Claiborne, Morehouse, Union in drought declaration

Font size

Posted: Jan 16, 2014 9:06 AM

  Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

BATON ROUGE - Three north Louisiana parishes bordering Arkansas are now designated natural disaster areas as a result of a recent drought.

State Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain said Wednesday that the parishes are: Claiborne, Morehouse and Union.

A federal disaster designation makes farm operators in the areas eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency, including low interest FSA emergency loans.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular