69°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Sewage smell permeates Denham Springs neighborhood

DENHAM SPRINGS - Residents living in Westminster Estates say they're tired of smelling sewage. They say it's coming from a wastewater treatment facility, tucked behind homes in their Denham Springs neighborhood.

"It smells like sewage and that's got to be a health hazard," said Shawn Guidry.

The wastewater treatment facility is one of 112 facilities owned and operated by Mo-Dad Utilities. A canal runs along side of it behind homes, carrying the smell throughout the neighborhood. Water empties from a discharge pipe into the canal. It's water Mo-Dad Utilities says has been treated.

Guidry, who moved to the neighborhood in June says the smell is not normal.

"I've lived in cities, I've lived out in the country, I mean, do you smell sewage at your house," he said.

Catherine Roussel says she's called Mo-Dad about the stench she smells, blocks away from the treatment facility.

"This is not representing our neighborhood very well," she said.

Residents say they notice the smell dies down some when they call, but comes back a few days later. They tell 2 On Your Side it's progressively getting worse and preventing them from enjoying the outdoors.

Mo-Dad Utilities says its office took on about 10 feet of water during the August flood and a lot of equipment was lost. At the station in Westminster Estates, a blower went out recently and it's been in the shop for repair.

Guidry says he's been smelling sewage for much longer than that.

"Come up with a permanent solution, not something that comes up every couple of weeks," he said.

Mo-Dad Utilities says the blower will be installed sometime Tuesday but warns the smell could get worse before it gets better. Residents should notice a positive difference within a few days.

Grid
List
DENHAM SPRINGS - Residents living in Westminster Estates say they're tired of smelling sewage. They say it's coming from a... More >>
1 year ago Monday, November 21 2016 Nov 21, 2016 Monday, November 21, 2016 5:37:00 PM CST November 21, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some AT&T customers say they have received bills in the mail for their flooded equipment. Becky... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, November 16 2016 Nov 16, 2016 Wednesday, November 16, 2016 5:14:00 PM CST November 16, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - Thousands of people are still trying to figure out where they'll live since their homes were destroyed... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, November 15 2016 Nov 15, 2016 Tuesday, November 15, 2016 5:50:00 PM CST November 15, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's confusion over whether to rebuild or wait in one subdivision. Residents began getting the green... More >>
1 year ago Monday, November 14 2016 Nov 14, 2016 Monday, November 14, 2016 5:34:00 PM CST November 14, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Baton Rouge man says he's learned a lesson and he'll double check his bills from now... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, November 10 2016 Nov 10, 2016 Thursday, November 10, 2016 5:16:00 PM CST November 10, 2016 in News
ZACHARY - A family says they're losing hope since they have been waiting for their FEMA trailer since the first... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, November 09 2016 Nov 9, 2016 Wednesday, November 09, 2016 6:15:00 PM CST November 09, 2016 in News
INDEPENDENCE - A flood victim says his mortgage company held onto his insurance money, instead of issuing it to him... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, November 03 2016 Nov 3, 2016 Thursday, November 03, 2016 11:03:00 PM CDT November 03, 2016 in News
ST. AMANT - There's a warning to watch out for online scams, especially ahead of the holidays. One man says... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, November 02 2016 Nov 2, 2016 Wednesday, November 02, 2016 5:30:00 PM CDT November 02, 2016 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A growing hole in a front yard was repaired again, after calls to 2 On Your Side... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, November 01 2016 Nov 1, 2016 Tuesday, November 01, 2016 5:23:00 PM CDT November 01, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - Officials have announced trick-or-treat times for residents for Halloween. Some areas for trick-or-treating may be closed due... More >>
1 year ago Monday, October 31 2016 Oct 31, 2016 Monday, October 31, 2016 5:07:00 PM CDT October 31, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's not uncommon to see a person running or jogging, especially on a beautiful day. Many people,... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, October 27 2016 Oct 27, 2016 Thursday, October 27, 2016 4:51:49 PM CDT October 27, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A few things have changed this election, following the August flood. Polling places are moved and the... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, October 25 2016 Oct 25, 2016 Tuesday, October 25, 2016 5:50:00 PM CDT October 25, 2016 in News
SLAUGHTER - Sewage drains from homes in one East Feliciana Parish community into ditches but Elnora Carter said Monday, her... More >>
1 year ago Monday, October 24 2016 Oct 24, 2016 Monday, October 24, 2016 6:03:00 PM CDT October 24, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – About two dozen soldiers with the Cajun Army gathered for a prayer vigil at the State Capitol... More >>
1 year ago Sunday, October 23 2016 Oct 23, 2016 Sunday, October 23, 2016 7:56:00 PM CDT October 23, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - One person who flooded in August says she found termites in her gutted home. Veronica Berteaux says... More >>
1 year ago Friday, October 21 2016 Oct 21, 2016 Friday, October 21, 2016 1:58:00 PM CDT October 21, 2016 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Many people are still waiting to get into their manufactured housing units following the August flood. Some... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, October 19 2016 Oct 19, 2016 Wednesday, October 19, 2016 4:55:00 PM CDT October 19, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – Both Ascension and East Baton Rouge parishes announced Wednesday the final days for flood debris pickup. ... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, October 19 2016 Oct 19, 2016 Wednesday, October 19, 2016 2:14:00 PM CDT October 19, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - FEMA extended it's checkout date for disaster survivors staying in hotels, but many hotels are booked solid.... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, October 18 2016 Oct 18, 2016 Tuesday, October 18, 2016 6:21:00 PM CDT October 18, 2016 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A flood victim caught in an expensive stalemate with his mortgage company received half of the insurance... More >>
1 year ago Monday, October 17 2016 Oct 17, 2016 Monday, October 17, 2016 5:44:00 PM CDT October 17, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman is worried her yard will be washed away. After multiple pleas with the city, she's... More >>
1 year ago Friday, October 14 2016 Oct 14, 2016 Friday, October 14, 2016 4:42:00 PM CDT October 14, 2016 in News
WASHINGTON - The Transportation Department is issuing an emergency order banning passengers and flight crews from bringing Samsung Galaxy Note7... More >>
1 year ago Friday, October 14 2016 Oct 14, 2016 Friday, October 14, 2016 3:20:43 PM CDT October 14, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Two On Your Side story earlier this week got many viewers talking. WBRZ highlighted an issue... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, October 13 2016 Oct 13, 2016 Thursday, October 13, 2016 5:32:00 PM CDT October 13, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's been more than 1,000 calls to investigators concerning fraud from the flood. As more homes... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, October 12 2016 Oct 12, 2016 Wednesday, October 12, 2016 5:59:00 PM CDT October 12, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – Residents who need FEMA assistance after August’s historic flooding have until Nov. 14 to apply for individual... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, October 12 2016 Oct 12, 2016 Wednesday, October 12, 2016 4:28:00 PM CDT October 12, 2016 in News
ZACHARY - While many have noticed higher utility bills in September and October since usage was estimated when meter readers... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, October 11 2016 Oct 11, 2016 Tuesday, October 11, 2016 5:48:00 PM CDT October 11, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – The East Baton Rouge Metro Council approved temporary voting locations for 38 precincts at 19 polling locations... More >>
