Shortened divorce wait fails to get Louisiana House support
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana won't be shortening the waiting period for a divorce.
Lawmakers in the House rejected a bill to cut the wait to six months for a no-fault divorce when the married couple has children under 18.
Under existing law, such couples must live separate and apart for one year before they can get a divorce, unless there are certain special circumstances like domestic abuse.
Rep. Patrick Jefferson, a Democrat from Homer, proposed to reduce that separation requirement to six months. That would match the 180-day wait allowed for childless couples and couples with children 18 and older.
But only 44 members of the House voted to shrink the wait. It needed 53 votes to pass.
Opponents said the longer wait gives couples time to reconcile.
Desktop NewsClick to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Police: Boyfriend beats 76-year-old woman to death after smoking mojo
News 2 at Noon - Charles Steinberg talks sports funding
Business owner fed up with trash pile in local shopping center
Fraternity at center of Max Gruver death banned from LSU through 2032
Crews experiencing yard waste overload