95°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "A Kool Down and an Explosion..."
Louisiana ranks second to the number of lightning hits on a yearly basis, Florida is number one. Yesterday's column reviewed the ability of the Turkey Vulture to stay cool in... More >>
1 day ago June 23, 2016 Jun 23, 2016 Thursday, June 23 2016 Thursday, June 23, 2016 5:50:18 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
Turkey vultures are beneficial to Louisiana as they not only clean the roadways of decomposing animals, also known as “road-kill,” but feast on trash discarded by motorists. Its head-shape gives... More >>
2 days ago June 22, 2016 Jun 22, 2016 Wednesday, June 22 2016 Wednesday, June 22, 2016 6:44:44 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
We're into the second day of summer with 91 remaining. When we were kids, lemons were expensive, so my mom stockpiled a fruity beverage that was invented by Edwin Perkins... More >>
3 days ago June 21, 2016 Jun 21, 2016 Tuesday, June 21 2016 Tuesday, June 21, 2016 6:49:36 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Concluding our series of columns related to D-Day and the invasion of Europe during World War II this report offers... More >>
2 weeks ago June 07, 2016 Jun 7, 2016 Tuesday, June 07 2016 Tuesday, June 07, 2016 5:32:37 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
The invasion of Europe on June 6, 1944 was the greatest military operation in history. If the weather was unfavorable... More >>
2 weeks ago June 06, 2016 Jun 6, 2016 Monday, June 06 2016 Monday, June 06, 2016 10:27:23 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
At Wiltz Drive to Claycut a small grape arbor sits adjacent to the road. It brought back memories of the... More >>
3 weeks ago June 03, 2016 Jun 3, 2016 Friday, June 03 2016 Friday, June 03, 2016 10:30:13 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
In 1874, the editor of the Virginia Territorial Enterprise needed space to fill. He concocted a story about a scientist... More >>
3 weeks ago June 02, 2016 Jun 2, 2016 Thursday, June 02 2016 Thursday, June 02, 2016 10:25:22 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
Welcome to June with 19 days until summertime starts. Society sections of local newspapers showcase engagements and weddings and June... More >>
3 weeks ago June 02, 2016 Jun 2, 2016 Thursday, June 02 2016 Thursday, June 02, 2016 3:17:59 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days