New laws taking effect Wednesday impact Louisiana drivers, smokers
BATON ROUGE - Drivers only have to renew their licenses every six years beginning Wednesday, but they'll have to pay more when they buy a car or seek a copy of their driving record.
Those changes are among the new state laws that take effect with the start of July, along with a new 50-cent-per-pack tax hike on cigarette smokers and scaled-back tax breaks for businesses.
Previously, drivers had to renew their licenses in Louisiana every four years. But lawmakers changed the renewal period to six years, saying it could help lessen wait times at the Office of Motor Vehicles. License fees will increase to cover the extra years.
Meanwhile, car buyers will pay $50 more for a vehicle title, and the price tag for getting an official driving record rises by $10.
Desktop NewsClick to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Condemned property demolition put on hold by property owner
Fans propose 'whiteout' for LSU, Alabama game amid controversial Devin White suspension
Livingston Parish man calls 911, admits to killing father
No more changes to St. George petition after Monday night
Slow progress to Sunshine Bridge continues to frustrate drivers