67°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Abandoned home comes down following On Your Side report

BATON ROUGE - A home that's been on the City-Parish condemnation list since 2014 finally came tumbling down this week. The home located in the 2900 block of Sherwood Street was demolished this week.

Sharon Williams and her family own a rental property next door to the damaged property. In the past, renters have been deterred from signing a lease because of the overgrown lot and what it attracts.

"It has been a little hassle because of the critters that have been coming through," said Williams. "We have all types of critters around here raccoons, snakes, wild rats, now we can see a little less of that."

In June 2018, the Baton Rouge Fire Department was called to the property for arson. Someone had set a pile of clothing on fire. The roof was caving in and the front windows looked like it had been used for target practice.

The process to tear down the Sherwood Street property has been drawn-out for Williams. She says she's been calling the City-Parish for years about the overgrown lot and damage to the property.

"Seven years I've been calling and trying to get something done about this house," she said.

Williams first contacted 2 On Your Side in July after she felt like she wasn't getting the answers she'd been looking for. During WBRZ's visit to the house, Williams described the forest that's grown up in the backyard.

"At one time it was weeds but now the weeds have turned to trees," she said.

Thursday, Williams told WBRZ those weeds that turned to trees are now gone. She says this week's demolition has improved everyone's house on the block. It's a change she had been hoping for all along.

