Posted: Aug 29, 2013 10:28 PM by Ryan Naquin
Updated: Aug 29, 2013 10:28 PM
BATON ROUGE - Picking up a dead alligator on the side of the road is not necessarily free game.
"Technically, it's hands off," Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries spokesman Bo Boehringer said. "You cannot unless you are someone who is a licensed alligator hunter or transporter."
If someone without an alligator license took a dead gator home from off the side of the road, ate the meat and/or skinned it, that person would be in violation of hunting regulation, according to state law.
"You'd be setting yourself up for a citation," Boehringer said. "You would need a tag...the tag has to follow where the skin goes."
LWF gave out 38000 alligator tags for this year's season that started Wednesday.
News 2 did not uncover any such citations being issued. But in 2011, wildlife agents cited a Bogalusa man for illegally possessing a 10 1/2 foot alligator he said he found dead on the banks of the Pearl River in Washington Parish and transported it back to his residence.
"For just transporting it in your truck, you'd be in violation...People have to be aware these are federally protected animals," Boehringer said.
State law says taking alligators without a license carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail and taking alligators during a closed season and possessing alligator skins and parts brings a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.
Image: courtesy facebook