Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

O'Bryant III first team All-SEC, Hickey on All-SEC Defensive Team

3 years 7 months 1 week ago March 12, 2013 Mar 12, 2013 Tuesday, March 12 2013 March 12, 2013 12:54 PM in LSU Sports
Source: LSU Sports Department

BATON ROUGE - LSU sophomore forward Johnny O'Bryant III was named Tuesday First Team All-Southeastern Conference as selected by the coaches in voting following the conclusion of regular season play.

O'Bryant III, who hails from Cleveland, Miss., is the first Tiger to be first team All-SEC since both Tasmin Mitchell and Marcus Thornton were named to the first-team by the coaches in 2009.

Hickey, a sophomore from Hopkinsville, Ky., was named to the SEC All-Defensive Team and that is also the first time an LSU player has made that team since 2009.

JOB III was one of eight first-team players chosen by the league coaches, who could not vote for their own players. O'Bryant III leads the team in scoring and rebounding at 13.8 points per game and 8.8 rebounds. He was even better in the 18 league games at 14.7 points per game and 9.4 rebounds. He is fourth overall in the SEC in rebounds and second in the league in SEC rebound average. He is third in the league in field goal percentage at 49.3 percent.

O'Bryant III is also tied for the lead league in double doubles with 14 with 11 of those coming in league play.

Hickey has led the nation from the start of the season in steals, presently at 3.1 a game. He is tied with the fourth most steals in a season at LSU with 83 and is trying to become just the fifth player in league history to average 3.0 steals a season. The former Mr. Basketball in Kentucky has certainly helped LSU on the scoring end as well. Averaging 11.8 points per game and 3.8 assists overall, while averaging 12.3 points per game and 3.7 assists in league pay.

The Tigers begin play Thursday at noon in the Southeastern Conference Tournament at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville when they take on Georgia. The game will be seen on the affiliates of the SEC Network and the game will be broadcast on the affiliates of the LSU Sports Radio Network.

Here is the entire list of SEC award winners as chosen by the coaches (coaches voted on eight member teams for First Team All-SEC, Second Team All-SEC?and for the SEC?All-Freshman Team. They voted on a five-player squad for the SEC?All-Defensive Team. They were not permitted to vote for their own players and ties were not broken):

First Team All-SEC

Trevor Releford, Alabama - G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Erik Murphy, Florida - F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia - G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky - F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU - F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.

Phil Pressey, Missouri - G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas

Jordan McRae, Tennessee - G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.

Elston Turner, Texas A&M - G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif.

Second Team All-SEC

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas - F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.

BJ Young, Arkansas - G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.

Kenny Boynton, Florida - G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.

^Mike Rosario, Florida - G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.

^Patric Young, Florida - C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss - G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas

Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss - F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.

Laurence Bowers, Missouri - F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee - F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.

SEC All-Freshman Team

Michael Frazier II, Florida - G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.

Charles Mann, Georgia - G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.

^Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky - F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.

Archie Goodwin, Kentucky - G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky - F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

^Alex Poythress, Kentucky - F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.

Craig Sword, Mississippi State - G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.

^Gavin Ware, Mississippi State - F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina - F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela

SEC All-Defensive Team

^Trevor Releford, Alabama - G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida - G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.

^Patric Young, Florida - C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky - F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Anthony Hickey, LSU - G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.

Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss - F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

^-Ties are not broken

SEC?Coach of the Year:?Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC?Player of the Year:?Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

SEC?Scholar-Athlete of the Year:?Patric Young, Florida

SEC?Freshman of the Year:?Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

SEC?Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky

SEC?Defensive Player of the Year:?Nerlens Noel, Kentucky


More News

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
7 Days