3 LSU Tigers unanimously picked All SEC

Font size

Posted: Dec 6, 2010 1:04 PM
Updated: Dec 6, 2010 1:04 PM
Source: Associated Press

  Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

Topics: Auburn, Associated Press, All-Southeastern Conference team, SEC, Cam Newton, Nick Fairley, Gene Chizik, coach of the year, South Carolina, Marcus Lattimore, freshman of the year, running back, LSU, defensive tackle, Drake Nevis, cornerback, Patrick Peterson, kicker, Josh Jasper, WBRZ

ATLANTA - Top-ranked Auburn has claimed three awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team.

Cam Newton is a unanimous choice for offensive player of the year, Nick Fairley is the pick for top defensive player and Gene Chizik gets the nod for coach of the year.

Newton and Fairley are both unanimous first-team selections on the list released Monday.

So is one of their teammates, offensive lineman Lee Ziemba.

South Carolina's Marcus Lattimore is the unanimous choice for freshman of the year, as well as being named on all ballots for running back.

LSU has three unanimous first-team picks: defensive tackle Drake Nevis, cornerback Patrick Peterson and kicker Josh Jasper.

Auburn and LSU lead with four players each on the elite squad.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular