81°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

USPS investigating mail found in storm drain

BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Worker is accused of kicking addressed mail into a storm drain.

The alleged incident happened in the Broadmoor area of Baton Rouge near Sharp Road and Old Hammond Hwy. A resident living on Heatherview Ct. says she witnessed it happening Saturday around noon.

"I could see that he was actually putting mail into the storm drain and actually kicking some into the storm drain," she said.

The woman, who does not want to be identified, said her dog alerted her to what was happening.

"I saw the mail truck stopped at the storm drain between my neighbor's house and mine," she said. "I saw him grab stuff from inside the truck and throw it in the drain and kick it further into the drain."

The woman says the postal worker was wearing a red t-shirt. After putting the items in the drain, she says the person got back into the truck and proceeded to finish the route. Once the USPS truck was out of sight, the woman went to investigate what was in the drain and found addressed mail with nearby addresses.

"It wasn't all junk mail," she said. "Some of it, you could tell, was addressed."

The incident was reported to the USPS, which is investigating what it's calling "unattended mail."

The U.S. Postal Service Office of Inspector General says it received an allegation regarding unattended mail which was found in the Baton Rouge area. Special Agents from our Baton Rouge, LA office immediately responded and an investigation was initiated. Victim notification letters will be sent and the recovered mail will be returned at the conclusion of the investigation. At this time, no additional information related to this investigation is available for public release due to Privacy Act considerations and the ongoing status of the USPS OIG’s investigation.

The USPS says this type of behavior is not tolerated and the overwhelming majority of Postal Service employees, which serve the public, are honest, hardworking, and trustworthy individuals who would never consider engaging in any type of criminal behavior.

The Broadmoor resident that spoke with WBRZ says she's happy the USPS is taking her concerns seriously. She says this week she has noticed someone different was delivering her mail.

 

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Worker is accused of kicking addressed mail into a storm drain. The alleged... More >>
2 days ago Friday, July 20 2018 Jul 20, 2018 Friday, July 20, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT July 20, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a blight concern on Sherwood Street in Baton Rouge. One of the property owners with a... More >>
3 days ago Thursday, July 19 2018 Jul 19, 2018 Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:46:00 PM CDT July 19, 2018 in News
GREENWELL SPRINGS - Multiple bridge closures in the northern part of East Baton Rouge Parish have some residents concerned for... More >>
4 days ago Wednesday, July 18 2018 Jul 18, 2018 Wednesday, July 18, 2018 5:33:00 PM CDT July 18, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman is stuck with thousands of dollars in credit card debt after she tells 2 On... More >>
6 days ago Monday, July 16 2018 Jul 16, 2018 Monday, July 16, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT July 16, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood off Shenandoah says it's having issues with rodents. Rats are running through backyards and multiplying... More >>
1 week ago Sunday, July 15 2018 Jul 15, 2018 Sunday, July 15, 2018 8:50:00 PM CDT July 15, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A neighborhood with dozens of homes tucked away off LA 44 in Gonzales is raising traffic concerns recently.... More >>
1 week ago Monday, July 09 2018 Jul 9, 2018 Monday, July 09, 2018 10:19:00 PM CDT July 09, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Residents in Ascension Parish frustrated with trash pick-up have a new option: valet garbage service. Eddie Denham... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, July 06 2018 Jul 6, 2018 Friday, July 06, 2018 6:50:00 PM CDT July 06, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A lot of people get an inspection sticker every year for their vehicle because it's the law.... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, July 03 2018 Jul 3, 2018 Tuesday, July 03, 2018 5:35:00 PM CDT July 03, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - A few WBRZ viewers have emailed and called about problems they're having with Waste Pro. Some residents report... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, June 29 2018 Jun 29, 2018 Friday, June 29, 2018 7:31:00 PM CDT June 29, 2018 in News
ST. FRANCISVILLE - A woman says her beloved family member was taken advantage of by her caretaker and she's waiting... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, June 28 2018 Jun 28, 2018 Thursday, June 28, 2018 7:37:00 PM CDT June 28, 2018 in News
GEISMAR - More complaints about Republic Services and one woman tells 2 On Your Side that she's not paying them... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, June 26 2018 Jun 26, 2018 Tuesday, June 26, 2018 10:48:00 PM CDT June 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A program offered to Entergy users is saving some customers a large chunk of change. The program,... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 22 2018 Jun 22, 2018 Friday, June 22, 2018 7:10:00 PM CDT June 22, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Numerous offers of new bikes and monetary donations poured in after On Your Side highlighted Eric Schmidley's story Wednesday... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 21 2018 Jun 21, 2018 Thursday, June 21, 2018 8:00:00 PM CDT June 21, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim, who is waiting to rebuild her Park Forest home, recently discovered a mess dumped... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 21 2018 Jun 21, 2018 Thursday, June 21, 2018 6:34:00 PM CDT June 21, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's been awhile since the state starting mailing out letters to collect fines for lapsed car insurance... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 19 2018 Jun 19, 2018 Tuesday, June 19, 2018 6:20:00 PM CDT June 19, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Whatever you do, don't call them rats. Nutria has recently been seen around the City Park Lakes,... More >>
1 month ago Monday, June 18 2018 Jun 18, 2018 Monday, June 18, 2018 5:28:00 PM CDT June 18, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Fast action for 2 On Your Side Friday. A mess left behind by a fallen tree limb... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 15 2018 Jun 15, 2018 Friday, June 15, 2018 5:39:00 PM CDT June 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's been big-time frustration for a man who says his hot rod has been locked up for... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, June 13 2018 Jun 13, 2018 Wednesday, June 13, 2018 5:51:00 PM CDT June 13, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - The thought of flooding again is still fresh in the minds of those who went through it a... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 12 2018 Jun 12, 2018 Tuesday, June 12, 2018 6:46:00 PM CDT June 12, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Earlier this week the State Fire Marshal cleared a Baton Rouge property owner after a 2 On... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 08 2018 Jun 8, 2018 Friday, June 08, 2018 9:28:00 AM CDT June 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There are a lot of distractions in our daily lives and no parent thinks it will happen... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 07 2018 Jun 7, 2018 Thursday, June 07, 2018 6:20:00 PM CDT June 07, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Drivers and shopping customers along Jefferson Highway have recently noticed a piece of history uncovered by a... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, June 06 2018 Jun 6, 2018 Wednesday, June 06, 2018 6:04:00 PM CDT June 06, 2018 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - A drainage pipe busted underground and it's been causing problems for a homeowner for nearly a decade. ... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 05 2018 Jun 5, 2018 Tuesday, June 05, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT June 05, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The first day of hurricane season is also a good time to get organized. That includes knowing... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 01 2018 Jun 1, 2018 Friday, June 01, 2018 2:38:00 PM CDT June 01, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Highland Road will be closed between Bluebonnet Boulevard and Siegen Lane Saturday morning while crews work to remove the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, May 31 2018 May 31, 2018 Thursday, May 31, 2018 2:40:00 PM CDT May 31, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The state visited an apartment building under the microscope by the Department of Health and Hospitals. ... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, May 29 2018 May 29, 2018 Tuesday, May 29, 2018 6:38:00 PM CDT May 29, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Department of Health and Hospitals is investigating an independent living facility after a 2 On Your... More >>
1 month ago Friday, May 25 2018 May 25, 2018 Friday, May 25, 2018 5:14:00 PM CDT May 25, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A new subdivision wants to route its sewer through a neighborhood that's been around for years. The... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, May 24 2018 May 24, 2018 Thursday, May 24, 2018 6:45:00 PM CDT May 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Over the last month, 2 On Your Side has been taking a lot of calls about missed... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 22 2018 May 22, 2018 Tuesday, May 22, 2018 5:48:00 PM CDT May 22, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - What one homeowner says was supposed to be a backyard paradise, has turned into a big nightmare. ... More >>
2 months ago Monday, May 21 2018 May 21, 2018 Monday, May 21, 2018 6:33:00 PM CDT May 21, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A man says his power company called him up recently, telling him it planned to cut a bunch... More >>
2 months ago Friday, May 18 2018 May 18, 2018 Friday, May 18, 2018 6:43:00 PM CDT May 18, 2018 in News
KENTWOOD - A hunter looking forward to a busy hunting season, missed out entirely after the land he leased was... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 17 2018 May 17, 2018 Thursday, May 17, 2018 7:30:00 PM CDT May 17, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A homeowner who was at his wit's end is getting results following a 2 On Your Side... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, May 16 2018 May 16, 2018 Wednesday, May 16, 2018 6:26:00 PM CDT May 16, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Attorney General has sued a body shop with a 30-year history, alleging that the company's business... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 15 2018 May 15, 2018 Tuesday, May 15, 2018 5:47:00 PM CDT May 15, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A homeowner says he's been left with quite a mess and blames contractors hired through the Restore... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 10 2018 May 10, 2018 Thursday, May 10, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT May 10, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - An abandoned trailer park has turned into a dumping ground for household items, car parts, among other... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 08 2018 May 8, 2018 Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT May 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who's lived on the same property all her life is now being told she might... More >>
2 months ago Monday, May 07 2018 May 7, 2018 Monday, May 07, 2018 6:16:00 PM CDT May 07, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana State Police say there are a number of scam callers targeting Louisiana residents. The callers are... More >>
2 months ago Friday, May 04 2018 May 4, 2018 Friday, May 04, 2018 6:25:00 PM CDT May 04, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Volunteers from Michigan are helping one woman rebuild from the August 2016 flood. The team with Samaritan's... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, May 02 2018 May 2, 2018 Wednesday, May 02, 2018 6:22:00 PM CDT May 02, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - After fifteen years in the Baton Rouge community, Re-Bath of South Louisiana announced Tuesday that it will... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 01 2018 May 1, 2018 Tuesday, May 01, 2018 7:08:00 PM CDT May 01, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Thanks to 2 On Your Side, volunteers are resting after a hard day at work rebuilding a... More >>
2 months ago Saturday, April 28 2018 Apr 28, 2018 Saturday, April 28, 2018 9:51:00 PM CDT April 28, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A landlord says her tenant decided to stop paying bills and abandoned the property late last year.... More >>
2 months ago Friday, April 27 2018 Apr 27, 2018 Friday, April 27, 2018 6:07:00 PM CDT April 27, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says he's been dealing with a broken sidewalk in front of his house for two... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, April 26 2018 Apr 26, 2018 Thursday, April 26, 2018 6:29:00 PM CDT April 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman has been on a year-long mission to catch the person who broke into her storage... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, April 25 2018 Apr 25, 2018 Wednesday, April 25, 2018 6:09:00 PM CDT April 25, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood-damaged house that was left to rot has been demolished, thanks to the help of 2... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, April 24 2018 Apr 24, 2018 Tuesday, April 24, 2018 6:13:00 PM CDT April 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A non-profit group that helps low-income homeowners stay independent was hit by thieves. Rebuilding Together Baton... More >>
2 months ago Monday, April 23 2018 Apr 23, 2018 Monday, April 23, 2018 6:25:00 PM CDT April 23, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Calls to 2 On Your Side report that spring debris collection in East Baton Rouge Parish is... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, April 18 2018 Apr 18, 2018 Wednesday, April 18, 2018 6:37:00 PM CDT April 18, 2018 in News
DARROW - It's tax day, and some people have been reporting scam calls. The callers claim to be from the... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 17 2018 Apr 17, 2018 Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:15:00 PM CDT April 17, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a drainage ditch on California Street that has one property owner worried. He says the ditch... More >>
3 months ago Sunday, April 15 2018 Apr 15, 2018 Sunday, April 15, 2018 10:30:00 PM CDT April 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A landlord says their tenant abandoned all of their belongings. She called 2 On Your Side, concerned... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 12 2018 Apr 12, 2018 Thursday, April 12, 2018 6:34:00 PM CDT April 12, 2018 in News

News tip form