1 year ago Monday, October 10 2016 Oct 10, 2016 Monday, October 10, 2016 3:15:00 PM CDT October 10, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – It’s been a slow agonizing process. And Linda Randall is tired of waiting. The debris sitting... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, October 06 2016 Oct 6, 2016 Thursday, October 06, 2016 6:50:00 PM CDT October 06, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A family is at odds with their landlord since they don't feel it's safe to live in... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, October 04 2016 Oct 4, 2016 Tuesday, October 04, 2016 5:30:00 PM CDT October 04, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - The owner of a pickup truck is caught in the middle of a fight after her truck... More >>
1 year ago Monday, October 03 2016 Oct 3, 2016 Monday, October 03, 2016 4:50:00 PM CDT October 03, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – FEMA officials are urging flood victims to appeal their decision if they disagree with their determination letter... More >>
1 year ago Friday, September 30 2016 Sep 30, 2016 Friday, September 30, 2016 2:00:00 PM CDT September 30, 2016 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A man has been trying to get answers about his manufactured housing unit for the past week... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 29 2016 Sep 29, 2016 Thursday, September 29, 2016 11:11:00 PM CDT September 29, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – The East Baton Rouge Sheriff's Office is warning residents of a phone scam asking bank users for... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 29 2016 Sep 29, 2016 Thursday, September 29, 2016 10:01:00 AM CDT September 29, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A large hole in the ground has some people upset, saying it's bad for business. The hole... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 28 2016 Sep 28, 2016 Wednesday, September 28, 2016 9:29:00 PM CDT September 28, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – The FBI New Orleans Division and the Internet Crime Complaint Center have received reports of a telephone... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 28 2016 Sep 28, 2016 Wednesday, September 28, 2016 11:00:00 AM CDT September 28, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - The city started to consolidate locations where people can get information on debris removal. Seven-hundred homeowners... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, September 27 2016 Sep 27, 2016 Tuesday, September 27, 2016 2:56:42 PM CDT September 27, 2016 in News
GONZALES - Reburial of damaged or dislodged caskets and vaults will begin soon, Ascension Parish announced Tuesday. Family members... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, September 27 2016 Sep 27, 2016 Tuesday, September 27, 2016 10:43:00 AM CDT September 27, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE — As Louisianans repair or rebuild their homes damaged by August floods, FEMA and local hardware stores... More >>
1 year ago Friday, September 23 2016 Sep 23, 2016 Friday, September 23, 2016 6:10:22 PM CDT September 23, 2016 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS- A man fortunate enough not to lose everything in the flood, managed to lose everything after. Ray Riley... More >>
1 year ago Friday, September 23 2016 Sep 23, 2016 Friday, September 23, 2016 4:04:00 PM CDT September 23, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – State and federal emergency officials released new information Thursday about post-flood disaster housing options. GHOSEP said... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 22 2016 Sep 22, 2016 Thursday, September 22, 2016 10:58:00 PM CDT September 22, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - Thousands of cars flooded last month, including cars on lots. Flood damaged cars can find their way... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 22 2016 Sep 22, 2016 Thursday, September 22, 2016 6:12:00 PM CDT September 22, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE – Preservation experts with the Smithsonian Institution will be available to help demonstrate how to save family treasures... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 22 2016 Sep 22, 2016 Thursday, September 22, 2016 5:23:00 PM CDT September 22, 2016 in News
ST. AMANT - Some homeowners are fed up with contractors not finishing the job they were hired to do by... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 21 2016 Sep 21, 2016 Wednesday, September 21, 2016 10:37:00 PM CDT September 21, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE- Aerial mosquito spraying will begin tonight at 7:30pm from Siegen Lane to Phillips Road in East Baton Rouge... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 21 2016 Sep 21, 2016 Wednesday, September 21, 2016 6:08:00 PM CDT September 21, 2016 in News
ALABAMA – Blue Bell Ice Cream is voluntarily recalling two flavors of its ice cream produced in its Sylacauga, Alabama,... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 21 2016 Sep 21, 2016 Wednesday, September 21, 2016 4:53:00 PM CDT September 21, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - More than a month after people were rescued from the Old Hammond area of Baton Rouge, there's... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, September 20 2016 Sep 20, 2016 Tuesday, September 20, 2016 5:35:00 PM CDT September 20, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - Standing water in southern areas of East Baton Rouge and Ascension Parish is fueling an increase in... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, September 20 2016 Sep 20, 2016 Tuesday, September 20, 2016 2:04:00 PM CDT September 20, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman says her yard has been sinking ever since she bought her house 27 years ago.... More >>
1 year ago Monday, September 19 2016 Sep 19, 2016 Monday, September 19, 2016 5:42:00 PM CDT September 19, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some mobile homes, commonly referred to as "trailers," could qualify for the state's $15,000 flood damage renovation... More >>
1 year ago Monday, September 19 2016 Sep 19, 2016 Monday, September 19, 2016 3:16:00 PM CDT September 19, 2016 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS – Sunday afternoon, Marcus Saplut cooked up some burgers and drumsticks on the grill outside his home. His... More >>
1 year ago Sunday, September 18 2016 Sep 18, 2016 Sunday, September 18, 2016 8:35:00 PM CDT September 18, 2016 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's been more than a year since construction started on Jones Creek Road and patience is running... More >>
1 year ago Friday, September 16 2016 Sep 16, 2016 Friday, September 16, 2016 9:02:00 PM CDT September 16, 2016 in News

News tip form