"I am so excited that we have gotten to this point," said Sharon Williams.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A home that's been on the City-Parish condemnation list since 2014 finally came tumbling down this week.... More >>
4 days ago Friday, October 12 2018 Oct 12, 2018 Friday, October 12, 2018 6:01:00 PM CDT October 12, 2018 in News
PIERRE PART - A home in Assumption Parish has been leaking sewage for months. Neighbors are not happy about it... More >>
5 days ago Thursday, October 11 2018 Oct 11, 2018 Thursday, October 11, 2018 7:11:00 PM CDT October 11, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A few dozen residents woke up to find a boot on the wheel of their car Tuesday... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, October 09 2018 Oct 9, 2018 Tuesday, October 09, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT October 09, 2018 in News
LIVINGSTON - Multiple homeowners from Livingston Parish tell 2 On Your Side's Brittany Weiss they're ineligible for Restore Louisiana reimbursement... More >>
1 week ago Friday, October 05 2018 Oct 5, 2018 Friday, October 05, 2018 5:31:00 PM CDT October 05, 2018 in News
WALKER - A family has rebuilt their house after the August 2016 flood to the specifications they were told by... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, October 03 2018 Oct 3, 2018 Wednesday, October 03, 2018 10:10:00 PM CDT October 03, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A homeowner says her property is sinking and she blames a deteriorating pipe running through her backyard. After... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, September 27 2018 Sep 27, 2018 Thursday, September 27, 2018 5:18:00 PM CDT September 27, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Wednesday, 2 On Your Side followed up on a story about a mobile home riddled with problems and... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, September 26 2018 Sep 26, 2018 Wednesday, September 26, 2018 5:34:00 PM CDT September 26, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A manufactured house is causing its new owners a lot more trouble than it should. They contacted 2... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, September 25 2018 Sep 25, 2018 Tuesday, September 25, 2018 5:31:00 PM CDT September 25, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim's story is finally coming to an end. Floy Cook has lived through plenty of... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, September 21 2018 Sep 21, 2018 Friday, September 21, 2018 5:57:00 PM CDT September 21, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A couple of homeowners are having a property issue in a relatively new subdivision in Ascension Parish. ... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, September 19 2018 Sep 19, 2018 Wednesday, September 19, 2018 5:21:00 PM CDT September 19, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman who contacted 2 On Your Side last month received a delivery from a mobile home... More >>
4 weeks ago Tuesday, September 18 2018 Sep 18, 2018 Tuesday, September 18, 2018 6:00:00 PM CDT September 18, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Two years after a steam cleaning error, a woman is handed a check for her damages. Dianne... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, September 13 2018 Sep 13, 2018 Thursday, September 13, 2018 5:26:00 PM CDT September 13, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish says it's been very busy the last couple of days responding to phone calls about... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, September 12 2018 Sep 12, 2018 Wednesday, September 12, 2018 6:33:00 PM CDT September 12, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Daily weather trouble is causing flooding in some neighborhoods. People are annoyed that a sudden shower causes... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, September 11 2018 Sep 11, 2018 Tuesday, September 11, 2018 5:52:00 PM CDT September 11, 2018 in News
WALKER - It's almost been a year since a woman purchased a mobile home and she still has not received... More >>
1 month ago Monday, September 10 2018 Sep 10, 2018 Monday, September 10, 2018 10:30:00 PM CDT September 10, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Tailgating season is here and LSU fans are ready. "First home game, glad to be here,"... More >>
1 month ago Saturday, September 08 2018 Sep 8, 2018 Saturday, September 08, 2018 8:01:00 PM CDT September 08, 2018 in News
LIVINGSTON - A temporary trailer park should have been cleaned up and gone long ago, but it's not. People who... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, September 06 2018 Sep 6, 2018 Thursday, September 06, 2018 6:21:00 PM CDT September 06, 2018 in News
SLAUGHTER - A group of parents say the school where their children attend is falling apart. They've formed a group... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, September 05 2018 Sep 5, 2018 Wednesday, September 05, 2018 6:16:00 PM CDT September 05, 2018 in News
LIVINGSTON – Matthew Morris, a contractor wrapped up in widespread fraud allegations after the August 2016 flood, pleaded guilty in... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, September 04 2018 Sep 4, 2018 Tuesday, September 04, 2018 10:08:00 AM CDT September 04, 2018 in News
UPDATE Cathie Youngkin tells 2 On Your Side's Brittany Weiss she received a check in the mail from Republic Services... More >>
1 month ago Friday, August 31 2018 Aug 31, 2018 Friday, August 31, 2018 6:08:00 PM CDT August 31, 2018 in News
ZACHARY - Some residents living along Eagle Drive in Zachary are asking the city to install speed bumps on their... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, August 30 2018 Aug 30, 2018 Thursday, August 30, 2018 5:21:00 PM CDT August 30, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Potholes are popping up in subdivisions in Livingston Parish and the Department of Public Works says it's... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, August 29 2018 Aug 29, 2018 Wednesday, August 29, 2018 5:39:00 PM CDT August 29, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A temporary stoplight that's been in place since 2016 will finally be given a permanent home. That... More >>
1 month ago Monday, August 27 2018 Aug 27, 2018 Monday, August 27, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT August 27, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Channel 2 is on the side of a man living along North Foster Drive Friday. For the... More >>
1 month ago Friday, August 24 2018 Aug 24, 2018 Friday, August 24, 2018 7:24:00 PM CDT August 24, 2018 in News
GREENWELL SPRINGS - A homeowner is having trouble with her insurance company, which tells her it won't release her supplemental... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, August 22 2018 Aug 22, 2018 Wednesday, August 22, 2018 6:55:00 PM CDT August 22, 2018 in News
UPDATE: The City-Parish says that because of the severity of the erosion at the back of Al Alexander's property related... More >>
1 month ago Friday, August 17 2018 Aug 17, 2018 Friday, August 17, 2018 6:48:00 PM CDT August 17, 2018 in News
LIVINGSTON - A family that lost everything in the flood, including all proof of ownership to their home, is finally... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, August 16 2018 Aug 16, 2018 Thursday, August 16, 2018 6:15:00 PM CDT August 16, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Restore Louisiana says it was all a miscommunication, after one if its applicants contacted 2 On Your... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, August 15 2018 Aug 15, 2018 Wednesday, August 15, 2018 6:27:00 PM CDT August 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some residents living at a senior living apartment building off Hooper Road say they've been having trouble... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, August 14 2018 Aug 14, 2018 Tuesday, August 14, 2018 10:00:00 PM CDT August 14, 2018 in News
WALKER - Tucked away in a neighborhood off Hwy 447 in Livingston Parish is a pond system where raw sewage... More >>
2 months ago Monday, August 13 2018 Aug 13, 2018 Monday, August 13, 2018 6:29:00 PM CDT August 13, 2018 in News
SCOTLANDVILLE - A man is wondering what he has to do to get his ditch cleaned out and cleared of... More >>
2 months ago Monday, August 06 2018 Aug 6, 2018 Monday, August 06, 2018 6:59:00 PM CDT August 06, 2018 in News
PLAQUEMINE - A cemetery has been without AT&T service for a month and says it's been detrimental to business. ... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, August 01 2018 Aug 1, 2018 Wednesday, August 01, 2018 5:53:00 PM CDT August 01, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A mobile home that's been abandoned and slowly falling apart is an eyesore and health hazard to... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, July 31 2018 Jul 31, 2018 Tuesday, July 31, 2018 5:40:00 PM CDT July 31, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A softball player, whose car was stolen with her athletic gear inside received a little help Monday... More >>
2 months ago Monday, July 30 2018 Jul 30, 2018 Monday, July 30, 2018 6:42:00 PM CDT July 30, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Baton Rouge visitor left the boot state with huge sticker shock when she was charged nearly... More >>
2 months ago Monday, July 30 2018 Jul 30, 2018 Monday, July 30, 2018 5:19:00 PM CDT July 30, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A piece of furniture has caused one Baton Rouge woman some major headaches. It broke a few... More >>
2 months ago Friday, July 27 2018 Jul 27, 2018 Friday, July 27, 2018 5:55:00 PM CDT July 27, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A dead tree that sits on the City-Parish right-of-way dropped a rotting limb on a man's fence.... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, July 26 2018 Jul 26, 2018 Thursday, July 26, 2018 5:37:00 PM CDT July 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Woodlawn High School graduate who is looking forward to a softball career, had her prized possessions... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, July 25 2018 Jul 25, 2018 Wednesday, July 25, 2018 5:34:00 PM CDT July 25, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A case involving a contractor accused of fraud in multiple parishes could soon be coming to a close... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, July 24 2018 Jul 24, 2018 Tuesday, July 24, 2018 6:24:00 PM CDT July 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Worker is accused of kicking addressed mail into a storm drain. The alleged... More >>
2 months ago Friday, July 20 2018 Jul 20, 2018 Friday, July 20, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT July 20, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a blight concern on Sherwood Street in Baton Rouge. One of the property owners with a... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, July 19 2018 Jul 19, 2018 Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:46:00 PM CDT July 19, 2018 in News
GREENWELL SPRINGS - Multiple bridge closures in the northern part of East Baton Rouge Parish have some residents concerned for... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, July 18 2018 Jul 18, 2018 Wednesday, July 18, 2018 5:33:00 PM CDT July 18, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman is stuck with thousands of dollars in credit card debt after she tells 2 On... More >>
3 months ago Monday, July 16 2018 Jul 16, 2018 Monday, July 16, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT July 16, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood off Shenandoah says it's having issues with rodents. Rats are running through backyards and multiplying... More >>
3 months ago Sunday, July 15 2018 Jul 15, 2018 Sunday, July 15, 2018 8:50:00 PM CDT July 15, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A neighborhood with dozens of homes tucked away off LA 44 in Gonzales is raising traffic concerns recently.... More >>
3 months ago Monday, July 09 2018 Jul 9, 2018 Monday, July 09, 2018 10:19:00 PM CDT July 09, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Residents in Ascension Parish frustrated with trash pick-up have a new option: valet garbage service. Eddie Denham... More >>
3 months ago Friday, July 06 2018 Jul 6, 2018 Friday, July 06, 2018 6:50:00 PM CDT July 06, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A lot of people get an inspection sticker every year for their vehicle because it's the law.... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, July 03 2018 Jul 3, 2018 Tuesday, July 03, 2018 5:35:00 PM CDT July 03, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - A few WBRZ viewers have emailed and called about problems they're having with Waste Pro. Some residents report... More >>
3 months ago Friday, June 29 2018 Jun 29, 2018 Friday, June 29, 2018 7:31:00 PM CDT June 29, 2018 in News
ST. FRANCISVILLE - A woman says her beloved family member was taken advantage of by her caretaker and she's waiting... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, June 28 2018 Jun 28, 2018 Thursday, June 28, 2018 7:37:00 PM CDT June 28, 2018 in News
GEISMAR - More complaints about Republic Services and one woman tells 2 On Your Side that she's not paying them... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, June 26 2018 Jun 26, 2018 Tuesday, June 26, 2018 10:48:00 PM CDT June 26, 2018 in News

News tip form