Medal of Valor given to eight LSP troopers

Font size

Posted: Dec 1, 2010 5:42 PM by Stephanie Ryan
Updated: Dec 1, 2010 5:42 PM
Source: WBRZ

  Rating: 3.0 (2 votes)

Topics: Louisiana State Police, Medal of Valor Award, troopers, coco, resources, explosion, denham, springs, wbrz

BATON ROUGE - Eight State Police troopers were awarded the highest honor the agency gives for their efforts at a massive explosion and fire earlier this year.

The troopers were given the Medal of Valor after Col. Mike Edmonson said they risked their lives directing firefighters when Coco Resources blew up in Denham Springs this past March.

"So many times, people make the decision to take the road that's most traveled, and that's just to move on, but these people here today-- they made a difference in someone's life," Edmonson said.

Officers given the award were:

- Deputy Command Technician Chris Viator
- Technician Supervisor Raphael “Ray” Meyers
- Technician Supervisor Leonard “Lee” Lewis
- Senior Technician Johnny Sparks
- Technician Travis Day
- Technician Steven Long
- DPS Officer Matthey “Matt” Hall
- Pilot Dean LeVergne

During the ceremony Lewis said what the other troopers felt, that they didn't think of themselves as heroes.

"No more of a hero than anyone else that was there-- fireman included. We're just doing our job," he said.

These are the first Medals of Valor given out by the LSP in several years.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular