Louisiana and 4 others states get disaster declaration for farm losses

Font size

Posted: Nov 18, 2009 7:51 AM by John Pastorek
Updated: Nov 18, 2009 7:53 AM
Source: Associated Press

  Rating: 5.0 (1 vote)

Topics: farms, farmers, disaster declaration, low interest loans, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Tom Vilsack, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas, Tennessee

Federal agriculture authorities have declared disaster areas in parts of Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas and Tennessee due to crop losses from a combination of severe spring and fall flooding and summer drought.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said the declaration will "provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses to a wide variety of crops."

The declaration qualifies many farmers in the designated areas for low interest emergency loans from U.S. Department of Agriculture's Farm Service Agency.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular