68°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Woman takes burglary investigation into her own hands, suspect arrested at BR hospital

BATON ROUGE - A woman has been on a year-long mission to catch the person who broke into her storage locker and took some of her belongings.

Latoya Carrier took matters into her own hands by finding the man and helping deputies make an arrest. She's been studying criminal justice and says instead of waiting for law enforcement to find him, she did her own investigation.

"I told you from day one, I'm going to find him," she said.

Carrier called 2 On Your Side a year ago, about an incident she had experienced at her storage locker at Life Storage on Airline Highway.

Surveillance video captured a person entering and exiting Carrier's storage unit, going through her items and loading them into a truck. Multiple items were taken, including electronics and family heirlooms.

Brandon Anglin was arrested by East Baton Rouge Sheriff's deputies Monday. EBRSO says Anglin is facing charges in this case. Carrier is the one who received a tip that Anglin was at the hospital and alerted deputies.

"He was actually at the hospital for a joyous occasion, shall I say, to give birth with his child's mother," said Carrier.

We don't know if it's a boy or a girl, but Carrier captured cell phone video of Anglin being put in handcuffs and escorted out of the hospital.

She did get a few of her items back because Carrier says Anglin was renting the storage unit right next to hers. Her items were found inside that unit and she says some of those items had her name on them. Family heirlooms are still missing.

The arrest warrant for Anglin was signed May 2, 2017. EBRSO says it was sent to Livingston Parish Sheriff's Office to try to arrest Anglin there because his listed address is in Denham Springs.

Carrier says the last year has taken a toll on her, constantly wondering where Anglin was. She only wishes this investigation came to a close a lot sooner.

