Posted: Jan 2, 2011 5:56 PM by Rob Krieger
Updated: Jan 2, 2011 5:56 PM
BATON ROUGE- With every new year comes new laws and this year is no exception. One of the most significant of the new laws targets teens looking to get their driver's license. Before this year, teen drivers needed only 8 hours of supervised driving time before getting their license, now they must spend 50 hours behind the wheel with a parent or guardian and 15 of those hours must be at night.
It's a new rule that many teens support.
"You gotta practice with all the hard conditions that you've got to go through in real driving you just gotta get good at it," said future driver Tyler Jordan.
Some teens, in fact, think that more requirements should be added to the list to ensure teens can drive in any weather.
"I feel like they should do it in storms too like rain, they should get experience with everything cause what if they're in the rain one day and the car swerves everywhere and they don't know what to do, you need to learn everything before you get your license," said teen driver Brant Clayton.
Louisiana State Police said the new law isn't in place to make it harder to get a license, but instead to make it safer. They encourage new drivers to get plenty of experience even beyond 50 hours if necessary.
"I tell parents all the time if their teenager is driving with them and it starts to drizzle or it starts to get dark don't pull them out from behind the wheel make sure they have that experience before they go off on their own," said Trooper Russell Graham with Louisiana State Police.
The new law also place restrictions on the amount of passengers a teen driver can have in the car while behind the wheel.