Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

President Obama signs disaster declaration for La.

4 years 4 months 1 hour ago February 22, 2013 Feb 22, 2013 Friday, February 22 2013 February 22, 2013 1:05 PM in News
Source: FEMA
By: Russell Jones

WASHINGTON, D.C. - President Barak Obama signed a major disaster declaration today for the state of Louisiana, freeing up federal funds to help pay for damage caused by flooding and storms last month.

The funding will be available to state and eligible local governments, as well as certain nonprofit groups for emergency work and repair or replacement of infrastructure and buildings damaged by the flooding.

A total of 18 parishes issued emergency declarations because of the flooding, 11 were listed in the major disaster declaration including Acadia, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Evangeline, Franklin, Jefferson Davis, Livingston, Madison, St. Landry, and Vermilion parishes.

Gov. Bobby Jindal included Rapides Parish in his request for aid, but they weren't included in the federal disaster declaration.

FEMA said additional designations could be made if they were requested by the state and warranted by further damage assessments.


More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days