82°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Mummified Bodies and Surfing..."
Pat Shingleton: "Father Hurricane and The Tempest..."
Three years ago on this date, The Daily Telegraph reported that the bodies of more than 80 soldiers from World War I were recovered from melting glaciers. Experts from the... More >>
1 day ago Tuesday, July 25 2017 Jul 25, 2017 Tuesday, July 25, 2017 9:39:05 PM UTC July 25, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Canis Major or Sirius was designated the “Dog Star” by ancient astronomers. Romans believed that because Sirius rose before or at sunrise they were convinced this star was the cause... More >>
2 days ago Monday, July 24 2017 Jul 24, 2017 Monday, July 24, 2017 9:51:50 PM UTC July 24, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
On July 23, 1893, Father Benito Vines died in Havana, Cuba. Father Vines is regarded as the preeminent hurricane scholar of the 19th century. As director of the observatory at... More >>
5 days ago Friday, July 21 2017 Jul 21, 2017 Friday, July 21, 2017 10:27:26 PM UTC July 21, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
In the old days, French peasants would carry "thunderstones," or pierres de tonnerre, in their pockets to ward off lightning.... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, July 07 2017 Jul 7, 2017 Friday, July 07, 2017 9:10:00 AM UTC July 07, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
In the 16th and 17th centuries, supplies were transported by ship. One product, needed by agricultural interests was manure. Dry... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, July 06 2017 Jul 6, 2017 Thursday, July 06, 2017 9:10:00 AM UTC July 06, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
My memories of Summer include the variety of fruits from the backyard and area orchards. Our property included a concord... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, July 05 2017 Jul 5, 2017 Wednesday, July 05, 2017 9:10:00 AM UTC July 05, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Buried in today’s article are five nouns depicting events related to the Fourth of July. On July 4, 1856, E... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, July 04 2017 Jul 4, 2017 Tuesday, July 04, 2017 9:10:00 AM UTC July 04, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column
Welcome to July with a final look-back to June 30, 1908, when riders on the Trans-Siberian railroad witnessed a fireball... More >>
3 weeks ago Saturday, July 01 2017 Jul 1, 2017 Saturday, July 01, 2017 9:15:00 AM UTC July 01, 2017 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days