgt. Kenneth Jackson
Sgt. Joshua McNicoll
Sgt. Larry Turner
Cpl. Eric Chauvin
Dy. Freddie Selders
Dy. Antonio Tirante
Dy. Kenneth Tiner
Reserve Dy. Robert Buquoi

30 Years of Service
Capt. Clarence Brent Callender
Lt. Roger Corcoran
Sgt. Lari Seguin
Reserve Dy. Leon Braud, Jr.
Wanda Boyette
Retirees with 25 or More Years of Service
Capt. Richard Harris
Lt. Wendell Raybon
Lt. Elijah Jenkins, Sr.
Sgt. Marsha Mills
Sgt. Vince Cashio
Sgt. John Ard
Dy. Stuart Johnson
Dy. Jerry Ewing
Follow the publisher of this post on Twitter: @treyschmaltz


More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days