"If you want to get something done, do it on your own," she said.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A woman has been on a year-long mission to catch the person who broke into her storage... More >>
8 hours ago Wednesday, April 25 2018 Apr 25, 2018 Wednesday, April 25, 2018 6:09:00 PM CDT April 25, 2018 in Top Story
BATON ROUGE - A flood-damaged house that was left to rot has been demolished, thanks to the help of 2... More >>
1 day ago Tuesday, April 24 2018 Apr 24, 2018 Tuesday, April 24, 2018 6:13:00 PM CDT April 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A non-profit group that helps low-income homeowners stay independent was hit by thieves. Rebuilding Together Baton... More >>
2 days ago Monday, April 23 2018 Apr 23, 2018 Monday, April 23, 2018 6:25:00 PM CDT April 23, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Calls to 2 On Your Side report that spring debris collection in East Baton Rouge Parish is... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, April 18 2018 Apr 18, 2018 Wednesday, April 18, 2018 6:37:00 PM CDT April 18, 2018 in News
DARROW - It's tax day, and some people have been reporting scam calls. The callers claim to be from the... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, April 17 2018 Apr 17, 2018 Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:15:00 PM CDT April 17, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a drainage ditch on California Street that has one property owner worried. He says the ditch... More >>
1 week ago Sunday, April 15 2018 Apr 15, 2018 Sunday, April 15, 2018 10:30:00 PM CDT April 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A landlord says their tenant abandoned all of their belongings. She called 2 On Your Side, concerned... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, April 12 2018 Apr 12, 2018 Thursday, April 12, 2018 6:34:00 PM CDT April 12, 2018 in News
BAYOU SORREL - A woman is warning others about a Facebook scam that promises big money in exchange for a... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, April 10 2018 Apr 10, 2018 Tuesday, April 10, 2018 6:43:00 PM CDT April 10, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some folks living at Magnolia Trace off N. Harrells Ferry Road came home to notices on their... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, April 09 2018 Apr 9, 2018 Monday, April 09, 2018 5:46:00 PM CDT April 09, 2018 in News
UPDATE: The post master spoke with Kortering this week and says she's committed to getting the package sent off. ... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, April 09 2018 Apr 9, 2018 Monday, April 09, 2018 3:50:00 PM CDT April 09, 2018 in News
INDEPENDENCE - A couple of gravel pits in Tangipahoa Parish are causing concern for some of their rural neighbors. ... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, April 05 2018 Apr 5, 2018 Thursday, April 05, 2018 6:41:00 PM CDT April 05, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - A temporary pumping station is creating some nasty results for a few homeowners in Central. On multiple... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, April 04 2018 Apr 4, 2018 Wednesday, April 04, 2018 5:11:00 PM CDT April 04, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last June, a man boarded a Greyhound bus and says that's the last time he saw some... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, April 03 2018 Apr 3, 2018 Tuesday, April 03, 2018 5:12:00 PM CDT April 03, 2018 in News
Update: An Ascension Parish resident contacted 2 On Your Side last month after her calls for help went unanswered. Kim... More >>
3 weeks ago Saturday, March 31 2018 Mar 31, 2018 Saturday, March 31, 2018 8:40:00 PM CDT March 31, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - Sometimes it's hard to accept the reality that all of the recovery funds available may not bring someone... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, March 29 2018 Mar 29, 2018 Thursday, March 29, 2018 7:03:00 PM CDT March 29, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Entergy tells 2 On Your Side’s Brittany Weiss that there has been a resolution for Sybil Jordan. It thanks... More >>
4 weeks ago Monday, March 26 2018 Mar 26, 2018 Monday, March 26, 2018 5:34:00 PM CDT March 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Fines have been piling up fast for one woman who says a $12,000 bank mistake is responsible... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, March 22 2018 Mar 22, 2018 Thursday, March 22, 2018 6:48:00 PM CDT March 22, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A tenant at a Baton Rouge shopping center is tired of looking at a large pile of... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, March 21 2018 Mar 21, 2018 Wednesday, March 21, 2018 5:40:00 PM CDT March 21, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A plan to upgrade and manage the City-Parish downtown parking system remains under review. The parish... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 20 2018 Mar 20, 2018 Tuesday, March 20, 2018 9:00:00 PM CDT March 20, 2018 in News
SAINT FRANCISVILLE - A man blames development for destroying his piece of paradise in West Feliciana Parish. Slowly, over the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, March 15 2018 Mar 15, 2018 Thursday, March 15, 2018 6:44:00 PM CDT March 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Somewhere between Washington state and Memphis, a package containing vintage jewelry and other items went missing. The... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 13 2018 Mar 13, 2018 Tuesday, March 13, 2018 6:13:00 PM CDT March 13, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A disturbing find at a cemetery in Baton Rouge. A man with a loved one buried at... More >>
1 month ago Monday, March 12 2018 Mar 12, 2018 Monday, March 12, 2018 6:11:00 PM CDT March 12, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A valve releasing a stinky odor is gone, following a 2 On Your Side report last June.... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, March 08 2018 Mar 8, 2018 Thursday, March 08, 2018 6:34:00 PM CST March 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood-damaged house has been left to rot. The floors were ripped up in August 2016, but... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, March 07 2018 Mar 7, 2018 Wednesday, March 07, 2018 6:32:00 PM CST March 07, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Trash bins line the streets in the South Holland neighborhood, near Staring Lane and Highland Road. Trash... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 06 2018 Mar 6, 2018 Tuesday, March 06, 2018 5:39:00 PM CST March 06, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A naturally-formed drainage ditch is causing problems in one woman's yard. Stacy Jacobsen says her land... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, February 28 2018 Feb 28, 2018 Wednesday, February 28, 2018 6:01:00 PM CST February 28, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - A bunch of large rocks at the end of a culvert are concerning to one Central resident. He... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 27 2018 Feb 27, 2018 Tuesday, February 27, 2018 5:17:00 PM CST February 27, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman affected by the August 2016 flood is thankful for a construction crew and the help... More >>
1 month ago Monday, February 26 2018 Feb 26, 2018 Monday, February 26, 2018 9:29:00 PM CST February 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE- A lot can happen in twenty years: people grow up, cities develop, and neighbors move. But this story... More >>
1 month ago Sunday, February 25 2018 Feb 25, 2018 Sunday, February 25, 2018 10:00:00 PM CST February 25, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A church is facing a large obstacle:there's a deep pothole that stretches the width of the road... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, February 20 2018 Feb 20, 2018 Tuesday, February 20, 2018 5:19:00 PM CST February 20, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A road construction project along LA 19 has some drivers annoyed at how the work space has... More >>
2 months ago Monday, February 19 2018 Feb 19, 2018 Monday, February 19, 2018 5:57:00 PM CST February 19, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS- The roads in South Haven subdivision are full of potholes, and residents say the parish's attempt to fix... More >>
2 months ago Sunday, February 18 2018 Feb 18, 2018 Sunday, February 18, 2018 4:47:00 PM CST February 18, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's an insurance fight brewing and it's got an auto body shop owner, fighting for the customer.... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, February 08 2018 Feb 8, 2018 Thursday, February 08, 2018 5:39:00 PM CST February 08, 2018 in News
UPDATE: The city says Hayward's ticket problem has been cleared up, citing an administrative error as the likely cause of... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, February 08 2018 Feb 8, 2018 Thursday, February 08, 2018 3:01:00 PM CST February 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A City-Parish maintained alley behind a Baton Rouge business has seen better days. The alley runs parallel... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, February 06 2018 Feb 6, 2018 Tuesday, February 06, 2018 6:20:00 PM CST February 06, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A used car purchase turned into one big headache for a Baton Rouge woman. Thalia Duplantier... More >>
2 months ago Monday, January 29 2018 Jan 29, 2018 Monday, January 29, 2018 5:49:00 PM CST January 29, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Hundreds of businesses impacted by the 2016 floods have taken advantage of the Restore Louisiana Small Business... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, January 23 2018 Jan 23, 2018 Tuesday, January 23, 2018 8:48:00 PM CST January 23, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman entered into a rental agreement but discovered the house was in such rough shape the... More >>
3 months ago Monday, January 22 2018 Jan 22, 2018 Monday, January 22, 2018 7:37:00 PM CST January 22, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - Promises made and not kept. It's what one Central homeowner says happened to her when she ordered a... More >>
3 months ago Friday, January 19 2018 Jan 19, 2018 Friday, January 19, 2018 5:50:00 PM CST January 19, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Flood victims continue to express their frustration with Restore Louisiana. Many homeowners say they're waiting for paperwork... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, January 10 2018 Jan 10, 2018 Wednesday, January 10, 2018 6:48:00 PM CST January 10, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A man says he was shocked when he opened his mail Monday. A bill that's normally just a... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, January 09 2018 Jan 9, 2018 Tuesday, January 09, 2018 8:40:00 PM CST January 09, 2018 in News
WALKER - Imagine waking up and having no heat. It's happening in the Woodland Crossing Subdivision in Walker and dozens... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, January 04 2018 Jan 4, 2018 Thursday, January 04, 2018 7:21:00 PM CST January 04, 2018 in News
WALKER - It's not the way Dale Pourciau wanted to start out the New Year. He says a car wash... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, January 04 2018 Jan 4, 2018 Thursday, January 04, 2018 9:04:00 AM CST January 04, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - The weather is keeping plumbing companies busy this week repairing frozen and split pipes. The emergency calls increased... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, January 02 2018 Jan 2, 2018 Tuesday, January 02, 2018 5:34:00 PM CST January 02, 2018 in News
LAFAYETTE - Dozens of brides all over the country are missing their wedding photos and videos. They called 2 On... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, December 28 2017 Dec 28, 2017 Thursday, December 28, 2017 6:20:00 PM CST December 28, 2017 in News
LIVINGSTON - A family in Livingston Parish is having trouble providing proof of home ownership following the August 2016 flood.... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, December 27 2017 Dec 27, 2017 Wednesday, December 27, 2017 6:21:00 PM CST December 27, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Frances Watson tells 2 On Your Side she's been looking at a dump outside her house for... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, December 21 2017 Dec 21, 2017 Thursday, December 21, 2017 6:53:00 PM CST December 21, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - Millions of packages are being shipped to their destinations this holiday season. The United States Postal... More >>
4 months ago Tuesday, December 19 2017 Dec 19, 2017 Tuesday, December 19, 2017 10:54:44 PM CST December 19, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man with a service animal says he was told he wouldn't be getting a job because... More >>
4 months ago Monday, December 18 2017 Dec 18, 2017 Monday, December 18, 2017 7:26:00 PM CST December 18, 2017 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who's been renting a house for years is learning a tough lesson and will likely... More >>
4 months ago Friday, December 15 2017 Dec 15, 2017 Friday, December 15, 2017 7:05:00 PM CST December 15, 2017 in News

News tip form