77°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Related Story

CHICAGO - The head of security at Chicago's airports has been fired, just weeks after a passenger was dragged from a United Airlines plane by security officers at O'Hare International Airport.

The Department of Aviation said in a statement Thursday that Jeffrey Redding "has been terminated from his duties" at O'Hare and Midway airports. No reason was given.

Redding wasn't immediately available for comment late Thursday.

Redding was overseeing the investigation into the forcible removal of 69-year-old physician David Dao from the United plane by three of his officers April 9. Dao has agreed an undisclosed settlement with the airline. Dao's lawyer said Thursday that the settlement averts any lawsuit against Chicago officials.

Separately, the Chicago Tribune recently reported that Redding was fired from his previous job for sexual harassment in 2015.

News

CHICAGO - The head of security at Chicago's airports has been fired, just weeks after a passenger was dragged from... More >>
2 months ago Friday, April 28 2017 Apr 28, 2017 Friday, April 28, 2017 1:24:00 PM UTC April 28, 2017
DALLAS - United Airlines says it will raise the limit - to $10,000 - on payments to customers who give... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, April 27 2017 Apr 27, 2017 Thursday, April 27, 2017 12:05:00 PM UTC April 27, 2017
NEW YORK - A lawyer for the Kentucky doctor who was dragged from a United Express flight says it's too... More >>
3 months ago Monday, April 24 2017 Apr 24, 2017 Monday, April 24, 2017 12:51:00 PM UTC April 24, 2017
WASHINGTON - United Airlines and Chicago airport officials missed a deadline for answering questions from by key U.S. senators about... More >>
3 months ago Friday, April 21 2017 Apr 21, 2017 Friday, April 21, 2017 6:12:00 PM UTC April 21, 2017
CHICAGO - A lawyer for a man who suffered a concussion and lost two teeth when he was dragged off... More >>
3 months ago Friday, April 14 2017 Apr 14, 2017 Friday, April 14, 2017 11:59:00 AM UTC April 14, 2017
CHICAGO - A lawyer for a man dragged off a United Express flight says he suffered a concussion and broken... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 13 2017 Apr 13, 2017 Thursday, April 13, 2017 3:47:00 PM UTC April 13, 2017
CHICAGO - United says passengers on United Express Flight 3411 are getting compensation equal to the cost of their tickets.... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, April 12 2017 Apr 12, 2017 Wednesday, April 12, 2017 10:43:35 PM UTC April 12, 2017
CHICAGO - The CEO of United Airlines has issued a stronger apology about a passenger who was dragged off a... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 11 2017 Apr 11, 2017 Tuesday, April 11, 2017 6:52:00 PM UTC April 11, 2017
CHICAGO - A day after viral videos of a bloodied man being dragged off an overbooked United flight by aviation... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 11 2017 Apr 11, 2017 Tuesday, April 11, 2017 11:53:00 AM UTC April 11, 2017
CHICAGO - The CEO of United Airlines' parent company is supporting the way his employees handled an incident with a... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 11 2017 Apr 11, 2017 Tuesday, April 11, 2017 12:45:00 AM UTC April 11, 2017
CHICAGO - Video shows three security officials dragging a passenger from a United Airlines flight at a Chicago's O'Hare International... More >>
3 months ago Monday, April 10 2017 Apr 10, 2017 Monday, April 10, 2017 4:00:00 AM UTC April 10, 2017

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days