60°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Two Winter Stories..."
Pat Shingleton: "The Volstead Act and Guinness"
Just 30 days remain until the end of Winter. The first European settlers arrived in North America unprepared for the climate that awaited them. Harsh weather greeted these visitors to... More >>
3 days ago February 17, 2017 Feb 17, 2017 Friday, February 17 2017 Friday, February 17, 2017 6:45:50 PM CST in Pat Shingleton Column
Yesterday's "post" noted a molasses explosion and a response and reason from one of our past employees. Jon Vail assisted us during our broadcasts years ago.on the floor detail during... More >>
4 days ago February 16, 2017 Feb 16, 2017 Thursday, February 16 2017 Thursday, February 16, 2017 6:01:17 PM CST in Pat Shingleton Column
Homes built in the 1900s had limited insulation. Even though the coal furnace was stoked overnight, it didn't emit enough heat when the temperature slipped to -5 at daybreak. The... More >>
6 days ago February 14, 2017 Feb 14, 2017 Tuesday, February 14 2017 Tuesday, February 14, 2017 6:45:40 PM CST in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
The movie "Groundhog Day", starring Bill Murray, depicts a Pennsylvania village in an accurate way. It's similar to the excitement... More >>
2 weeks ago February 02, 2017 Feb 2, 2017 Thursday, February 02 2017 Thursday, February 02, 2017 4:10:00 AM CST in Pat Shingleton Column
Punxsutawney , Pennsylvania attracts thousands on February 2. Directly related to a single event, tourism has become one of... More >>
2 weeks ago February 01, 2017 Feb 1, 2017 Wednesday, February 01 2017 Wednesday, February 01, 2017 4:15:00 AM CST in Pat Shingleton Column
The end of January, 1966 was super cold in Baton Rouge. On January 29, 1966, the mercury slipped to 20... More >>
3 weeks ago January 31, 2017 Jan 31, 2017 Tuesday, January 31 2017 Tuesday, January 31, 2017 4:10:00 AM CST in Pat Shingleton Column
Our natural disasters were unprecedented in 2016 recognizing the deadly tornadoes in Convent followed by the flooding episode in March... More >>
3 weeks ago January 28, 2017 Jan 28, 2017 Saturday, January 28 2017 Saturday, January 28, 2017 4:15:00 AM CST in Pat Shingleton Column
I recently delved into the workings of a coal furnace and its benefits and... disadvantages. Coal was needed to fuel... More >>
3 weeks ago January 27, 2017 Jan 27, 2017 Friday, January 27 2017 Friday, January 27, 2017 4:10:00 AM CST in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days